Thursday, Mar. 21, 2002 / 1:25 p.m.

~Ain't No Sunshine When She's Gone...~

I'm home at lunch, the weather has cleared after two days of rain, or a day and a half, and several previous of it looking like it was going to, the wind is blowing, the sky is blue, etc. I'm eating peanut butter and blueberry preserves on whole wheat.

Last night I was still full from lunch, or so I felt, so I skipped dinner, just ate a small pile of Ole Ole cookies (picture, if you will, accent marks over those "e"s), made by Girl Scouts, or Girl Scout cookie bakers anyway, so I could have food in my stomach to take my vitamins. And I lay in bed, trying to sleep, picturing those bacon wrapped crab thingies, that broccoli chicken, and how yesterday it had big hunks of tofu in it! And how excited I was, but I kept joking that someone was in that restaurant at that very moment saying, "Betty, what is THIS?!", expecting all chicken.

Why they put tofu in the garlic chicken, especially such large pieces, was a delightful mystery, to me, but to the rest of the patrons...well, I don't know.

I'm still thinking about it, how I wanted those green beans, I wanted some spring rolls, but there just wasn't enough time. One hour for lunch is not enough. Five minutes to get there, how many minutes before you're actually eating?, then time to pay the bill, time to drive back, that barely leaves enough time to scarf down two plates, have some fruit for dessert, crack open the fortune cookie and pick at your teeth, wishing you had a toothbrush in your desk drawer.

Sunshine left at noon. She is gone. Her life is filled with drama, and assuming I have time later, which I'm guessing I will, after work, I'll write about her. I realized in the car on the way here, just now, I actually really care about her and what happens with her this weekend. It's major heavy shit going on in her life. Major. Jerry Springer Major.

Must finish my sandwich, pretend it's broccoli chicken with large triangles of wonderful tofu (mmmmmm, tofu!) and bacon wrapped crab, or was it artificial crab, whitefish or whatever, and who cares, it was so good!

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee