Sunday, Oct. 19, 2003 / 8:01 p.m.

~The Best Moviegoing Experience Ever~

Oh dear, it's almost time for "Tarzan" and I haven't even begun to watch my "Guiding Light"s on tape. The person I share the tapes with at work is slacking off too. She was returning the viewed tapes with notes about the show, and I'd send her notes too (we're not allowed to stop and talk to each other, different departments, and that's just how it is for us peons), but lately I'm lucky if she even gives me the tape back by Friday. Turns out she has a lot of soaps she watches, and she told me she's been busy.

That's all neither here nor there. Wait a sec, I have on too many clothes...

A bit better now. I just got home, sort of, so I still had on socks, and the stupid bra I decided to wear, mostly because I was going to wear a light tshirt that kind of showed too much, not that I care, but I had to go to Wal Mart and didn't want men staring at my floppy bosoms.

I ended up wearing a different tshirt, and oh well, I can't seem to get to the point.

I went to Pet Smart, to get more Petromalt for the girls (anti-hairball stuff that they love, or Norman does especially, basically malt flavored petroleum jelly that I put in little globs on their paws and they lick it off), and auto feeders. BIG expense, but I did my research online, and I think I did the right thing. I had to get two, as there are two cats who need to be fed, and well we'll just have to see how they work. They're round containers with a lid that moves on a timer, and it reveals five openings, five per feeder. I knew N and G couldn't both eat from one opening at the same time, so I had to get two, and I have to hope they open at the same exact time, or close to it. This will be a challenge.

Major expense, did I say that? Why should they cost so much? I actually used my credit card, and I didn't want to spend so much, but I was also prepared to do just that. I knew I might end up getting two, but finding them in the store saved me shipping and handling from shopping online, and I have the week to experiment before I leave them set up on Friday.

Then to Wal Mart, and I got more Guac Lay's, which I think aren't as good as the Doritos, but they're good still, and more of the albacore tuna in the pouch. Oh, I highly recommend, god it's good. Easy for lunch, just pop a pouch, mix in bowl with the mayo and whatever else (try the capers and lemon/herb seasoning!), spread on bread, couldn't be tastier or easier. And healthy, yes? I think I bought more stuff, but Wal Mart is a blur.

It was crowded and people were sort of everywhere, and there was so much stuff to buy, stuff everywhere, but I stuck to my list, and noticed all the items they're not restocking. They suck at that. I'll buy something, go back three weeks later, and it's still like I left it, I bought the last one. What's up with that? I should say something. Or not.

They can't be counted upon, really.

Oh, and before the showering, the leaving the abode, the remarking on the beautiful day, the shopping extravaganza, I sat at this PC again, inserted the Kodak photo CD I was so excited I could insert and play, or run, and it told me I had large fonts and had to change, so I did, and restarted, and all my fonts were screwy, all my Windows 'appearance' settings changed, and I hadn't saved the 'scheme' and I was fucked and had to try to recreate what I had, and kept restarting, and changing the fonts, and the CD wouldn't function properly anyway, and I just need to budget in a scanner, seeing as how I'm spending more money lately on things, just forget the Kokak picture disks and CDS, just scan like the rest of the world.

But, so that was really frustrating, and the CD sort of crashed my PC, and I sort of panicked, after the joy experienced last night when I 'fixed' everything, so I put the fonts back as I had them, 119%, neither 'small' nor 'large', and I think I might have it how I like it now. But then the Incredimail dog notifier is suddenly at the bottom of the screen, and you know, you fuck with one little thing and everything else changes here in the land of 1998 Windows.

Then, then, then, yes, after consuming one little bag of Lay's Guac chips, I went to my favorite little (well, not so little really) single screen arthouse theatre and saw "The Station Agent", which was so very good. And they only showed two trailers, which was amazingly good, and no commercials, and no one talked during the film, and no one sat behind me and kicked my chair, and no one sat in front of me so I couldn't see, and we all laughed at the same parts, and were quiet when it was introspective and beautiful, and I think we all left humming or whistling, aloud or inside our heads, the closing credits music, played primarily on a 'bowed saw'. It was so good.

I left so happy.

And I walked back to my car, along the major well known road, the one that's seen so many changes, noticing a new building going up across the street, next to a really old apartment building, past the outdoor fountain at the pizza place next door, and it was a beautiful night, just beautiful.

Now I'm home, I need to cook up some eggs, finish my shiitakes, add some green onions, and maybe some cut up smoked gouda. Watch my "Tarzan", which I mentioned is actually quite good. And maybe some "GL"s. See if I can get these auto 'cat feeders' to work. The PC settings seem better too, the font is not so teeny I can't see it, and the taskbar looks normal again.

Must write on list: Scanner.

Nice weekend, just really nice.

P.S. The ticket seller, the one inside behind the window with the hole cut out, asked me if my name is 'Beth'. I said, "No". Should I have said more? I sounded just like the guy in the movie, he answers most questions with one word only. Did I mention it was SUCH a good movie?

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee