Monday, Sept. 16, 2002 / 8:08 p.m.

~I'm Going to See the Stones~

I did it. I'm 41 years old and I am going to see the even older Rolling Stones (Mick's 59!) in concert. On their 40th Anniversary Tour. How insane is that? I wasn't really into their music past the '70s, there were only a handful of songs I liked in the '80s, and now? They're legends, they're living legends. I just saw "Gimme Shelter" and "Let's Spend the Night Together" within the past few weeks, I've been listening to "Some Girls", "Steel Wheels" and "Get Yer Ya Ya's Out", and there may be some misspellings in there, but I am too shocked to correct them. I've just ordered my ticket online, through Ticketbastard. It's costing me $105 for the 'convenience', and to have it delivered to my mailbox.

It's all Andy's fault. It was peer pressure completely.

Okay, maybe not, maybe I've always been curious, maybe I feel it's my last chance. Maybe it will be FUN! I'll take my binoculars. It's not a bad seat, the view will be perfect, but I will be far away. Who knows? Who fucking knows??? I'm excited. And I can still do an ankle band tattoo, I can afford these things because I never get my car repaired anymore, I don't eat much, I don't spend money. I never buy clothes (except weird sweaters and night shirts online), in fact, I never buy anything except the occasional online something or other. Or the odd Farmers Market spree.

Of course, hockey season is on its way, and I was sorely tempted to get a Thrashers Opening Night game ticket too. I'm getting carried away.

I'm going to see the Rolling Stones. At Turner Field. In late October. I'll freeze. I'll wear a big sweater. I'll drink expensive beer, I'll buy a souvenir. Wow. Me, 41 years old, my first Stones concert.

When I was in high school I practically lived at our old arena, the Omni Coliseum. It's gone now, they imploded it and built the Philips Arena right over it. Every time I go there I think I'm still in the Omni even though it's not the same at all.

I saw Ted Nugent at the Omni, and Yes (several times), and CSN&Y, Neil Young and Crazy Horse, Jethro Tull (more than once), Robin Trower, Aerosmith, AC/DC (too loud!), Black Sabbath, Emerson Lake and Palmer (also more than once), Foreigner, Donovan, Van Halen, the Ramones, Moody Blues, The Cars, Pink Floyd, Grateful Dead (15 times!!), Deep Purple, Bruce Springsteen, the Monkees (sans Nesmith, in '86), many more.... not to mention, but I will anyway, Sonny and Cher, the Ringling Bros and Barnum & Bailey Circus, the Harlem Globetrotters, the Atlanta Flames, the Atlanta Knights, what else, what else, what else? I have a cigar box filled with ticket stubs, I'd have to look to remember (actually, in editing this, I have gone and looked - the Omni shows were only a fraction of the shows I went to in the '70s and '80s - whew!!!). I was often altered by various substances in the '70s, it's hard to remember.....

But Turner Field? I was there once, a few years ago, maybe two?, to see a Braves game. That's it. And once again, it is a structure built over another. It was the Fulton County Stadium, where I saw the Braves and the Falcons, Olympic baseball in '96, and one stadium show: Johnny and Edgar Winter, Blue Oyster Cult, and Kiss was the headliner, but we had to leave before they came on...... they imploded that too, now it's Turner Field, named for Ted himself.

I can't believe I'm doing this. Crazy. It's crazy.

Here's how fucked up my otherwise perfect memory is: I was just looking at my huge pile of old ticket stubs and I found one for Stevie Ray Vaughn, '88. I specifically remember saying, when I learned of his death, "I wish I could've seen him in concert...." Jesus! Was I that stoned? He died when? '91? In three years I forgot??? Holy moly fagioli.

Wow, little trip down memory lane here. So many shows, so many memories. Devo, B-52s, Doc Watson, Loudon Wainwright III, the Dead. I've lived, you know that? If I died right this minute, well, I'd hate to leave Norma and Gladys, but I've lived, I really have. I've been alive a long time.... but I've never seen the Stones, until now. Hey, Andy, thanks for prodding me, really. I hope you read this. It means a lot to me that you pushed me a bit. Usually all I need is a push.

I'd better go put these stubs away now, get them out at a later date. I'm not feeling too well, actually, I got a sore throat mid day today, I feel achy. I'm thinking it's just the change in weather, all the talking on the phone after a weekend of just me and the girls. I'll be okay, but I'm tired, etc.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee