Thursday, Jun. 20, 2002 / 9:29 p.m.

~And What Would Those 5 Steps Be?, she wanted to know????~

I talked to her. The woman at work, from India, in the IS department, it's not IT, it is IS, Information Services. Whatever. She's a programmer and she's from India and is she Hindu? She wears the dot in between her eyes, over her "third eye", and I confess I know next to nothing about her, nor her religion, nor the town where she grew up, and once when I asked she acted like it wasn't worth telling me, because surely I'd never know it.

Like the time I met some guy from Peru and he didn't want to tell me, he just kept saying he was from South America, but I have heard of Peru. Of course. I can show it to you on the map. I am not a total geographic idiot. Geographically challenged person. Hell, I grew up with National Geographic on the coffee table. I wanted to be a National Geographic photographer, at one time.

Anyway, I told her. I couldn't help myself. I stopped in front of her office, waited for her to turn to me, said, "Hey, you were in a dream I had this morning. You handed me a paycheck for some $3 and I rolled my eyes, and you said something about this life we're living and how there are 5 steps to ascension", and she said, "To what?" and I said, "To ascension, like ascending, like reaching the top, the height, attaining the height, as high as you can go", but I didn't even know what I meant, and her eyes got so big. She is so pretty, so softspoken, so confident, quiet, like someone who needs few words to say anything.

She was so intrigued. What did she mean, in the dream, she wanted to know? And then she told me she'd been reading self-help books, pulled one from her drawer, a Dr. Dwayne Dyer book, The Sky's the Limit, and it looked so old. She's borrowing it from the library, she told me, she just started it, she showed me her bookmark, held it sideways, the book, for me to see. It's interesting, she thinks, but she doesn't know what the 5 steps to ascension are.

So I told her of my interest in Tibetan Buddhism, without showing my tattoos (I've kept them very private lately, hiding them every day under sleeves just long enough, and pants legs always covering them, not telling anyone new), about how I know there are 7 levels, 7 steps, 7 layers, whatever, to attainment, or is it ascension?? Nirvana?? Wait a minute, I don't remember. My retension has vanished. Not retained, this information. But she was curious about my interest, and I innocently asked if she is Buddhist, and she didn't laugh, just shook her head, not offering her beliefs. But she said, "Zen?". I said, "No, Tibetan Buddhism, there is Zen, it's Japanese, and Tibetan", and there are probably more.

It's all new to me. And it wasn't on my mind at all, not lately.

And she said, "But I never see you, I never talk to you, why?". I don't know. Truly. I told my dream to Mark. The tables have turned and now I call him at his job, tell him this or that, suddenly needing to talk, suddenly. And I tell him that dreams are just synapses misfiring as in deja vu, and he says, "Didn't you just say that?!". Fucking Comedy Genius.

I left her wanting to know the answers though, and she told me to let her know if I find out!

I drove to town and got the same Chinese Takeout I used to get. Garlic Chicken with huge cloves of garlic, whole, cooked of course, and Ma Po Tofu (but now it has peas in it, when it used to just be the tofu and pork and green onions, sliced green hot pepper on top), Spring Rolls, Hot and Sour Soup and Fried Stuffed Tofu with roast pork and shrimp. With dipping sauce. Good. Very good. I was afraid the recipes would have changed after all these years, but the Garlic Chicken still has those whole cloves in it, huge cloves of roast-y garlic. Not really roasted, but more like baked? Stewed? I don't know, it's a puzzle. And the stuffed tofu is wild, really. It's almost impossible to describe, but I can try.

Sort of like patties? Maybe mashed tofu, rolled out in a palm of a hand, pressed in the center, stuffed with roast pork and shrimp, folded over, formed into a patty, deep fried? I don't know, but it's fairly unique and it's very good, especially with the sauce.

The Ma Po was a bit disappointing, and the soup was not as flavorful as it could've been. Overall I was kind of disappointed because it was early, on a Thursday, and they could've produced a more quality order. But I'm okay. And yes, I am stuffed, I am about to burst, and I have leftovers. Which is very good. The stuffed tofu will be good cold tomorrow at lunch.

"Strangers On a Train" is on Turner Classic Movies tonight. I may watch again. Or I may read the Moby message boards. I'm realizing I am not the only Moby freak out there. Someone else started a thread much like my first. Saying something like, "I am so obsessed with him, he is so great, I wish I knew him, or I could just hang out with him, he is the most amazing person and he means so much to me, his music, his writing, and he was so good on David Letterman last night, and does anyone else feel this way too?"....... and I wanted to post, "OH, HONEY!!!!!!! There are so many groupie whores on this site you have a long wait in line to get near Mo!"

But I didn't. I want to post, but the people there are overwhelming. It's turned into a real freak show.

Hah! I'll just wait until I have Moby all to myself. That's what I'll do. We don't need all those insane groupies, Mo and me. Tee hee.

Must have quick shower. Stinky from drive to town in very hot car. Blah! or Blech! or Yuck!

Hey, tomorrow's Friday!!!!!

Branford wants me to call him. Maybe I should do that now?

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee