Thursday, Mar. 20, 2003 / 1:20 p.m.

~Unlike Elvis Costello, I'm Not Yet Amused, I'm Still Disgusted~

I've been trying to think of what to write, trying to get my thoughts into some cohesive arrangement, rid my brain of the randomness and see whatever pattern is forming. I'm not there yet.

Right now the media whoring is first and foremost with me. It makes me sick. But it made me sick when that hurricane destroyed that town in Florida, and when that FBI shootout happened out in the woods, and when that crazy guy burned down that compound in Texas, and when the rednecks blew up that federal building, and when the kids shot up their high school, and when terrorists flew planes into American landmarks, and when that man and his step son went on a shooting spree, and when the kidnapped girl was found. The saturation is overwhelming.

Overwhelmingly unnecessary, and wholly detrimental, in so very many ways. Overkill is overkill. News reporting is beneficial, of course, the people have the right to know what's going on, that's never been a question, but I don't want to slow down to see the mangled body loaded into the ambulance, I really want to keep driving. It's not going to benefit any one of us stuck in rush hour traffic to stop and take a look.

And last night's static view of Baghdad, courtesy of a network-pooled camera bolted to the top of a building, missiles flying overhead, an explosion visible off in the distance, was pure voyeurism. 'Snuff film' material.

I said, as I watched the first few minutes, "This is not a fucking action movie!!!", to no one in particular. Because it's not. And I don't want to sit and listen to Dan Rather talk about how things are "going boom", even though his quaint ad-libs are now classic, and worth listening to, in the realm of who should you listen to. I turned it off and played Paul Simon's first album, on vinyl, on the turntable. Then Mozart Divertimentos. Lovely.

I got in bed to watch Letterman, but there was no Letterman, not even the advertised Bonnie Hunt hosting Letterman whilst Letterman himself sits home nursing a peculiar adult chicken pox-like illness known as 'shingles'. There were instead numerous replays of the President's little 'this is it' speech, during which he referred to us, 'us', as "citizens" as opposed to the usual "Americans" ("My fellow citizens..."), and I wondered why.

Finally, earlier, Dan had gotten the bright idea to rewind the tape. Let's see those explosions again, because we all really want to see the SHOCK AND AWE, and we thought THIS was it, but dangnabbit if it's not just a "calling card" left by Bush, a "wakeup call", and the President is going to talk to us in 3 minutes so let me sit here and ramble on in my quaint Texas-born way because you know if you switch to CNN you'll get real dry banter and isn't this so much better, and oh look, there, if you rewind the tape you can see the missiles overhead. Wait, here's the President.... blather, blather, blather... okay, so what do YOU think of what the President just said, Tom (or whoever)? Let's stay on the air watching another static shot of Baghdad, hey, they have streetlamps there, and bridges, and man, even highrises, I thought they lived in tents. Huh.

I wanted to see "Star Search". And I want to see "Married By America" tonight. And on Sunday, I want to see the FUCKING OSCARS, I want to see the FUCKING RED CARPET, and I don't want 'stars' to wear somber clothing, I want to see them dressed the fuck up. It's fucking un-American not to see that.

Fucking Bush and his fucking war on a country that had no more intent of attacking us than Moby has of eating a fucking cheeseburger for lunch.

I'm so disgusted I should use the word fuck a few more times. Fucking war. And not even a fucking awesome shock and awe for us to see in prime fucking time. Dan, Tom, you name him, they were SO fucking ready last night, they could taste the blood.

And fucking Julie Chen is over there! Oh yeah, the host of "Big Brother" is on the Iraqi border. She sure does look cute in camouflage and a gas mask, I've got to admit. Mraow!

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee