Thursday, Feb. 13, 2003 / 1:29 p.m.

~Racial Harassment and Reverse Discrimination Spur Hatred of Homo Sapiens~

The incident at work yesterday was racial. 'The new boy' keeps filling me in on what was said, how it really all started, and the more I hear the more uncomfortable I become. I'm torn between not wanting to know at all, between wanting to ask him to stop telling me, and wanting to go to the Site Manager and ask why the offenders have not left the building yet. Are the suits really afraid they'll be sued?

This is shades of the lynching photos incident, the incident with Listerine and me, the way she was let off the hook, nothing happened, and I went to the EEOC, I talked to the civil rights attorney, and I was told that white people working in black offices in the South have no legs to stand on when it comes to incidents of 'reverse discrimination' or racial harassment.

I told 'the new boy' I had never really experienced prejudice, racism, bigotry, until I started working at our office. I was raised by an insanely liberal mother, and her best friend was black, she went to the all black neighborhood to shop, to get her car worked on, it was like she preferred blacks to whites. Especially here in the South.

I was raised not to recognize colors in people's skin, not to discriminate, but the past few years have changed me. And knowing that so many black people hate white people drives me crazy. How are we supposed to live up to Martin Luther King Jr's dream if they're not going to do their part? If we are still segregated it's not the fault of the progressive white people in the South, it's the blacks who live here, because they don't want to get along. They hate us.

I'm sick of it. And I hate that I now know that three of the staff, people who normally won't even acknowledge my presence, hate me because I'm white. I suspected it before, but now I know, and I don't want to pass them on my way to the bathroom, I feel uncomfortable just walking around the place. I feel so sorry for the Supervisor who was threatened yesterday, and I seriously hope she is safe when she goes to her car at night in the back parking lot.

Nothing will ever change. There will always be discord between the races of peoples, between those with differing religious beliefs, between those with cats instead of dogs, those who vaccinate and those who don't, those who send their children to daycare and stay at home moms.

We will never get along. People suck. Right now I despise my species.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee