Thursday, Jul. 04, 2002 / 3:44 p.m.

~I Remember Being With Her/A Day Off~

I'm listening to Harry Nilsson's "All Time Greatest Hits", and as "Jump Into the Fire" started I realized I have few memories of hanging out with my sister, but one time we were riding in her new car, a 1972 Ford Pinto hatchback, blue, and that song came on the radio. She was going to teach me to drive one day. Another time, could've been the same day, we were on a beautiful road, two lanes, very hilly, tall trees on either side, listening to America singing "A Horse With No Name". Of course we were silent, or singing along to that beautiful song.

I guess it's nice my memories of being with her are associated with memories of hearing specific songs. Music. Her. Me. Together. When was that? How long before she was murdered?

No matter.

I had a marathon sleep. Surely I awoke at the same time as every day, then went back to sleep, then most assuredly awoke again, later, often, dreaming, waking, tossing, turning, after the initial realization that there was no pressing need to get up at all, and finally, at 2:45 p.m. I got up to set the VCR to tape today's "Guiding Light". Now the bed is made, Gladys sleeps on a pile of clean underwear, Norma follows me room to room, "Play With Me!!!", Harry Nilsson sings "Me and My Arrow" in the living room. I have coffee breath and want to clean my teeth. My face is greasy from sleeping, I'm tired from sleeping, Gladys has entered to rub against my legs, and I am closer to unplugging this PC and plugging in the new used one.

Closer.

What did I dream? I had too many, it's a blur. Later they will sort themselves out and I'll be surprised.

Roadiepig, I'm sorry I went off in your guestbook, but I hate what the people who came to this country did to the people who were already here. I hate this country, in a way, really hate. Why do we think we're so fucking great? I wish you could read our free weekly - there's a great article in there this week comparing things Ashcroft has said to quotes from our Founding Fathers. It's amazing how he would like to reverse it all. And he just may, he has that power, you know?

Yes, help me leave and I just might. Fucking USA. No, I won't exactly be going around waving a flag today, and if I went to see a fireworks display it would be because I love the pyrotechnics! But I'm staying right here, cozy in air conditioning, new PC on the floor waiting, cat hair waiting to be vacuumed, TV to be watched, music to be listened to, books to be read. I don't care what day it is, all I know is I didn't have to get up and go to work, I got to sleep all fucking day and that is the best there is.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee