Tuesday, Apr. 08, 2003 / 1:35 p.m.

~I Work For Idiots~

This is the latest: We have a policy stating all authorizing signatures (for release of salary information) must be from within the past 30 days. Must be. So, Jeff altered his official 'missing/incomplete' document to include a phrase stating just that. No one looks at what we send out, only two pages of each document processed. I changed mine as well. It looked neater, cleaner, than scribbling the policy in the 'comments' section.

Oh, now there's hell to pay, oh no, we've committed a GRAVE sin, one must scribble in the comments section, the policy must NOT be typed upon the document, the document must NOT be altered in any way! Oh god, we shall goeth straight to HELL for our sin! Fine, sure, whatever, we'll scribble.

Suddenly every outgoing document is examined, and rewritten to appear as they once did, a long time ago, when first implemented, when first written, typos and all.

Oh yeah. Typos. So, I point out the major typo: it should be 'verification request' or 'request for verifcation', not 'VERIFICATION OF REQUEST'. The latter doesn't even make sense. "This is what we've used for over 5 years now and it's what the COMPANY wants us to use, so we are going to use it", "But, it doesn't make sense, the 'of' needs to be removed, at least, it's improperly worded, it's a typo", "We've been sending out these forms for years now and no one's ever said anything", "Well, I corrected mine years ago, I've been using a corrected version", "Well, you're the only one who corrected it, everyone else is using it as it is now, and that's how it's going to stay."

So, instead of appreciating the fact that I'm on top of things, that I actually READ the documents we send out, and that I take time to edit and proofread, is not only unappreciated, it's forbidden!

This is where I work.

I'm home for lunch right now, and too pissed to eat. I found a job listing at monster.com, for customer service for a school supplies company, sounded kind of interesting, a lateral move, but something I could do, but it's in East Bumfuck and I'm not going to attempt the commute in my soon to be 20 year old car. Fuck. I've GOT to get out of my job. I mean it, I must stop falling into complacency, happy when I'm not being chastised for trying to IMPROVE the quality of our work, I must give up and get the fuck out. I work for IDIOTS.

That dialogue above was with my MANAGER. Lovely.

I want to go over her head, talk to the Site Manager, but then I'd catch shit on the way back down. Still, perhaps I should? No one ever audits my manager, no one reviews her behavior or management skills..... I'll most likely do nothing.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee