Tuesday, Jan. 22, 2002 / 7:35 p.m.

~Creative Visualization~

I just ate last night's Fresh Ginger Beef, and as Thai takeout ordering experiments go, it turned out well. It was really good, in fact. The beef was perhaps cooked like Chinese beef sometimes is, dipped in cornstarch and water first, before stir frying. I'm not sure, but it had that texture, not marinated, but thickened, coated. Hard to explain. And the ginger was indeed fresh, lots of julienned slivers, bell peppers, red and green, a thick sauce, I think made with coconut milk. Not sure, not exactly, but I'd order it again, definitely. And the tofu was even better today, more time to marinate overnight, absorb the flavors of the garlic/pepper sauce. Wow. I'm sated.

This is silly, I know, and I've told myself it's silly, so that proves I know, and I almost didn't do it, that's how silly I think it is, but I have this horoscope in the Sydney Omarr daily horoscope book, which I always buy each year just for fun, and hope, right, this horoscope says that I'll have good luck with money, today, and tomorrow, be lucky in money, or something - I won't even stop to look it up again right now - but I thought okay, how can I not go buy a Big Game lottery ticket with a horoscope like that? Regardless of how inane I find the dailies, they're fun, they're entertainment, they're not real, right? So, I had to go to the ATM to deposit last Friday's paycheck, I'd put it off long enough, and well, there's the Publix right there, and I needed milk, so I went in for milk, bought a carrot cake 'bar' on sale, and some salt and vinegar, and dill chips, also on sale (I'm THE impulse shopper of the new millenium!), and a Big Game ticket.

So now I'll be really disappointed if I don't at least win the $150,000., more so than usual. That's all I need, I'm creatively visualizing it now. Write it and achieve it. I am a self-help book. Don't dream it, be it. I can do this, the powers of luck and strength, my immense fortitude, and the Gods' and Goddesses' blessings are all upon me now. I only need the $150,000. That's plenty, I don't need millions. And what an eccentric philanthropist I'll be!

That's what I want to be if I grow up, a wealthy, eccentric, philanthropist. Believe it or not, I already was, in a minor way, throughout my twenties, but that's another story......

Right, anyway. We have two Caucasian temps at work, in my department, one Jamie, one Deana, both tall and skinny, white skin, long blonde hair, young, early twenties, I think they're related, or best friends, I'm not sure, but they come and go together, lunches, breaks, after work, before work. I didn't train either of them, I was training Sabrina and Delandra so I missed getting to know them, the white girls, but today Jamie came to me with a question, told me, "You're my favorite person to come to to ask questions"....I was really flattered, and happy, and I think she is so cute, she has this familiar face, and part of me wants to know her, but I'm much older, and we sit far apart at work, and well, she's a temp, etc.

Still, it was nice.

Lulu has shifted her focus to Veronica now, and she hangs at Veronica's cubicle throughout the day, looking at home furnishings magazines, what they call "books", and talking about decorating, and occasionally leaning way down and whispering.

I'm really happy and cozy when I'm in my cube, listening to my Walkman, and today it was the Doors again, and I love their music so much, I just wanted to lean back and close my eyes, but I have to stare at my phone when I have the headphones on, or at least keep it in my peripheral vision so I can see the red light when it's ringing, on account of I can't hear it. Pain in the ass. And then it was Soul Coughing, but headphones don't help that much with their music. I overlistened to this one album of theirs, 'Ruby Vroom', and I think I'm still kind of sick of it.

Okay, here's big news, and I was hesitant to write about it, but I've got to put it out there in the cosmos, hope for good energy, good vibes, for anything good....I applied for a job. I finally was reminded of my username and password at Monster.com so I could look at the postings in my search, and there was a job, and it sounds too good to be true, so it probably is, but how perfect is this?: Customer Service, work from home, $12/hour to start. Right. What's the catch? I don't know, but I hope to find out.

They say (can't remember the name of the company) that they are a stable internet company, which is practically an oxymoron, and they are hiring for people all across the country, people to handle customer concerns from their homes, I guess via email. I have no clue.

I do know I've contacted Quality Paperback Book Club and The Good Cook, another book club, via email, and gotten customer service responses in a very timely manner. Maybe it's that type of job. Actually, my current job could very easily be done from my home. VERY easily, and I've mentioned this, but apparently not to the right people, for they did not take me seriously at all. But then I've also suggested the 4 day, 10 hours a day, work week......they didn't like that either.

So, I applied through Monster.com for this job, and I should send my resume via email too, separately. I wonder what the deal is.....Imagine...me sitting here in my jammies, drinking my coffee, pulling on Normie's tail, working, earning $12 an hour, from here.........

Alright, back to reality. I've got TV to watch. Yes, I enjoy the TV. Tonight is "Gilmore Girls", "24" and "Real World", all quality programming. Indeed. The Thrashers are playing too, downtown, right in this fair city, but I will be merely flipping during commercials to catch the score.

Oh, in honor of Peggy Lee, who died today after 81 years of living, allow me to ask this one question, "Is that all there is?". Hah!

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee