Wednesday, Jan. 30, 2002 / 11:47 a.m.

~It Doesn�t Get Any Better Than This~

I pulled some of it from the bathroom trashcan this morning, still wet and cold, stretched it out to measure. Between 7 and 8 inches, roughly, measured on my little ruler I got at the Zoo. The ruler that�s not a full 12 inches, cuz I guess kids don�t need to measure any more than 8 or 9�it has a little lemur on it, a little plastic lemur that climbs up and down if you lift the ruler, turn it upside down. Norma looked at it like it was especially fascinating, she had this slightly open mouth expression as she sat on the vanity, looking, What is that? That is so fascinating, she seemed to be thinking before I put it away.

And should it just be sitting there in the trashcan like that? Look at it. Shouldn�t I keep it or something? Couldn�t someone find it and use it for voodoo incantations? Wiccan rituals? I think one time I came home and it was out of the trashcan, one other time, Gladys had pulled it out and carried it to the floor. She must�ve smelled me.

I cut my hair.

The underneath part, in back, is very straight amidst all the curls, so from behind it looks like I missed a chunk. It looks like I was sloppy, but I wasn�t. I got up this morning and cut some more, because I don�t want people talking behind my back (�She cut it herself, you know, and did you see that big chunk in back that she missed?� �Oh yes, she is such a loser, you know�), because that�s the only way people do talk these days, behind my back.

So, I�m wearing it pulled back. And it�s still long enough to pull back in a ponytail. I insisted on that. �Hey, me, when you�re/I�m cutting�make sure you leave it long enough for a ponytail, okay? No bangs yet, they�re too iffy��. I listened to me. Did it just how I wanted. And if you leave it a little longer than you thought you would, you can always take off more later. See? Smart, huh?

D., the Supervisor, said, �You�re quiet this week�. I said, �Just reading�.

I�m finally on this week�s Entertainment Weekly, and thank goodness it is a double issue. Whew. It feels soooooo good to be caught up. And my head is positively swimming with entertainment news. Go ahead, ask me something, I just might know. I am �in the loop�. Books, music, movies, video, DVD, television, I am in the know. Whoo, and hoo too.

Last night�s �Gilmore Girls� was really good, but ultimately very sad. Richard, Lorelai�s dad, totally reminded me of my father after he retired. It�s hard for men of that generation, bred to work, to provide, to suddenly lose their �purpose�. They feel rejected, dejected, sort of miserable. I felt so sorry for him at the end, sitting alone in his study, his wife not wanting him around, his daughter asking him to stay out of her life, his granddaughter not needing him�sad. But so well written!

And �24� wasn�t on. There was some goofy little guy with a permanent crooked smile, and a Texas twang, on instead, standing on a podium, talking to a whole room full of people, lots of cheering, standing, sitting, cheering. I didn�t get it, decided not to watch.

�Real World� was sort of boring. Tanya has clearly gone home because she is homesick, and if she really had this �pre-existing medical condition�, this �kidney infection� thing, shouldn�t the �Real World� staffers have found out, precluded her from being on the show? It�s like those singles on �Temptation Island 2� who decide they�ve had enough, they don�t want to do it anymore, they want to leave�isn�t it in their contracts that they stay??? Huh. Makes you think, eh?

Oh, but here, my new favorite TV show��A Cook�s Tour� on Food Network. Anthony Bourdain is so fucking amazing! God, I love him, I mean I love who he is, like Moby. But Bourdain is happily married, thank you. So I won�t get all dreamy about him like I do about Moby. Still, usually I watch �A Cook�s Tour� repeated on Saturday nights at 11:00, but the original run time/date is Tuesdays at 10:30.

Last night it was France, the coast where Anthony and his family spent summers. His father was French. I find it a puzzle that he pronounces his family name, �Boordane�, when, as I see it, spelled �Bourdain�, it would be pronounced, �Bourdahn�, sort of �Bourdan�, but with some nasal twangy stuff at the end. He has this English pronunciation for it�I don�t know. Anyway, so he meets up with his brother and they go to all their old haunts on this French coastline, old haunts from when they were little kids. It was really interesting, especially the way he seemed to get along with his brother. And his brother speaks really good French � I loved watching them go into these little coastal brasseries, boulangeries, etc., and order food�mmm�made me want to go there.

Made me wish I liked my brother.

It�s a great show, I can�t do it justice, here, now, I don�t want to try, but I�ll just say yeah, it�s great, especially if you love food, cooking, chefs, travel, exotic locales, etc., etc. If only it were an hour long instead of just a half hour�

This morning the fog was so thick it was hard to see, really, it was what you call �dense fog�. I see the sun coming out now, (cue �Here Comes the Sun�, and remember fondly Mr. George Harrison) and it�s supposed to be warm again, unnaturally, unseasonably, strangely and wrongly warm. I�ll enjoy it, surely. Yesterday, at lunch, Norma, Gladys and I sat on the porch...Normie really enjoyed the hot sun on her coat. She had this blissful expression on her face while she sat, upright, soaking up every ounce of the sun�s rays. I patted her little head and she looked at me with this expression that said, �It doesn�t get any better than this�.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee