Wednesday, Apr. 16, 2003 / 11:01 a.m.

~Delirium?~

Whew, I am SO not feeling good. I felt sick last Friday, but chalked it up to nerves, took some Echinacea and never even gave it the credit for me feeling so much better, yet I haven�t stopped taking it. Today I woke groggy, I had too many dreams, it was nearly impossible to drag myself from bed. My throat feels clogged, and I thought maybe I have a hairball now, like N and G, but then again I read recently that throat clearing is the first sign of asthma, something new to consider.

I�m in my cube, it�s early, there is no work yet, no phone calls. I�m listening to a fantastic CD, a free CD I picked up at the Rally last Saturday � I�d name the group, but I don�t care to risk the search engine hit. It�s rap/hip hop, political, really, really incredible. I saw these guys at the end of the Plaza on Saturday, a gaggle of onlookers surrounding them, bobbing their heads. They called for any MCs in the crowd, and one of the Rally volunteers grabbed a mic and went wild. It blew me away. I grabbed a CD for later, and this is later. They also performed on stage after that, and they got the whole audience to shout "____ _____, not bombs!". I wish I could write it, but really, I get enough weird hits, and we all know how insanely aware I am of any �audience� I have, so yeah, bummer.

Man, did I mention I feel really, really ill? It�s like this wave inside my body, or like an inner concrete block weighing me down. I woke up in a sweat all night. I�ll keep up with the Echinacea, but I�m not sure it�s going to rid me of whatever this is that�s trying to take over. There�s a battle going on, and it�s not for liberation, it�s for occupation, of me.

I didn�t watch enough news last night to see if that horrible Mosul protest story (see previous entry for link � US soldiers opened fire on protestors, killing TEN, injuring HUNDREDS!!) made it to the mainstream. I did want to know if corporate media would let the people know, just like I�m not sure they showed the police brutality from the march last Saturday� **This just in: US says they killed 7, and they claim they were being fired upon. I guess stones can feel like bullets?

Listening to this CD makes me want to be with the antiwar protestors again. They are the coolest people, and invariably really eccentric looking, very individualistic, very attractive. Saturday, this coming, we have another protest, locally, and I look forward to that, so long as I�m not in a hospital somewhere with SARS.

My hypochondria has always been tongue in cheek. It�s funny to me when people think I�m serious. And I do enjoy testing people, just like every Scorpio I know has tested me. I test, I challenge, I chase away. I already lost one �reader� of this very diary, because she didn�t get it. And I say, the fewer the merrier. I don�t want to look at the �people who link me� and see some huge number. How confining that must feel, knowing all those people drop in.

Oh man, you should hear this CD, it�s Gil Scott Heron, it�s Bob Marley, it�s Digable Planets, it�s SO good. I�m going to write them some fan email on my break, if I can get online. I�m going to gush, to tell them I�ll be their groupie if they come this far South to play � of course, like all things really cool, they�re based in NYC.

Trumpet. How cool is trumpet on a hip hop album?! I want Sandy to hear this, I think he�ll really like it. Send me email and I�ll tell you the name of this group, and YOU can hear it too!

Our local organizer says she gets sick after every single National Demonstration. I told her how sick I was after January 18th and she said she always gets sick. I will fight this.

Cainer says today�s Full Moon has tremendous significance. There�s some peculiar and unusual aligning of planets, and the Moon is in Libra, which is the opposite of Aries (me), so there is supposed to be a lot of conflict for me today. I�m lying low. And no, it�s not �laying� low, that�s grammatically incorrect.

I�m listening to the CD again. It�s only 6 songs. Duh, why do you think it was free?

"24" last night was really good. From that kiss between Michelle and Tony (I could FEEL the passion, I could remember what that feels like� *sigh*), to yet another torture scene (how many does that make for this season????), to the line of the night, delivered by our ex-CTU agent, Jack, "How can you justify a war just to profit from the outcome?" YEAH!!!!! The fictional president, the first African American President, one David Palmer, doesn�t want war, can you imagine? A President who goes against his Cabinet? Who makes decisions based on his own best moral judgment? A President who doesn�t want to kill if it�s for the wrong reasons, if there�s not enough evidence, etc.???? Wow. I love this show. Palmer said he wouldn�t start a war based on wrong or incomplete evidence, but Bush couldn�t wait to do just that.

I read a great essay last night about the new America, in which we are now compared to old Texas, to the whole �shoot �em up� Wild Wild West attitude. Funny, but when I dated Reg (from Paris), he went on and on about our gun culture, how we are perceived in Europe as being gun happy. I bet he loves "Bowling For Columbine"! He hated this country, but last I saw of him he was still here, married to an American woman, he never went back to Paris as he said he couldn�t wait to do.

My internal temperature feels high, like I�m boiling out the invading bacteria, or virus. The war being waged is an invasion, and my white blood cells are fighting, in civilian clothes. I think there has yet to be any �collateral damage�.

I recommend this CD. Go buy it now, oh wait, it�s a demo. Um, write fan mail and get them to produce an LP, do they still call them LPs? This one track, number 4, is �rapped� in another language, and really, I cannot discern which language it is. It sounds like French, but maybe it�s Portuguese, though it sounds sort of like a Native American language. I have no clue.

No, wait, it�s French. I feel really sick.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee