Wednesday, Mar. 26, 2003 / 1:32 p.m.

~All War, All the Time~

It's only been a few days since the last rain, but the air already feels thick and dry and filled with tree and shrub and grass sperm. Sperm flying everywhere, settling in thick yellow carpets.

There is no news, but WAR news. I turn on the TV to find out what's going on in the world, but it seems like there are only two countries right now, Iraq and the U.S. All support, all the time, WAR, WAR, WAR. Not that I want to turn away, I merely crave variety, in all aspects of life. I know there is more happening, and I know that Veterans For Peace would love to send some people to be interviewed as 'color commentary' on FNC or MSNBC or CBS or NBC or ABC or any acronym ending in C. But no. It's all generals and admirals and 'embedded' journlalists.

Instead of 'this is what democracy looks like' and protests and signs, it's 'this is what WAR looks like and it's ALL we're going to show you'.

Aha, but tonight is "Survivor".

I saw the photo of the man holding the dead and bloodied little girl, read the story of the children killed in Basra. And I want real numbers, not US manufactured numbers. And I'm tired of hearing of the one woman POW that now will most likely be assaulted by her captors. Who is not sorry for her? Who might not also feel that if she'd not joined the military she never would have been sent to war? And if she'd not gone to WAR in Iraq she might never have been caught by the ENEMY?

Oh, I have compassion, but as the former POW interviewed by Leslie Stahl on "Another 48 Hours" or "48 Hours Two" or "48 Hours Redux" or whatever the hell it's called, said last night, or the night before, the men are raped too, they just don't talk about it. She says no gender is better at handling it than 'any of the others'. Gee, how many are there?

She was a tough cookie.

Remember the rape scene in "Lawrence of Arabia"? Yeah. Men too. Let's not be overly compassionate for one gender over the other, shall we? They're all suffering, every last one of them, U.S., British, Aussie, Iraqi, civilians, makes no difference.

War is hell. Remember that too.

Now I must get back. To work. Of course I still work there. Do you think I'll ever actually leave? I'll die there.

But the weather is nice, thick with sperm and all, nice for the breeze, the perfect temperature, the green starting to appear on the trees. It's not so bad, this.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee