Tuesday, Jul. 29, 2003 / 11:06 p.m.

~The Very Latest in Reality TV, Meetings at Work, and I'm Off to the Pen!

So very much to write about, I think I'll work my way backwards. The Queers show was superb just now, not as funny as the last one, but more poignant and suspenseful with the marriage proposal factor thrown in. What I love most, perhaps, aside from the humor, is that the straight men are so amazingly appreciative, and tonight's straight man in particular, an unusually sensitive 'urban cowboy', was so appreciative he cried. How much better than that can it be? I'm not sure I'd let the Fab Five into my home to smell my dirty underwear and check for stains on my mattress, but I love watching them do it to someone else.

When the beautiful girlfriend said Yes, I gasped and laughed and whoo hooed, along with the queers. Too good.

The new gay dating show is good too, but not as good, not that anything could match the Queers show (not sure I want to name it specifically anymore, as it's drawing a bit of attention from Interweb searchers). I hate that they threw in a posse of straight boys who are out for cash. I think it's just wrong. Why did they have to inject that element of nastiness? The leading man in question seems so sincere and sweet, and I think he is really going to be hurt by this experience. I feel protective. Really though, why couldn't they just have a regular 'Bachelor/Bachelorette' type show, without a cash prize, only a prize of utmost romance and happiness/love, between all gay men? Why the deception, one that's not sleazy and fun, but plain mean? I'm not sure how I'm going to like it, but I'll probably keep watching to find out.

"BB4" is getting good, plenty of backstabbing and alliances gone bad, and little focusing on the presence of cameras and mics. It sometimes honestly seems that this crowd has forgotten they're on TV. The challenges are fun (yes, if you don't wear your goggles, you will risk a black eye!), the structure is good, the three nights a week, each night a different focus, yeah, all of it is really good, and as always, I would NEVER be in that house. You couldn't pay me any amount to do what they're doing.

Which is why it's fun.

I read an article in EW today, granted, an EW from two weeks ago, but still, about a 'reality show' that sucks, the "Paradise Hotel" show, and why it sucks, and I admit I watched it the first night, but that was it, but it was interesting to read the reasons given. I have my own, and they are the same. Reality TV (to which I happen to have created a diary ring dedicated) has to have a hook, there has to be a prize, or an outcome we're looking for, or a compelling purpose for it to exist. Even "Temptation Island" had a plan. But the hotel show is just about forcing people to 'hook up', no prizes, no money, no purpose at all. No fun either.

Going backwards even farther... I turned Jane on to Kava Kava today, took my bottle in after lunch because she's about to embark on her week of cramps from hell. I broke it out after she had a particularly nasty phone call, the kind where you have to get up and walk away, and she took one capsule, then later another, and by the end of the day she was really loose. It was funny really, especially the part after she swallowed the first one, when I said, "Are you getting off yet? Are you tripping?", and the ever popular finger waggling and, "Are you seeing trails? How many fingers?". Surely she has no idea of my own drug addled youth, but I have a feeling she's done more than drink a few Long Island Iced Teas - she was a bartender, so that's natural, but she seems up for just about anything. Fun times.

And further back... We had meetings today, about what took place yesterday, and I have to admit here that I had my horoscope from Cainer's site in mind. Some guest astrologer was telling me I would be in the midst of an awkward situation, thinking there was no way out, but I would have success with it, and a favorable outcome. So I kept thinking about my Manager (M)'s poor managing skills, her berating of Penelope in front of us all yesterday, and wondering if I'd have the balls to do anything about it. Penelope beat me to it, talking to (M) herself - Yay!

And I got called in, as I had encouraged P not to take (M)'s shit. I told (M) I was embarrassed for P, I thought it was unprofessional the way she spoke to her, we've been bombarded by work lately, it's been really hard on all of us, and to call one person out like that, and ask why she's so slow was just wrong, etc., etc., and etc. Of course she got really loud, (M) did, as she does when she's trying to be officious, sitting behind her desk. She should realize that a softer tone is more powerful. Making people strain to listen is more effective, every time. But no. And she was defensive, as always.

She denied the importance of the points I brought up, the reasons why things are the way they are in our department, I, so tactful for a change, not even coming close to naming names, but pointing out the phones situation, the fact that 'certain people' take personal calls and don't answer their business phones while the rest of us break our asses and fall behind, etc. Oh no, she doesn't care, she knows what goes on (unh huh), she just wants the work to get done.

Blah, blah, I defended P right and left, and was actually dismissed, the idiot Supervisor from (M)'s other department a witness in the little office the entire time. Grrrr....

So, later, foregoing my backwards momentum for a bit here, (M) had a meeting with the whole 'team', and addressed all our issues. Hah! She didn't want to admit I was right about any of it, but as soon as I left and she questioned P some more, and had time to collect herself, she prepared and held her own meeting acting as if they were all her ideas. Typical.

Funniest moment was when (M) said we should all be 'available' on our phones when we're at our desks, all day, no excuses, personal calls or not, but she doesn't care if one person takes more calls than everybody else (hell, I care!), and Kukla said, "That's what we're here for"! And SHE's the one who doesn't answer her phone. Love it. Oh yeah, (M) says privately, and in front of the team, "I know you all think I treat Kukla differently, but I treat you all the same", and I had to turn my head so I could do a complete and very large eye roll.

Back farther... one of last night's big local news stories involved the sex supply store I wrote about a day or two ago - I wrote how I loved their sign out front that read, "Legalize Freedom". Okay, well, short background is this, I live and work in one of the most conservative city/suburbs outside a major city in the entire USA, one that is rather infamous, and no more so than amongst the snooty activist/democrat/liberal intowners, but it's affordable, and I earn a meager wage comparatively, so there you go. I live here, I work here, I actually work in the heart, so to speak, near a large southern landmark, a ridiculous monstrosity of sorts, near a familiy recreation area, etc. (could I be any more evasive?). So, this sex supply shop opens on the main drag, across from the Chinese restaurant that's been shut down as long as I can remember, but still stands, the pawn shop, no, wait, two pawn shops, this landmark, the recreation area, my office park. Closed shops, fast food restaurants, blight in the midst of prosperity, a Mexican trailer park, a chicken abbatoir, you get the picture.

It's wholly appropriate, but I canNOT believe it opens, right? Well, a judge ordered its doors locked yesterday. A giant padlock and chain included. On account of sex supplies/videos are obscene. Let's all forget that if it weren't for sex none of us would be here, but this is the South, with capital B for Bible Belt, and this is how it goes.

So, Q told me she saw the cover of the local paper today, the conservative city/suburb of the large metro area/city paper, and it was Bob Hope dies on one side, and sex supply shop shut down on the other, front page. I HAD to go buy a copy, and there it sits. I loved the juxtaposition. I think Bob might approve actually.

I read yesterday that Bob's wife Dolores asked him one time where he wanted to be buried and he replied, "Surprise me".

It's illegal to sell or possess dildos/vibrators, etc. in this state too. Every so often the cops will go to one of these shops that sells what the people crave, and come out with a large tub, or dumpster, or buckets, or trash cans, filled with big dildos, and it makes the news.

Legalize freedom, man.

I've got to take a shower before I hit the hay, I washed my sheets tonight. I guess that's it anyway...

Wait, from the article in the small paper about the ruling against the store: "Irreparable injury will occur to the public if this illegal activity is not stopped at once... The 'adult' items admitted at trial, both the DVDs, VHS and adult 'toys' are obscene under (___ law) and the display, distribution and sale of such items is illegal and a crime as a matter of law."

Told ya.

I wonder what she (the County Superior Court judge) would think of the Xandria Collection 2003 Summer Sale catalog I got in the mail today (the irony!!!). Hmmm... the Jack Rabbit, hot pink jelly vibrating dildo with clitoral stimulator (vibrating bunny ears!) is on sale for $29.95! Maybe they'll raid my apartment. Get me for all my MP3 files I've been sharing online too. And my large cache of antiwar political propaganda. It's only a matter of time before I move to the women's penitentiary. Whee!

Almost forgot to go back all the way to the beginning: This morning I dreamed I was late for work and I was trying to call in to say I'd be late, but the phone was set to ring at someone's home, some stranger, and every time I picked it up to dial out, it would ring this person's home and I kept apologizing, but she was getting annoyed, this person, and I was stuck, and it was getting later and later, and I was at my father's house, not my apartment at all, I was at the house where I spent some formative years, living with my mother, then my father, and in the dream it was in a state of disrepair, and disarray, as always in my dreams. I want to exorcise this house from my subconcious mind. It was very disturbing, and no doubt a direct result of eating Chinese potstickers with dipping sauce right before bed. PMS cravings are a bitch.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee