Friday, Aug. 01, 2003 / 7:13 p.m.

~On My "Date" With Trouble, and More~

I'm thinking I need to write this now, on account of I'm exhausted.

I like to say, when asked a rhetorical Why?, 'On account of because'. I say it to the cats only, so far, but I need to take it out in the world, see how it plays. It might be good with small children, because it's so fun to teach them bad grammar. Or as some very irreverent comedian once said, he likes to teach children the wrong words for things, and I thought, oh, that's so bad, but that's so funny too! "Why can't I go outside?", "On account of because". I'm overplaying it, but trust me, it's good.

I just ate my second, in a row, Kasugai Muscat Gummy - Super Juicy. Amazing. I'm not kidding. But the taste doesn't linger long enough after the fact, hence the need for more. I want another. It could be the intense garlicky nature of the hummus that is making me want to counteract.

The reason I have both, or had, the Gummies and the hummus, is the big meeting with my first Diarylander, one Trouble, in town on business yesterday. What a bad sentence. Bad sentence! I'm so tired. Let's try again, my first meeting with a Diarylander, one Trouble, see previous link, who was in town on business and agreed to go to my favorite little Bistro for a meeting, to chat, to have a beverage, and in my case to eat dinner, as I love their food and I hadn't eaten and I was starving. It's her hummus that was left over, my food was scarfed.

The server had white skin, black hair and multiple tattoos, a former hair salon worker, current server, night two, and also current tattoo apprentice and prospective future female tattoo artist extraordinaire, espouser of women tattoo artists' rights, and future New Yorker.

Ah, but Trouble is a New Yorker, and really so different from the mental picture I had, which must not have been any picture at all. Reminds me of the telephone dating service period, how odd it was to meet the voices I'd heard on the phone, to see the voices, and every single time, to say, "Wow, you look so different", "Really, how did you picture me?", "Um, I didn't, but you're not anything like how I didn't picture you!" Yeah, same sort of thing.

She's lovely, and intelligent, and charismatic and dynamic and passionate, and an Aries, so this is all to be expected. And we switched topics the whole night, or the whole however many hours we spent until the restaurant turned up their lights and came inches away from literally kicking us out. It was SO great to talk to someone, live, in person, who is a thinking person, a person with a brain, and ideas and passions and visions, and doesn't hold back. A far cry from my daily interactions with my work mates, which are stultifying at best.

And she brought me a goodie bag of things from NYC, inlaid wood chopsticks in a braided holder (for my Thai food!), and the Muscat Gummies (amazing, really, especially if you've ever eaten a Muscadine grape, or drunk Muscadine wine), and Mushroom Risotto mix from the now departed Balducci's (am I gonna get hit by a Google here?), and cool black and white postcards, one with a great shot of the Twin Towers through the Washington Square arch. Wow. Must make room on the fridge.

My best Diaryland buddy, Caroline, has already been sending me all kinds of goodies in the mail from her travels, a flip flop magnet with sand in it from Long Island, and a surfboard keychain, and "Ciao!" post-its (who knew they made those?), incense, and etc., and etc. at this point, but when we get together finally in person she'll probably have a goody bag of her own. I need to start stocking up. I feel inadequate in the gift giving department. Really, I'm a schmuck.

Meeting people from the Interweb can be cool, that's all I'm saying. Meeting the second person from LiveJournal (the first was okay, but odd in retrospect) wasn't as nice because we simply saw a movie and then stood outside briefly to chat, but nothing more. If we could've sat and had a beverage that would have been nice too.

Alas, that was my big meeting, my big social contact of the month. I have no other plans. Anyone else wanna meet? Come on down. Or up. Bring gifts!! I'll buy your dinner, assuming you're not already on an expense account. Can we insert a smiley emoticon here? Something big and grinning? Reminds me, as everything seems to do, the first LiveJournaler I met was also on expense account - I can't refuse expensed food. Besides, I'm more inclined, however sexist it may be, at this stage in my life, to let a man, especially a man over 40, pay for my dinner, or drinks, or my rent, or anything really - I want a Sugar Daddy!

On another note altogether, I want anyone reading this to know that I have taken over the Activism diary, and you should all add it to your favorites list, if you please, because you might learn something, or be exposed to something you didn't know, or of which you weren't aware, and it's all about letting people know how to be active, how to get involved politically, or environmentally. How to make a difference.

That diary is an open diary, meaning anyone can post to it, as long as what they post is in keeping with the design of the site, the purpose, I mean, and I have the power to delete innocuous or offensive entries, or those not in keeping. The diary was created by Kassia, but it appears she has abandoned her diary and the Activism diary - if anyone knows if she's okay, or how she is, or any info about her, please let me know - but she gave me the password long ago, to help her out with it, and to edit my own posts if I so chose, since I'm anal about that, and finally I decided that looking at the broken .jpg imges there was more than I could stand. I gave in and bought a Gold Membership for it, which everyone with a diary should do!, and posted a new image at the top, and I'm open to suggestions for new ones, and suggestions about the layout in general, etc.

If Kassia is okay, and she wants to come back, take it back over, I'm totally fine with that, someone just needs to take care of it. A lot of people link to it, and a lot of people are in my activist diary ring as well, over 500 people! So, there is an impact to be made here in Diaryland, amongst a lot of young people, hopefully of voting age.

By the way, great to talk politics with Trouble last night! Wish we'd had more time...

I used to talk to Mark, you know, all the time, he was my best friend, but we all know what happened there. Sometimes, a man and a woman cannot be 'just' friends. Even Harry and Sally had to have sex and get married. But if it's not there, one feels more, and well, it just doesn't work. I hated letting him go from my life, but I couldn't deal with his feelings. So, yeah, I miss conversation, live, in person, or on the phone, more than writing, though that's great too, but I feed off conversation, it's the extrovert in me.

Oh, oh, oh, another subject (this is rambling and long, I know, just skip it, just click someplace else, I don't mind, I write for me mostly), I got my Harry Potter books in the mail today, finally, the first four, in hardcover, for $4.49!!! How? I'm in the QPBC, quality paperback book club, and I amass bonus points with purchase of very groovy and cool trade paperbacks from them, all sent nicely in the mail, easy peasy, and then I use said bonus points to acquire more books for which I have NO ROOM LEFT!!!, and only pay s&h, thus the $4.49. Amazing! I'm so happy. Really, I've heard great things about these books and I can't wait to dive in. I hope I like them.

Anything else? Yeah, the "Nature" I was watching whilst waiting for my date with Trouble (hah!, my date with Trouble - I wanted to allude to "My Dinner With Andre", but I seriously considered that NO ONE would get it - funny), was on lizards. Lizards, I LOVE lizards! But apparently not as much as the absolute freak they featured, a guy who has changed his last name to "LizardLover", one word or two?, and has 37 lizards living in his home in L.A. I know, where else would this nut live? Okay, okay, I respect that he opens his front door and there are iguanas all over the floor, but are skinks kept in drawers happy skinks?

What about the babies living in the cabinet on newspapers? Quality of life? I worry. To see him hold these creatures up and kiss them big juicy kisses, just like I kiss N and G was, well, interesting to say the least, but yes, I worried. No heat lamps? No hot rocks? No terrariums? Terraria?

Another guy had terraria, nice, green, leafy, probably tens or hundreds, in his home, and he lovingly fed his guys worms on the end of what looked like hemostats. Yes, everyone should have a pair of hemostats - you can steal them, er, appropriate them, from your local hospital or clinic.

My ex, the one in my dream the other morning, the "You're not girlfriend material" dream, used chopsticks to feed worms to his salamanders. One salamander escaped and ended up in our linen closet. That was weird.

Animal lovers are interesting, I attest to this, I confess to this, but 37 lizards running around, sleeping in drawers, in cabinets, taking a shower in the bathroom? I don't know, I'm sorry, it seemed a bit much.

Yes, I'm still exhausted, I just had to note all this. And as much as I love the tie-dye I'm wearing, my current favorite, newly purchased at the big music festival I went to a couple months ago, I've had it on ALL day, and I need to change, and prepare for "BB4", and sink in to the sofa, and probably pass out early. We stayed out late last night, and I wouldn't have missed it, I loved it, very fun, very, I had a great time, but I was punchy and goofy all day from not enough sleep, and only two glasses of wine, and we had little work all day, so that was great, and we were all punchy, really - almost forgot the three of us in the last hour, Q, Jane and I, playing with the three way conferencing feature on our phones. Silly. Very. So, I'm out.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee