Saturday, Sept. 27, 2003 / 5:42 p.m.

~Too Much Sleep, Too Much Coffee, Feeling Ooky, But Here's What I Did!~

Oh, I feel gross. It's a combination of things, I think. I poured too much water in the coffeemaker so I ground more beans than usual, and I made really strong coffee, started on my second cup, not enough room to add more milk, and I cannot tolerate that much strong coffee, that much caffeine. I don't do caffeine, or alcohol, or drugs, very well. I had to pour it out. Blech. And I awoke all congested, sore throat, blech, again with the blech.

And I slept so long, dreamed so many dreams, and it was not purposeful in the least, meaning I must have been so, so very tired, not even knowing how tired. But it was hours upon hours of sleep, and I'd felt that going to bed in my actual bed, a change from the past couple of Friday nights sleeping on the sofa in blissful yet not the most comfortable decadence, would be good, I'd have a restful sleep, wake naturally, get up naturally, when instead, as usual for a Saturday, I woke confused, had to calculate the day, and once figured it was indeed a Saturday and had no real need to get out of bed, went back to sleep, and when I re-awoke, it was hours later, hours.

I'm exhausted, I feel blech and the coffee must be washed from my mouth. All is blech.

But, I'm enjoying being online. I read about parents of US soldiers becoming furious at Bush, and this is SO great! And I thought of my stickers, and how I want to pass them out at the Demonstration next month, and how perfect they are, and how happy people will be - I just think it will be fun to pass out free stickers to people, to strangers - and then I think how I need to go ahead and write to the local organizer, and send her another check, yet another for another ride on the bus. But I'm so tired right now. And one and one half cups of very strong coffee (still using the new Bewitched mug, I love it so), are not doing what I'd like them to do for me. I feel so... oogy.

It looks better in person

Oh, and I'm downloading some Nick Cave, because I don't think I know what he sounds like.

Okay, okay, remember when I wrote this?:

Fuck Ebay. Never again. Mark my words... marking, marking, memorizing, committing to memory, I don't care what they sell, who sells what, it's people out to make money, and they don't give a fuck about the customer. The WORST customer service ever. I will not do it.

Yeah, well, see, it's like this, I was looking for something for Caroline, and Caroline, I can't remember what color you said you'd like, and the more I looked at the design the less I liked it anyway, and didn't want to get it for you, er, her (let's stick to monologue here), and somehow I went looking for all that is this certain designer of fanciful things for young and groovy chicks to wear, and I found these (sorry, Caroline, but these are for ME! - remind me of what color you will wear and I'll shop for you next time, promise):

MINE!!!!!!!

I'd seen them in a store a few years ago, maybe three, and wanted them super badly, but they were way expensive, like $36, just for the pants, and about the same for the top, PJs, a set, but purchased by the piece. Designer crap. I lusted for them from afar, bought a little alarm clock instead, with the same kitties on it, and promptly knocked it behind my bedside bookcase, scratching the plastic clock front permanently, on the first day. Horrible.

So, once I saw these pants on Ebay, I searched for them all over the Interweb, and maybe they're available someplace else, but I doubt it, and so, against my better judgment, I researched the seller on Ebay, saw she had impeccable feedback, 100% positive, and realized my bad experience from previously was my fault, due to my own impatience, and it was resolved very nicely and quickly, in the end, I decided to bid. Only $15.

Lovely. So excited, mine, all mine, no other bids, not all week, until yesterday, the final day of the auction. Some bitch (yeah, we'll resort to name calling here!) bid against me, and I freaked, adrenalin shot through my veins, and I upped my bid, and upped it, trying to gauge how far I should go, how high would it get??

I checked at home at lunch, where I first read the email telling me I'd been outbid, I checked at work, I told Penelope, Veronica, Jane, and Q (Kukla showed no interest), I got online on a computer that sits near our department, while our Supervisor, H., was at lunch, to show everyone what I was bidding upon, I raised to $40. From my own private $15. They were MINE. Purple. Cats. Flannel. MINE.

The auction was to end at 11:00 p.m., so I came home, and I ate, and I logged on, and I watched "Miss Match", a new show starring Alicia Silverstone and Ryan O'Neal, and it was good, and I like Silverstone, I think she's good all grown up and lawyerly. And I watched the auction. Nothing. I clicked 'refresh' over and over, I watched the clock...

Last few minutes, she was back! And I'd researched her, I'd seen how she operates, what she's been buying the past couple months (everything by this same designer!!!), and I saw that she likes to sneak in at the last minute and outbid the people who've been bidding since the beginning, she's a thief! A real rotten human being. And there she was, trying to take these PJ pants right out from under me.

Well, I outbid her outbid, and she mine, and in the last minute and so many seconds (LITERALLY, one MINUTE), I OUTBID HER, by ONE DOLLAR! Oh, the JOY when I saw, "You are the highest bidder! You have won!" The red "X" turned to a green "er, check mark, don't have one on this PC"!!!! I know, I could easily be an Ebay addict, but I would never have the heart to come along at the last minute in a one week auction and steal something from someone else.

Yeah, yeah, mark those words too!

Really, though, she was evil. And I WON! I know, that was a lot more than I wanted to spend, but I would've gone to $50. That's how much I wanted them, and that's how much I believe they are no longer available anywhere. I could be very wrong though. As it is, they are new, never worn, and a size Large, and they run small, I know this to be true, and they will shrink a bit in the dryer, so I am excited.

And I wished I could see her in that moment, not expecting me, a NEWBIE, a person with only TWO comments in my feedback, to know what I'm doing, possibly stomping her feet, or screaming, or crying, or breaking things, or some other sort of tantrum. And I'd joked at work that she is probably a housewife, 300 lbs, and she sits in front of Ebay all day long, bidding on items she can't even wear.

But then again, some of the items were clothing, most were, and they were small. Teeny. Maybe the Large PJ pants would've been too big anyway???

And too big for me, the anorexic, right?

No, the whole anorexic rant from the other day was a result of reading a fellow LiveJournaler go off on celebs whom she thinks are anorexic. It pissed me off.

Right. I still feel ooky, but I'm happy about my PJ pants, and I can't wait to be sitting on the sofa wearing them, with a cozy sweatshirt, watching "Survivor" or "CSI" or some movie, with cat on lap, hot tea nearby. Mmmmm... maybe some wool socks too. It will be cold soon.

And hey, if you see the top anywhere, let me know!

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee