Saturday, Jul. 06, 2002 / 4:23 p.m.

~But Is It Plagiarism If I Admit To It Right Off The Bat?~

I slept late, more than I needed. Because I could. I've drunk coffee. I've brushed and washed, but I am in the same comfy nightshirt. I never want to change my clothes. This cloth. I want to wear it forever.

I've written email letters, and read email letters. I've read diaries. I've gotten down on the floor and rubbed Gladys' head with her giant mouse. I've placed her crinkly frog atop her head to see how long it would stay.

I've kissed Norman's head. I've held Gladys here, on my lap, let her drool on my comfy nightshirt. I've researched fixing my garbage disposal, but not yet found what I'm looking for.

I've left the blinds closed, thinking it would keep out the heat. Yahoo! says it will be 95 today and that made me never want to leave. I opened the blinds thinking it won't matter because I hear the a/c continuously. It's not stopped.

And I ate leftover rice with sausage and chicken. One of those "family-size" frozen dinner things, and it was really good, but I think it's what caused my bowels to loosen last night. I ate it anyway. It's good.

The best thing yet was reading Moby's journal just now. It's amazing. I wrote in a post on the message boards:

"Whatever it was, I loved it!!!! Loved it! Do you hear me, it was fucking excellent, like some Dada-esque impressionistic giant non sequitur Absinthe-induced dream sequence. Something Dali could paint an illustration for. Or to. It was perfect, in a nonsensical sort of way. Rosicrucians? Italian Marble? Talking dogs who shrink and float away? Why the hell not?!

All I wanna know is, Were drugs involved or what?"

But we all know I'm biased.... So now I am going to quote his journal entry, in its entirety, because I can, because I do not think he'd mind, and I'm not sure I'd mind if he minded, but I want to share it with anyone who reads my diary, but not his, so here, enjoy:

Italian Marble and the Canine Marvel
7/6/2002 - New York City
a question:
you see a dog walking down the street and the dog has 4 types of fur, curly fur, black straight fur, shaved fur, and white fur. you notice that the dog has a computer attached to his collar, and that he's dragging this computer alongside of him. and attached to the computer is a rabbit-hutch, stuffed with old newspapers from the 1930's. you get up close and you see that the headline from 1932 has to do with your grandparents. so you open the rabbit hutch to remove the newspaper and the dog turns to you and starts to growl. so you growl back
and the dog says 'wow, for a human that's a pretty impressive growl'
and you say 'wow, for a human i'm a pretty impressive growler'
and the dog says, 'ok, so you understand how we talk to each other,
but can you tell me where i can find a good wholesale outlet for italian marble?' and you understand in a flash that this is not an ordinary dog, for what sort of ordinary dog would have an interest in wholesale italian marble?
you can accept the computer and the rabbit hutch. but the marble piques your curiosity.
the dog takes the newspaper out of the rabbit hutch and spreads it in front of you. the dog then explains that your grandparents were part of a rosicrucian cult that invented different types of foodstuffs as a part of a great mind-control project.
and you knew this. for you remember your grandfather saying on his deathbed, 'you know, boy, i invented the hamburger. look what it's done for our world!' the dog starts to levitate and you see that the dog has grown smaller.
much smaller.
and the dog is shrinking by the second.
and then the dog is gone. and you wish that you could've asked him more about the rosicrucians and other things.
so the question is: how did you know that your grandfather was telling you the truth about this dog?
in other news: isn't it amazing that inexpensive christmas lights can withstand the elements so well?
moby

I don't think I have anything to add to that. Perhaps I'll think of something later. For now, well, I'm in awe. What inspired him to write that?

***Brief Addendum: Looks like it turned out well that I stayed home last night, especially for Branford, if you know what I mean, nudge, nudge, wink, wink, say no more.....***

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee