Thursday, Sept. 26, 2002 / 1:20 p.m.

~Nostalgic~

It's 10:39 a.m. and I'm in the cube listening to Ted Nugent. "Stranglehold".

The 'new boy' lent me some CDs to listen to yesterday, soundtracks to "Hackers" (really good, techno) and "Dazed and Confused". I'm listening to the latter now and it's taking me back, as in waaaaay back. I actually saw Ted Nugent in concert, mid '70s. I was listening to "Jim Dandy" when I was 11 or 12, Alice Cooper's "School's Out" was an anthem of sorts, "Love Hurts" spoke to me when I was hurt. And "Slow Ride"? Don't get me started. All of this music was playing on radios in cars while looking for trouble, on stereos in bedrooms while getting stoned, this is my soundtrack. It's odd to listen to here, in the cube� I don't have the case though, no liner notes, so I'm not sure what all these songs are. Some are totally unfamiliar.

The 'new boy' tells me he wishes he'd gone to school in the '60s, been able to get high, listen to great music, then go off to Vietnam and fight people. Says it's why he finally did join the military, to fight people. I shot him a Peace sign and that was that.

He and I won't be discussing Tom Daschle and how incredibly cool it was yesterday when he yelled that Bush owes his opposition an apology for saying they don't care about the Homeland Security of the American people. Touche! My fists naturally fly up in the air when I see/hear sound bytes like that. Whoo hoo!! Tell him, Tom!!! Bush is a fucking idiot, and more people in positions of power need to point it out to those who have yet to see it. Let's devote more television news coverage to George's gaffes, his inarticulate babbling ramblings. Who exactly pulls his strings and why can't he think for himself? Is he thinking at all, or is he just opening his mouth and waiting to see what spills out?

Laverne and I talked about it for a bit, we both agreed George Sr was not this much of an idiot.

Oh no, what is this song?� this was one of the 'slow dance' songs they played at my high school dances� "Tuesday's Gone", right??

If I could go back, now, as I am now on the inside, knowing what I know now, yes, I would, and I'd love it! I'd be so much more aggressive, I'd not let what I wanted slip away. Or who. Who I wanted� so many crushes. I'm still longing. Still passionate and desirous, yet more aware of the futility of life. I've become a bit (a bit?) jaded, cynical, bitter, but I still feel the same, still want the same things.

I was hot earlier, now I'm cold. I'm wearing a v-neck sweater with t-shirt underneath, and I thought I'd be good to go. Someone must have adjusted the temp in here. Cool and rainy outside. I'm hungry, a bit tired, nostalgic, still longing, that hasn't disappeared as I thought it would. Today feels very much like yesterday, but with less energy. Food will help. I shopped a bit after work yesterday, so I actually have food to eat at home. Lunch is not far off�

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee