Monday, Jun. 02, 2003 / 1:25 p.m.

~Alternate Reality~

Since I'm not sure I'll get online after work (Stanley Cup is on, and a new 'bachelor' sort of show I might check out, and I'll be EXHAUSTED and trying to cook and eat my food I spent so much money on), I'll do this now, though I'm not sure how much I have to write.

It's 11:27 a.m., cubicle time. Only one person has not even acknowledged my presence here, and that's Veronica. I'm not sure how I got on her shit list, but there I reside. I don't even know when it started, if it was because I was Listerine's only ally, and she mine, and thus Veronica's enemy by proxy, or if I did something specific to piss her off. But the way she talks about god and Jesus and her religion, one would think she'd forgive and forget, love her brother/sister, and all that. But the more I think about it, I don't think she likes white people, and I don't think I'm the only person she didn't invite to her party a couple weeks ago. Still, it's odd she hasn't said a word to me, and because of how odd that feels, my lips are sealed as well.

La dee da.

So really nothing has changed. Our Manager (M) is out on vacation. Penelope is out on vacation. Our Supervisor (H), has been out on some dire 'personal' matter for weeks, and I'm wondering how she is getting away with not being 'let go'.

No matter, any of it, really. It's very strange to be here, like this is an alternate reality, or like I'd been dreaming and now I'm awake, but groggy. It seems quiet, which is nice, but I didn't get much sleep, so I need a bit more action to keep me awake. I fear I may get it too, in spades, as they say, in a little while. Phone calls tend to increase at lunchtime.

Really, I've not got much of anything to say at this point. I'm sort of numb. The only other thing of note is my attachment to my feline companions. Being with them so much during my vacation was odd, not knowing what to do with them, how to entertain them, how to please them. They tend to curl up in balls on the floor of whatever room I'm in, and I feel guilty for not making their lives more interesting. But today I had to say goodbye, early, and I know they remembered that this is the normal routine, but I felt badly for leaving them. I felt an odd attachment that I didn't want to break.

I really do love them, more than I can explain. We've been together, just us three together, for 12 years this Summer. I say I live alone, but I've been with them all this time, and I am awfully attached to them, I love them deeply. People who don't like animals, or don't live with them, could never understand, and that's fine, but it's a strong bond, unlike any other.

It's going to be a long day.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee