Monday, Feb. 25, 2002 / 8:29 p.m.

~A Good Mixed Tape Will Put You in the Right Mood~

Do I really need to clarify? No, I won't embarrass anyone in particular here, but are there any more people who think The Replacements sang the theme song to "Friends"? No? Good.

"Look me in the eye, then tell me I'm satisfied.....I'm so....unsatisfied...." Okay, you'd have to hear it. The man who swept me off my feet, the Scorpio who wooed me when I needed wooing in the worst way, the one who left the single red rose and the mixed tape with the homemade cover on my desk at work, all those years ago, working at the bookstore.....he loved The Replacements, made me mixed tapes with their songs included, and Terence Trent D'Arby, and REM, XTC, Elvis Costello, Billie Holiday, Elvis Presley, Bob Mould, Flaming Groovies, Kate Bush......etc.

I still listen to that first tape he made me, when I want to remember the feeling of being desired. On that first tape are "I Will Dare" and "Unsatisfied", both by The Replacements. Give a listen sometime, imagine someone expressing his angsty lust to you.... yeah, imagine.

One side of the tape is for me, Aries the Ram (heart), the other was for him, the Scorpion (will). It's so romantic I can hardly stand it. And I'm totally serious. It was possibly the most romantic gesture I've ever received.

Ahhhh.....anyway.

I got to train one of the new temps today, from 5:00 to 6:00, and she was a blast. She made all the faces I make, before I got a chance to make them, as we listened to the callers on the phone, together. We have this double phone jack headset jack thingie that enables two people to listen to calls at the same time, only one can be heard. So, since she'd sat with Kathy all day, I let her listen to me for a change, before I put her on the phones tomorrow. I really think they need to listen for a while before ever attempting to talk. There are too many questions, too many answers, they can't possibly know in only 7 hours. They'd stumble and fall.

So, we sit together all day tomorrow too, and we'll see if it's any different, see if my first impression was wrong. Right now, I like her, a lot. She gets my humor, I don't have to explain my vocabulary to her, communication is easy. She joked that we need incense, some Grateful Dead, to keep things calm and relaxed, when I mentioned we need to cut down on the potential for anger in the callers. I said, "And we could stand to lose the fluorescents, get some wall sconces in the cubes", and this makes me think of something I read in Bfee's diary....about having wall sconces light the subway trains.....or was it another train? The train to Jersey? Still, I get the point and I heartily agree.

I'd still like to blame fluorescent lighting for the bulk of my white hairs. "Bulk"? Is that the right word?

I'm tired, man, plum tuckered, as I like to say. I ate three egg rolls for dinner, and the last of a bag of Lay's chips. Damn, I'm so healthy! Now, I'm stuck doing laundry, you know, once you start you can't just change your mind. You have to follow through. It's only 8:41 p.m., and I could easily go right to bed.

This is crazy, but I'm looking forward to training the new kid tomorrow. Crazy. I need to come up with a pseuodynm for her....let's see....something groovy.....how about Starlight? No, Sunshine! Yes, she shall now be known as Sunshine. She has cats too!

Oh, speaking of weird names, I spoke to someone named "Tequila" today. A young woman, maybe 20, 19, African American, living in Chicago. One day I plan to write down the names of everyone who calls me throughout the day, just in one day, you wouldn't believe it, seriously.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee