Monday, Oct. 06, 2003 / 1:41 p.m.

~Not Even After a Queer Eye Makeover~

I admit I have a tendency to fixate. Upon anything, really. Today it's everything. Every thought seems exaggerated or magnified. Like some sort of obsessive compulsive stream of consciousness train of thought, but the train is stalled on the tracks.

I had to stay up to the end of the "Trading Spaces" $100,000 extravaganza last night, the encore showing, and this means I stayed up until 2:00 a.m. Thusly, today I am punchy loopy tired and very needy for conversation. I feel sort of supremely lonely and lost and everything is affecting me more than it should. Example, the images in the lengthy trailer for "The Cremaster Cycle" yesterday. It was yesterday, it should be gone by now, but those disturbing visuals sort of hit me hard today, this morning, once at work, just popped back in my head. I had to look up the number for the theatre and call to complain.

The manager of the theatre was very nice, very film-y, very artsy-fartsy and knowledgeable, and we had a nice chat. She said the movie I was there to see, "Lost in Translation" is rated 'R', and the trailer which disturbed is also rated 'R', so there were no guidelines violated. And I told her how the images stuck, like "Un Chien Andalou", to which it is being compared, said film, and how I saw "Irreversible", and I can usually watch disturbing stuff, but I've already read about this film and made the decision not to see it, and now I feel as though I have. So she tells me she saw "Irreversible" at Telluride, and about a third of the audience of 300 walked out during it, and we sort of bonded there on the phone. She says the trailer for Cremaster is about 3 minutes long, the longest they've shown, she thinks, and I say she may get more complaints, and she says on the contrary, most people are asking what the hell it is, and when can they see it. There is excitement for this film's release. Bah!

It's images set to music, people in costume, as some sort of grotesque people/animals, or creatures, with bloody mouths, and bizarre genitalia, and they may simply be sitting, or moving slowly, but they're contorted, and moving their mouths, their bloody mouths, and one scene shows a man holding a gun to another man's head, face down in a shower stall, and he pulls the trigger, and later we see the aftermath, in closeup. The camera lingers, the music plays, gentle, orchestral, and white powdered faces with bloody mouths, and ears in odd places contort and make faces or simply walk in slow circles.

I can't explain it any further, but yes, like razor to eyeball in "�Andalou", it was a bit much for my cerebral cortex, or my delicate sensibilities.

Upshot is she's going to check with the marketer, see if they can pull it - so she says. She also says with the opening of "Demonlover" they are running a disclaimer. I said the trailer might be better received before that film, but possibly we disagreed on that. I said "Lost in Translation" was almost comedic, not telling her how hard I laughed watching Bill Murray on that exercise machine, and that it just seemed so inappropriate to see that trailer before it.

Ah well, I tried. And I did tell her how happy I am that this particular theatre has recently opened under the new management company, and is now an 'arthouse cinema'. Yeah, fucking $8 for a 4:00 Sunday showing. With added grotesquerie for free.

I also called Frito Lay last week to complain about their new Stax chips, and I got two coupons for any Frito Lay products in the mail already. Plus one for 55 cents off.

In other news� I'm one of the few who sat and watched the premiere of "Tarzan" on the DoubleYewBee. What is up with Travis Fimmel's eyes? They're too small. And since when did Tarzan become a 'leap tall buildings in a single bound' kind of superhero? It's just weird. And for him to fall madly in love with Jane, upon first sight, also weird. And the guy that plays Jane's detective boyfriend, where, oh where, have I seen him before???

More other news� I ate one of the Home Bistro entrees last night, the Blackened Chicken on Spinach Fettucine with Champagne Cream Sauce and mixed vegetables. Should all of that have been capitalized? I'm in kind of a hurry here. But it was super good. Yeah, I wish I could order all my meals online from Home Bistro. Check them out.

Last other news, for now� We're not too sure whether or not our new Site Manager is gay, not that there would be anything wrong with that, but yeah, see, I have this kind of sort of crush thing on him, and we're just not sure, we being Jane, Q and I. So, today he stops by and is all super friendly and everything, asks about our weekends, and leans in to see my pics of N and G again, as he loves cats, don't ya know, and I tell him my weekend was like super good, and he's all sincerely like, hey, I'm so glad your weekend was super good, because last weekend people didn't have a super good weekend, but this weekend seems to have been super good, or something like that. And Jane asks what he did, or I do, and he says he cleaned, he vacuumed his blinds and baseboards.

Okay, NO straight man does that. Even after a Queer Eye makeover.

And Q pries and pries, and he's going from cube to cube talking to us, and she gets out of him that he lives alone, has no children, has never been married, used to say he's too busy, now just says he hasn't met the right woman (yeah, he's gay!), and he has a four bedroom house.

Dude is SO gay.

But I still am not sure. How weird is that? I think I want to be the 'right woman', and I want to move into his four bedroom house, and I want him to vacuum, while wearing boxer briefs and nothing else. And he should cook us dinner too, and wash dishes after.

I want him to be my man-slave.

Or I just want to hang out with him, talk, see a movie, rag on horrid movie trailers we feel forced to see.

And why, oh why, oh why, must trailers last so damned long?! Like a solid half hour.

But hey, I plastered my first Bush Lies sticker in the theatre's bathroom, in one of the stalls. I felt so radical and good. As soon as you sit on that toilet you'll see it there on the door.

I think I had more to say, but I started this in Word at work, and now I'm home at lunch, and I have to take out the trash on my way back to work, so I gotta run.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee