Saturday, Aug. 09, 2003 / 11:52 p.m.

~He Didn't Do It, He's the "Wrong" Man, You See?~

I like Hitchcock movies, I really do, they're high on my list of all time favorite movies, films like "Rear Window" and "Notorious" and "Strangers On a Train", and "Rope", and etc., but I just watched "The Wrong Man" and it was some kind of awful. The kind of movie where you find yourself fidgeting and looking at your watch, and reading the synopsis again and again, to see when it was made, who's in it, how's it supposed to end, and finally, when will it be over?! So now I've seen it. Fine and good. Henry Fonda's character is supposed to be 38 years old, and I'd have to consult a bio of the man, but I'd guess he was 48 when it was filmed (just checked Google - birthdate 5/16/05 - he was 52 when "The Wrong Man" was released). Holy moly.

Aren't I a great reviewer? I tell you nothing about the film, just my overall impression. But I'm not trying to be a movie reviewer, so that's fine. I read today that Roger Ebert must undergo radiation to reduce a tumor on his salivary gland. Salivary gland? Crazy. Poor guy, says he's had it in one size or another for 16 years. How can that be, to have a tumor for 16 years?

Not much else worth writing about. I found all my old bookmarks (I thought I'd lost them when I switched PCs and fucked around with Netscape and IE on the 'new' PC) and imported them, or exported them, to IE, then imported them, again, or exported, to Netscape, and tried to reorganize, as in breaking "politics" into "Iraq" and "Afghanistan" and "Antiwar" and "General" and "Animal Rights/Environment" and "9/11", and "favorite diaries" to "Diaryland" and "LiveJournal" and "Other blogs". Whee! Took a long time, but it's good now. This is the main reason I prefer Netscape, other than that it's not part of the Bill Gates Megalopoly, the "bookmarks" are easier to use than IE's "favorites", to me anyway. Ahhh, organization makes me happy.

Speaking of happy, I got my Dayrunner order in the mail today, finally breaking down and ordering an insert for 2003, a little late in the year, but we still have a few months left, and one for 2004, tabbed and everything - I love having a black book I can look in, so I can say, "Let me check my book" when I receive an invitation, not that I do, but if I did, yeah, "Let me check my book". And apparently I got my turntable too, but the postman doesn't like to walk around, or drive his little Jeep around, delivering the packages door to door, he dumps them all at the Leasing Office, but now our Leasing Office is mysteriously no longer open, so they're at the sister complex down the street. I'm hoping they're open on Sundays - and I hope the turntable arrived in good condition, and it works, and I can pick it up, listen to some old 78s tomorrow. We shall see.

I'm only slightly worried that we no longer have a leasing office. It's odd, but I don't really need whatever services they provide, I don't think. As long as my file is in some filing cabinet somewhere, and my deposit is still in some escrow account, somewhere, and I get it back when/if I move, okay then. Still, it's weird, weird enough for me to wonder about it every single day when I pass the office and see signs on the windows, wonder what they say, want to stop and read them, but have no real reason to stop there. I paid my rent on time, no reason to go, maybe next month.

I think I'm going to watch more movies - "Arsenic and Old Lace" is on at 1:00, and strangely enough I've never seen it.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee