Sunday, Nov. 02, 2003 / 9:43 p.m.

~I've Always Loved TV~

Durrr, just got an 'unable to connect to database' or something error, and now my show is back on, so I must go.

No, I'll skip this part. I'm watching the CBS 75 year extravaganza thing, and it's really good, especially if, like me, you're a television person. You know, someone who was watching TV from birth, or before (well, listening then, from the womb). TV means a lot to me. Duh.

But it looks like CBS had all the best TV. Right now it's the 'made for TV movie' portion.

Wait, Rob Reiner....... brb, as the kids say.

Oh man, the Smothers Brothers. I grew up watching them. This is a long walk down memory lane, and I love that. I skipped "Tarzan", I stopped watching my "GL" tape, I even skipped the hockey game (I think Thrashers won). I feel like I have to watch this special.

And I haven't written any more of my novel today. But... I wrote about 2300 words yesterday. Not bad considering I only need to write 1657 or so per day. I got a good start, and had some crazy ideas today. I've been following the suggestion to keep a notebook handy and I write down ideas as they come. This TV stuff is taking a lot of time though, so I'm not sure I'll write today at all. I might be able to write during work tomorrow, but maybe not if it's busy.

HOWEVER, I have Tuesday off, and I leave early Friday, and I have Monday and Tuesday next week off, so yeah, November is going to be good.

Today I was fairly productive, I washed dishes, which is always a big deal for me. I listened to jazz and ska on the college radio station, I put oil in my car's engine, and water in the radiator (which I like to say 'rad' iator, instead of 'rade', try it, it's fun), and I dropped my disposable cameras at Eckerd for processing, finally, one from January's Demonstration in D.C. and the one from the 25th of October. So yeah, I'm getting Kodak Photo CDs, and if any of the images are good I'll be sure to post here.

I also showered and washed my hair, something I rarely do on the weekend! Whoo hoo!

It was about 85 degrees here today too, but I kept the fan in the window and it wasn't too terrible inside.

And, and, and, I ordered Thai takeout and it more than made up for the crap 'Chinese' of last week. It smelled SO good on the way home, and it was packed so well, none of those cheap styrofoam containers leaking into plastic bags, no sirree. I had Basil Rolls, Nam Sod, Chicken Coconut Milk Soup, Garlic Pepper Tofu and Basil Leaves Chicken. The tofu and chicken are mostly leftover. Good god, it was good.

And I watched "GL" and "Gilmore Girls" on tape. So, I'm having fun.

You know, the scenes from "I Love Lucy" where Lucy tastes the nasty vitamin syrup for the first time, and when she's about to have the baby and Ricky, Ethel and Fred bang into each other in their haste to get her to the hospital, STILL crack me up. I swear. I feel silly sitting there on the sofa all by myself laughing so hard at something I've seen countless times, but it's just still so funny.

Oh, last night I watched an interesting documentary, "Eat This, New York", about a couple guys opening a restaurant in NYC. And then a documentary on Gregory Peck, "Conversation" I think it was called, produced by Peck's daughter. It was sad to watch, knowing that Gregory Peck died not long after it was finished, no doubt. And it had me wondering why I didn't go see his stage show when he was here in town. Dammit. I love that guy.

But then I fell asleep during the 'encore' showing of "To Kill a Mockingbird", which I've seen already, and woke up at 4:00 in the morning to go to bed.

It's been a good weekend, I think. I feel I've been productive, in little ways, crossing things off my 'to-do' list, entertaining myself, eating well (orecchiete with white clam sauce last night), and this week will be broken up, so that's good.

I just have to make time for the novel writing, get back on that track, and all will work out fine.

Now, must get back to the CBS extravaganza, TV is fun.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee