Sunday, Aug. 11, 2002 / 4:40 p.m.

~Her Birth Story, and How I Spent Saturday Night~

Candace (ByTwilight) had her baby a few days ago. I remember reading her entry that first mentioned her being pregnant. I remember not being able to read her diary because she created her layout on IE and on my old PC I couldn't view it. Now I can, and it looks really different on IE, and I can see it on Netscape too, but anyone who is reading this now might want to click HERE to read her birth story. She wrote it once and lost the text, had to rewrite, but she did rewrite it and it's a good story, sort of amazing that she can remember it in as much detail as she has.

Yesterday, after I wrote that I wouldn't be cooking or shopping, I went in my kitchen and cooked eggs with cream cheese, grits, and toast with strawberry and peach preserves. Who knew?

I watched hours of television, slept on the sofa, much to Gladys' chagrin, or something. She hates it when I sleep on the sofa! HATES it.

"Top Hat" was on, so I had to watch. The lovely Ginger Rogers and the lanky and talented (however decidedly un-handsome) Fred Astaire, and sets designed in no other time than the mid 1930s. Deco/Ostentatious. Fabulous.

"Big Brother 3", of course. Who cares what ever happens on any one episode, it's wildly entertaining. In my humble opinion. I only wish there were more, that it could go on 24 hours a day, on the TV, a "Big Brother" channel. I don't want to pay for a peek online, on this tiny monitor, I want a whole channel I can watch, for the price of cable.

Which reminds me, the cable receiver was re-set and works fine, and I wanted to call the rep back and thank her, but I didn't.

I posted more to the Moby boards and people responded to me, normally, as they usually would, no wars, no flames, no insults, but the Internet bores me lately, so I wasn't on long.

I was going to watch an old French movie, but French movies from the 1930s are not interesting to me, not like the American movies from that time, i.e. "Top Hat". So I watched "Trading Spaces", and lusted after a kitchen redesign. I WANTED that kitchen, with its serape painted ceiling, and chili pepper lights over the kitchen sink, and the 'woven' tin wall, the metal paint on the cabinets, the trompe l'oeil bricks on the walls above the counters. It was fantastic. For a moment, just a moment, I wanted my own house that I could paint crazy colors if I so chose. Or choose.

Too much maintenance with a house. An apartment is hard enough.

It was futuristic movies from the '70s night on Turner Classic Movies, so I watched "Silent Running", with Bruce Dern starring as the outer space biosphere caretaker who does not follow orders to blast his sphere, but ends up with it and a couple robots floating around near Saturn. Crazy, very sad movie. Very sad. How strange to get all emotional over a couple robots. And a wacky (when was he NOT wacky?) Bruce Dern in a hooded caftan patting bunnies.

I think I fell asleep after that one, Gladys objecting all the while, me waking to yell at her every few minutes, listening to "Soylent Green" but not watching, however waiting, not wanting to miss, that famous last line from Charleton Heston: "Soylent Green is PEOPLE!!!!". Yeah, baby.

I finally got up and stayed up, 4:00 a.m., to watch the original "Rollerball", starring James Caan as the Rollerball Champion refusing to retire at the bidding of the CORPORATION, and John Houseman in particular.

James and I never fully understood why they wanted him to retire though. Even at the end when the one corporate guy says, "It's not a game, it was NEVER a game". Huh? So, he emerges victorious, James as "Jonathan E", but then what?

What a cool game though! I think we should have REAL Rollerball games. Why the hell not? With the motorcyles with the loops on the back, those heavy metal balls, and some of the games could be like the championship finals in the film, No Penalties, No Time Limits. Whoo hoo!!

Falling off to sleep, again, this time at 6:00 a.m., waking to cats and dreams remembered. Strange dreams.

Now what? Any number of things. I watched most of a documentary on Sundance, "Friends Forever", about a duo who perform out of their VW van, drive across the country, 'performing' 'music'. Strange, very very strange.

Taking a moment to read email (my ISP now has "SpamGuard" so I only get email addressed to my actual email address - nice), and some diaries, including Candace's birth story.

I imagine I'll feed the cats in a bit, engage in some 'chores', watch my soap on tape, some more movies, or more Food Network (almost forgot about "Extreme Cuisine" last night, and the crazy people who love HOT food), etc. The weekend is coming to an end, and this is sad. But how glorious it's been to not HAVE to go out in the 90 degree heat, except to take my garbage to the dumpster and get my mail. That whole world out there of cars and smog and heat was not my world, and it was wonderful.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee