Saturday, Jun. 28, 2003 / 1:54 p.m.

~Everyone's Best Friend~

I talked my favorite co-worker (I'm going to call her Jane) into shopping at the Farmer's Market, on Thursday, and I accompanied her, just to seal the deal. She loved it, and I knew she would, but I realized how very uncomfortable I can be when I'm with people, when I'm doing something I'd normally do alone, like driving my car, or shopping for groceries, or anything but working.

Work is the only time I'm surrounded by people, against my will or otherwise. Occasionally I choose to go to a movie, or sit at the bar or a table at my favorite bistro, or go dancing, and I watch people and listen to them, but there is no obvious or forced interaction. No, I'm more accustomed to, and comfortable with, written communications. And my friend who recently had a baby is writing to me now. For some reason we'd abandoned email communication, but we do both now, the snail, the email, just short of actually talking, and it's nice. I missed her.

But being with someone, sharing a shopping cart, walking slowly so she can see everything, all the variety of odds and ends for sale, it was so odd being with Jane at the Farmer's Market. And the men behind the counters all liked her, all chatted her up, and she told them all how it was her first visit, and they couldn't believe it, this particular market is renowned amongst the denizens of the city, of the entire Southeast most likely, it's rather famous in its way. So she smiled and joked and everyone loves her, I love her, all people are drawn to her, we practically fight for her attention at work.

And when the cashier wouldn't sell me the bottle of Merlot, the $4.99 bottle from Chile, on special, and at that price who can resist?, because I'd left my ID in the car, Jane was so sympathetic, as she is, and wanted to get it for me, but hadn't enough cash, and then wanted to wait in the parking lot for me while I ran back in with my ID. We were in separate cars and I said, "I usually shop by myself, I have my own car, it's okay, thank you, but you can go home!", it seemed silly, really, but her caring and kindness were so genuine and sincere.

I did go back in, and the cashier almost didn't hand me the bottle, wanted me to wait while she rang up some other customers, "NO!, you set the bottle down over there, could you just HAND it to me?" so I can go to ANOTHER cashier, Jesus!, so she's married to a cop who started a program against drunk driving, and so she's anti-alcohol, doensn't mean she really thinks I'm under 21, does it? She said, "You could be an undercover officer...", but I thought it was illegal to sell to minors, not people without IDs. Am I wrong? Is it now illegal not to check IDs, not just to sell to a minor?

I bought two more bottles yesterday, and I will never go to that cashier again. She packed Jane's cold fresh breakfast sausages (that she was buying for her live-in boyfriend) with her hot rotisserie chicken! I had to remove them from the bag, re-bag as she was bagging. Really flaky woman, seriously. And she overcharged me, twice for the one bag of Chili Lime tortilla chips. I got my money back yesterday, no questions asked. I wonder if she makes a lot of mistakes...

A good shopping experience can be all but ruined by the wrong cashier or bagger. Bananas on the bottom, cold with hot, etc.

I have big, bright red strawberries in my fridge. And a mango. And I loved being with her, watching her smell everything, put the bell pepper up to her nose and make that "Mmmmmm...." sound. And when I pointed out the different kinds of melons, the different kinds of Asian veggies, roots, things we had no idea what they were, her fascination equalled my own, and shopping with her was fun, really.

Jane's not my new best friend though, and realizing that, once we were both back at work yesterday, was harsh. She is everyone's best friend. And I'll take what I can get, I suppose.

Now, I'm back to being on my own, as per usual, and I have the day to do as I please. I've spent the past two hours, at least, online, writing email letters mostly. The fiberglass cows are downtown, I want to see them, take some photos, we shall see. And I want to see the French movie too, maybe the Japanese film at the Museum, maybe just stay home. It's all up to me.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee