Monday, Jun. 17, 2002 / 6:46 p.m.

~Bring it On, I Can Take it, I'm Ready....er.....Right?~

I only walked through the living room to get my glasses from my backpack, and some water from the kitchen, and I heard Dan Rather say that Public Transport Passengers may now be searched quite legally. Oh yeah. The cops get a tip that some bad Muslim man is on the train, and they come aboard and they can search YOU too! Imagine the ramifications, just imagine. You're on your way home from a show, you have a roach in your pack, and bam! Busted!

We've lost all our Constitutional rights, the world is going to hell in a handbasket.

Today the gals at work and I actually discussed current events, we actually talked about something other than Lulu's new micro braids, although that was very worthy of conversation, for a while. We talked about the impending doom that is losing our rights as American citizens, we talked about the dire need for public transport in this metropolitan area, we talked about children being kidnapped and how parents can prevent it, if they can.

We talked and talked and talked. Oh, why, you ask?

The phones were down. The entire day.

We have three phone lines for every phone. One is inside the building only, from cube to cube, one is outside, personal calls, emergencies, chatting with loved ones, you know, or personal business. The third is for BUSINESS. That line was down. The printer server was down. Two major servers, down. The entire day.

I keyed in my document processing, but couldn't print a thing. Couldn't FAX nor mail, nothing to FAX, nothing to mail. No audits. That's a good thing, but still. I took three calls, and they were transferred from the main switchboard.

Three calls in 8 hours.

We talked and talked and talked. I read a bit in the morning, during the initial recounting of Lulu's hair adventure, but after that we talked.

Crazy, huh? We all kept wondering when they'd send us home. We're so used to this by now. But they never did. D., the Supervisor, left at 5:00, told us to "hold down the fort". What? We sat and talked for another hour.

That was my day.

I came home at lunch, logged on looking for an email reply from Jon, cleaned up after Gladys threw up, poked fun at her for her "I just threw up" face, which is FAR more dramatic than Norma's. Norm seems to recover quickly, and her "I just threw up" is more like a badge of pride. Gladys seemed to be saying, "Ugh, I am SO nauseous!", so I kept saying it like I did when I was a kid and I'd just learned the word, "I'm so Naus-e-a-ted!", before I learned I could just say "nauseous". Poor girl, but come on, she was so dramatic for a little teeny microscopic hairball.

I did hear from Jon, closer to the end of the day. I didn't check to see when he wrote it, but I got it just a little while ago, here, after work, from home. (no Interweb access from work either - guess that server was down as well)

Jon is happy to be perfectly honest with me, tell me all about my flaws, and I have asked, so don't be appalled. I want him to tell me because I need to know. I do. It's important to me, and I believe he will be honest, just in his own time. That's better, if he takes his time, because I want to know all of it. Imagine, just imagine, instead of going out on a date or two and hearing your date tell you you're not what he's looking for, if he tells you EXACTLY why he's saying that! Who has ever done that? No one does that. I asked for it and he'd better be honest. I look forward to his insight. His perception. It will be interesting, if nothing else.

I'm skipping the first movie of the Summer Film Series at the Fabulous FOX Theatre tonight. It's "A Beautiful Mind", and I never did want to see it. I read review after review, article after article, saw clips, watched it win awards at the Oscars, for actress and film, and what else? Writing? But I don't care. I'm really not interested. Besides, tomorrow is "Blackboard Jungle" at the Park, and Wednesday is "Lord of the Rings" at the FOX, so there's more. More better. Mo' better.

I'm eating leftover pizza and I have a stomach ache. I ate too fast, or something, it's all gurgly and full and horrible, the stomach.

I have nothing else. Really. I have no idea what tomorrow will be like at work. If everything is still non-functioning they should consider something. Sending us home, with pay, or finding work for us to do, or I'm taking a deck of cards.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee