Tuesday, Sept. 16, 2003 / 7:25 p.m.

~That's All I'm Saying~

I wonder if other bloggers, journalers, diarists, reach a certain point in their days wherein they know it's time to sit down and write. It's simply time, so they stop what they're doing, they log on, or they click, and they jump in. Some of the Live Journal bloggers I read seem to write any time they get an idea in their heads, they blog all day long, their computers simply left on throughout the day, or they're at work, they're connected. Instead of picking up the phone and calling a friend, or lover, or instead of turning to a coworker and saying, "Hey, you, I just thought of something", they write it down, a paragraph or two, with a title even.

I reach a point lately where I do it after work, around this time. I think I'll wait, I'll log on after whatever TV shows I watch, I'll do it before bed, but that doesn't work like it once did. My writing cycle has shifted. And now, as I'm sitting on the futon sofa, bowl of whatever in my hands, eating whatever I'm eating, watching whatever inane television show is on from 7:00 to 8:00, waiting for 'prime time', I get this urge, I have to come in and put it down. I have to commit whatever I've been thinking, and hopefully I have notes, but usually not.

Now. "Felicity" is on, and I've seen every episode at least 4 times. Every single one. I love it anyway, don't get that wrong, and tonight it's toward the end of the series, after Keri Russell's (i.e. 'Felicity') hair has been straightened, or de-curled, and I always want to know which was it? Is it naturally corkscrew-y, or is it naturally straight-ish and that was a perm? And I love it either way, but I think especially after, because it looks so... natural! She doesn't even bother with a real part down the middle, it's messy there, at the part, at the scalp, and then it's basically straight, but with this body, and it's almost stringy, but shiny and clean, and she just looks so good, and she has such wonderful skin, and eyebrows, and I notice these things because I have horrible skin, and I hate my eyebrows, though they have never hated me.

I digress, I know this. But this episode involves Ben telling his father, played by the dearly recently departed John Ritter, that he is indeed the father of his father's good friend and AA sponsor's baby. John Ritter. I liked him in this role. He did such a turnaround. He was so misguided, so confused, an alcoholic, a terrible father and husband, but his illness overcame him, his liver died, he got a new one, he almost died, and he was thankful for what he had, a wonderful son, a loving and loyal wife, and she shaved his beard for him, and he recovered and he became a loving father and husband. And I wonder if Scott Speedman, one 'Ben', is horribly distraught at the loss of the actor who played his father for so many episodes.

Speaking of, Mr Speedman is in two movies upcoming, or possibly already opened, and I am happy for him that he is finding a 'career', of sorts, in film. Yay, Scott!

I overeat when I cook. This is a problem. Why can't I just wrap it up and put it in the fridge? I want it now. I made some really good pasta - almost a whole pound of white 'shrooms, sauteed in butter and olive oil, cooked a long time actually, over high heat actually, which makes them almost meaty in texture, to which was added two chicken/artichoke heart/Kalamata olive sausages, and several portions of cut up sun dried tomato packed in oil (very concentrated amazing flavor), and some Cajun seasoning on top, only seasoning, aside from that huge clove of fresh garlic I sort of cubed, on account of I hate 'mincing'.

Angel hair added, and stirred, and wow. Yeah. Good. Flavorful, just as I like. And some Merlot. Not in the pasta, on the side.

But hey, get this, I'm on Michael Moore's e-mailing list, right? Right. And we know I'm also on the ACLU list, the NARAL list, the VoteNoWar, the VoteToImpeach, the MoveOn.org, the United For Peace & Justice (Google hits hootenanny!), and more I'm surely forgetting. But Michael sent out a letter last week, a letter he'd written to Wesley Clark asking him to run for President, right? Right? Ya with me? And he asks the readers of the letter to also write to General Clark, to ask him to run, and he includes the guy's email address, right? You follow? So, I, me, you guessed it, I write to General Clark too, tell him if Michael Moore is endorsing the guy, I am ALL FOR HIM too! So, run, please, we need a viable alternative to Bush, we need a Dem who can WIN, please, pretty please, but not in those words. No, it was a good solid letter, short and sweet, honest, genuine, etc.

Today (we can deduce because of MY letter), he announces he's gonna go for it!! And some schmo says he has no budget balancing experience, well look at BUSH, you fucking idiot!!!! Jesus. Hell, even I could do better! You should see my checkbook, baby, to the fucking penny!!! On my own, no help. I pay bills and rent and buy gas, and I do it all on my own. To the penny. I'm sure if General Clark can lead an army he can balance a budget, or hire some backup, um, er, as BUSH HAS!

Duh. Fucking duh.

Still, I'm losing interest in Dean. In fact, I've not yet put my faith in him. I've not yet backed him. I'm on his mailing list too (oh yeah, don't forget Howard Dean!), and I'm not convinced he's the best choice, he's simply NOT BUSH. But what if we had a real choice, someone with conviction, someone who believes in women's rights, and people's rights, and knows about foreign affairs, and how to wage peace, what then? Too good to be true. So, yeah, I'm excited!!!

And the Senate voted to overturn that FCC ruling! I don't know, but maybe things are going to turn around, you know? Maybe October 25th will be a day to remember in D.C., as millions march for peace, and maybe we won't need to march next April to protect a woman's right to choose, and maybe life can be beautiful, who knows?

(That reference is to a World Party song, circa 1983, something about "Life can be beautiful, some times..." - download it! - Oh, did I mention I got my Cafe Press - my new favorite online store! - shirt? It says, "When You Pirate MP3s, You're Downloading COMMUNISM" over an illustration of a young guy at his computer, face lit by the monitor, the Devil in a Russian Police uniform behind him, clawed paw on his shoulder. I love it!)

Today at work I trained someone from another department to do my job. Ostensibly in the name of 'cross training', but I don't think anyone really knows what's going on. She was chatty, and dished dirt for hours. I now know what happened with 'the new guy', how he was fired, and what was said, and I know what happened with all the people who've recently been fired, or walked out, and I know that our department is a far cry better than theirs. She is also a very fast learner, very intelligent, and she watches game shows, is sort of an addict. Her niece tapes them for her, the way some people tape soaps, yours truly included. She is intriguing, and her face reminds me of a baby gorilla.

It's not an isult, not at all, but she has very dark skin, very, and her eyes are close set, and her brows are heavy, and her nose is very broad, and her eyes light up when she talks, and I can't help but picture the baby gorillas in the lowland gorilla habitat at our Zoo. They come right to the glass of the viewing enclosure, where we look like caged beasts and they seem free, and they stare at us in wonder, or confoundment. Is that a word? That's her expression. That's how she looks. Like a little lowland gorilla.

She'll sit with me for two more days, and we'll talk "Guiding Light" (she's been watching it for years too!), and game shows, and gossip, and we'll psychoanalyze the management of our office, and we'll shake our heads and make 'tsk tsk' noises, and she'll listen to me on the phone as I help employees of the big Corporation, and she wants to come work with us.

I'm going to continue overeating now. Drink more wine. And watch "Big Brother 4", as it's not been on the air since last Wednesday. I can't bear to read the live feed updates online, they're spoilers I don't want to be spoiled by. Or to spoil it. For me.

The buzz is that General Wesley Clark will choose Hillary Clinton as a running mate. And I have to say, yes, I do, on that ticket... they'd have my vote. I might even contribute to their campaign. I might even volunteer locally. I might even go to the ballroom at the hotel, whichever one, as I did in '92, to watch the returns come in next November, if they do. Imagine. Imagine Yoko having her clothes cut from her body on stage in Paris, for peace. Pieces for peace. Go, Yoko!!!

I don't know, maybe there's hope, that's all I'm saying.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee