2002-01-11 / 7:38 p.m.

~Chinese Buffet, Big Game Daydreaming, and Being a Rotten Hockey Fan~

I am a terrible Thrashers fan this season. I've only been to four regular season games, I hardly ever make the effort to watch them on TV, I don't even read the Sports section in the paper anymore, not to mention checking out their website or their message boards. I am Scum.

There's a game on now. Another home game, another giveaway night, a cooler this time, but am I there? NO. I'm here. Home, online, reading diaries. Gee, how productive. Okay, it's entertaining, I'll say that.

The week is finally over, thank GOD, whoever that is. It was hell, most of it. Today was better, the mood lighter, I went to lunch with Penelope, Kathy, Shawn and Delandra, at the Chinese Buffet place. I LOVE that place! I want to eat everything!! I can only eat one plateful though, and one bowl of soup. My little stomach is just not big enough to chow down at buffet tables. Damn!

But, I managed to eat more this time than last time. We had more time - that helps. I wanted to treat Penelope to lunch because she "saved my life" when she gave me a ride to Goodyear, then home, then picked me up in the morning and took me to work, then drove me back to Goodyear at lunch to get my car. She is Aces.

I told her I wanted to treat her to lunch at the Chinese Buffet place, and she said, "Oh, Shawn and I used to go there for lunch all the time...", so I said, "Well, invite her too if you like, and we can invite Lulu, and well, Kathy, sure, why not? Is that okay?", and she said, "Sure!". Lulu couldn't go though.

I ate chicken with broccoli, imitation crab wrapped in bacon (GOOD!), a vegetable spring roll, a dumpling, some garlic green beans, spicy chicken with mushrooms, yellow rice, hot and sour soup, a coconut macaroon, a Chinese donut, jello (!), cantaloupe, honeydew melon....probably something else. I can't remember. Did I mention I wanted to eat EVERYTHING? Well, I did. But there wasn't time, and my stomach couldn't hold it. Still....mmmmm....good.

The Big Game Lottery is up to $80 Million, so I bought a ticket a few days ago, and when I mentioned it to Penelope she got a pool going. She really worked it, got 14 people to join in. So, we daydreamed. Aloud. I want a PT Cruiser, Lulu wants a Jaguar, which she pronounces, "Jag-yu-ar", and she wants a Benz too.

Kukla said she wants a Dune Buggy, and that seemed very odd, and funny.

Rasta and Laverne talked to each other on the phone all day, across the cubicles, all day. I hate that they do that. I can hardly explain why, except it isolates them. And I hate the sound of Rasta's voice on the phone, all day, behind me and over one. He leans way out towards the aisle so his voice carries. It's not loud, it's a hushed tone, but it's constant, like he never shuts up, he NEVER shuts up.

And I'll hear him laugh, then Laverne will laugh. And at some point she freaked out about someone being in her business, in her face, she said, then in her business, all nosy, and I thought, Who? Who???? Who said what???? Someone must've said something about her relationship with Rasta....WHO?

Hey, I hate the windup of "Survivor" since the Outback, the way they hold the vote for the studio, make everyone wear the same clothes, but you can tell it's the studio before they reveal the audience because their faces are suddenly all filled out, they're not emaciated any longer, their arms are fatter, their hair is clean, unmatted, they have makeup on. It's such a screw job.

But Ethan won, and I was SO glad! He is so beautiful, and he looks nothing like his family. I wonder if he is adopted. Fuckface Bryant Gumbel (I don't care for him, can't stand his Kermit voice) asked if Ethan wanted to say hello to "Diane" and his brothers and family in the audience, and they showed this group of people, the "Diane" some blond girl (he has a girlfriend?), and a very average selection of folks representing brothers and mom and dad. They look NOTHING like him. Hmmmm.....

I cleaned my bathroom last night before "Survivor-The THREE HOUR Finale", and this makes me very happy. I realize, again, why I am a procrastinator...I am a perfectionist. So, I cleaned all the baubles on my vanity, and it's lovely now, of course, scrubbed the toilet with the scrubber so now I won't be ashamed to say, "Hermione, do you need to use the bathroom? Please, feel free.", assuming she and Lilly do come over on Sunday.

Now, I just need to do laundry, vacuum, clean the dining table of all the junk piled there, dust the dining room, the living room and a few bookcases in here, in the library, and we'll be good to go. Lilly talked to me on the phone recently, said she wants to come over and play with my toys, so I invited her, and her mom. I hope they make it, I hope we have fun, I hope all is well, I hope I finish cleaning and don't stress myself out too much.

I haven't had company in months. It's just me and the girls, and we like it this way. Trust me. Lately, I feel I could easily be a total recluse. Just give me cable television and a computer with internet access and I don't care if I ever see another human being. I think.

I'm going to check out the Thrashers/Calgary game now. And I like to pronounce that "Cal Gary" because I heard some Candian person say it that way once. Hey, I want to go to Canada some time. Some time.

Oh, and I'm going to eat a Garlic Bologna and Provolone sandwich. Yeah, I'm actually hungry, I was hungry about an hour or two after lunch. I wanted to hit that buffet again, it was killing me how much I wanted to go back, try the Egg Foo Yung, the squid, another spring roll, some more dumplings, more of that bacon wrapped imitation crab....okay, they didn't call it imitation, but it was. Know what's good? Take whole water chestnuts, roll them in brown sugar, wrap with a third strip of bacon, secure with toothpick, bake at 350 or so for 15 minutes or so. Good. Very good. I learned that recipe when I took a Chinese cooking class with my father and brother when I was 13 years old. I love Chinese food. Finally, I've found a good Chinese restaurant in my area....but it's not terribly authentic. Good, not perfect.

I'm off. It's been fun writing.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee