Saturday, Dec. 06, 2003 / 10:48 a.m.

~Up EARLY On a Saturday~

I'm eating a concoction simply known as 'roasted corn', purchased at the Farmers Market last eve. It's really spicy hot and I can't see a reason for it. Must be pepper, but it's not visible. What I can see is corn, duh, red bell pepper, and red onion. There is some green, looks like parsley, tastes like parsley, but maybe there's some jalapeno or something?

An odd breakfast, for sure, but I have been up since around 6:30 or so. WHAT?!?!?!? Yeah. I fell asleep on the sofa last night whilst watching "Volcano", starring one Tommy Lee Jones, and one Anne Heche, and the synopsis had said something about the special effects, damn, can't remember the adjective right now, maybe imaginative?, but it made me want to actually see it. It was not meant to be. I was sitting upright, thinking that would be the best position to stay awake, but I began to sleep that way.

Once I lay horizontally, once reclined, that was it. And that was around 10:15. I am old.

I woke up throughout the night really, having left the TV on, switched to Kilborn at some point, then woke to the usual overnight CBS stuff. I love to sleep to the TV, only turn it off if it interferes with sleep on a weeknight, or like night before last when it filtered into my dreams causing very strange situations and images therein.

I finally stayed conscious when I heard Bill Cosby trying to follow Martha Stewart's instructions for making croissants from scratch. Oh, but she seemed so very irritated with him. And he took it well, survived, at least on camera. I can't imagine what went on when the cameras were turned off.

I once bought a croissant making kit, came with the black iron baking pan, and the croissant cutter, but in all my moves, especially with the 'ex', I lost the pan. It was damned nice too. And I never used it. I picture it in the pan drawer beneath the oven at the house we lived in, the second house of three. Should've been more careful, but I hated that move, did NOT want to go. He got a new job and had to be at work on time, no ifs ands or buts, and he could not make the commute.

Lazy asshole.

We moved 1.5 miles from his job, and he STILL could not get his ass out of bed. He loved sleep, almost as much as I. So his friend would come and bang on our door around 8:00 a.m., trying to wake him up. Oh joy.

But I still have the cutter, the croissant cutter, if I ever decide to roll the dough, with all the butter, the layers. Sure, like that will happen. One never knows.

I stayed up though, watched "The Wild Thornberrys", learned how Eliza was afforded her ability to speak to animals. What a fun show. There was something else on awhile ago, "Tutenstein" or something, that initially looked outrageously cool, but then they showed the human characters and I realized they must all be drawn by the same animation dept, all cartoons today. Wide heads, funky hair, usually spiky, all like that cartoon with the kids, oh, what's it called?

Really, I don't watch cartoons anymore, not even Cartoon Network, though I am a huge fan of animation in general. The story has to get me too, and these don't.

PLUS, when in hell am I up on a Saturday morning at 6:30?

I figured I'd slept enough, so I'd try to stay up. Washed my face and used the St Ives Apricot Scrub, which takes forever to rinse off, but feels so fucking good afterward! Wow. Smooth and soft, all nice and clean and clear.

I've been online since, really, catching up on diaries and journals, cleaning out email, haven't even read my home page yet, no news yet. And I've eaten my roasted corn and stuff. Oh, there's zucchini in it too. Hot, hot, hot.

I have egg salad for later, and some pasta salad (yeah, I hit the salad bar), and not much else. For $32. That store is so expensive. Why do I shop there? Loves me some gourmet food.

Cold here, but no snow. Warm on the sofa overnight with two cats and my blanket, had to pull off wool socks in middle of night. Nice. And if I had gone to the actual bed it would've been nice too, as I put the down comforter on finally, after too many nights of sleeping with lots of clothes on.

Work yesterday? My second day with Jane, loving Kukla being out. Jane's neck hurt though, so I brought her my heat pack after lunch, heated it in the microwave for her and everything. Our Manager (M) dropped by, said how sweet it was, but I just wanted to take care of Jane, I like her so much. (M) likes her too. Everyone does, no kidding. There is NO ONE in the world who would not like her.

Maybe she's an angel.

So, we talked too much and worked too little, but we're still in the old department, just us, and it's separated from the rest of the suite by a high wall, so no one can see us, they can hear if they try, but they can't see unless they come around the corner, and then hopefully we see them first!

Our Site Manager brought the Corporate Liaison (*bitch*) by to get her to thank us for sticking it out earlier in the week, and when I told him I was trying to be tactful he said no, don't, so I turned to her and said, "It was HELL!", and she was dumbfounded, told me what she had to do on her end, blah, blah, but Jane and I agreed later that she should have fucking done that ahead of time. It's not like the corporation didn't know they were terminating this portion of their contract with us. Jesus.

If they can't send out their own fucking memo email, they're the losers, not us. And I could tell you horror stories about just how bad a company it really is. This HUGE multinatinal corporation that everyone thinks is so wonderful. Hah! If you knew how they treat their employees, you'd die. You just would.

Neither here, nor there.

I got my first Amazon order yesterday - actually it arrived Wednesday, like two or three days after placing it (I LOVE That! Amazon RULES!), but I had to find out which leasing office had it, wait for them to be open when I could get there, etc., pig fuck, etc. - and I'm pretty happy. Got my 365 Cats Page a Day calendar for next year, and a new Cat Gallery calendar, which I thought was going to be a wall calendar, and that's what I get for not paying enough attention and just impulse shopping, and Moby's new CD with bonus DVD (yeah, I know I don't own a DVD player, doesn't mean I NEVER will). It's just retreads of his last CD, but he's into that, the whole B-sides thing, and I give him props for overcreating.

I listened to it on my PC at work, and I wasn't concentrating as well as I should. I'll listen again later.

Long hard week though, and Site Manager dude closed the site at 6:00 so no one could work late shift OT. They all are coming in early lately anyway. GO HOME, was what was implied. Today they did some OT, but there was no way in hell I was going to participate in that crap. Key until your fingers fall off. Nah.

Oh, I have more corn left. And a full day ahead! Wow. This is kind of cool. Of course we'll have to see how long I hang in, I may need some serious nappage later.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee