Wednesday, Jul. 16, 2003 / 1:24 p.m.

~Nothing Really, Just Killing Time~

(Okay, this entry is really boring, but I somehow don't feel like I want not to post it, I mean I wrote it earlier, and it's a moment in my life, but now I'm home at lunch, and it's hotter than hell outside, and I'm eating a Cajun Turkey sandwich, and Veronica showed up for work after her doctor's appointment, so it won't be nice and quiet at work after all, and well, things are just different now than they were when I wrote the following)

This is a bit of weirdness, or odd coincidence, or something a little strange: the other day I clicked on my random entry link and read about a day a couple years ago when two strangers asked for help at an ATM, how peculiar it was they trusted me with their money, and how foolish they were to do so, but then again, they couldn't have picked a better person, unless they asked a nun or a priest or a cop. Maybe. This morning I was thinking about when I went to Area:One, wondering when it was exactly, thinking about the origin of my Moby fixation, and how it came about at the same time as my Jeff Buckley fixation, or on the tails thereof, and I opened my paper journal from that year, 2001, read what happened on this very date, July 16, and it was that same day I ran into those two Hispanic women at the ATM. What are the chances? Of course it wasn't all fleshed out like in my diary here, it was just the overall documentation of that day, no details, but I'd just read those the other day.

I'm in the cube, 9:30 a.m., listening to "Grace", trying to tune everyone out, as some days I'm just not in the mood to listen to these people again. It's so hard to be here 40 hours a week. We all have our good days and our bad, but to do it every single day, five days a week, is so very taxing. Thankfully, Veronica is out, so I don't have to listen to her all day - she is so loud it's unbelievable. But this means we'll have extra work without her here to help out. I don't know that I woke up on any wrong or right side of my bed, but I woke up really tired, and not much has changed, even post coffee. I just need to tune out for an hour or so, then hopefully I'll be okay.

Last night's "Queer Eye For the Straight Guy" was great! My new favorite show, I think. I wrote in my blog that it's like a combination of "Extreme Makeover", "Trading Spaces", "While You Were Out" and "Boys in the Band", and I think that's about right. So funny, so poignant, so educational (last night we learned the proper way to shave a man's face), so right about time. It's not just that Hispanics and Asians are not adequately represented on television, what about the Gay population? With a capital G? Not that this show is the ultimate representation, not at all, but it's a step forward. I remember a show on Showtime in the early to mid '80s, something called "Brothers", I think, that was about gay men, and it seemed quite realistic, covered a lot of bases, but there's been nothing like it since, and "Will and Grace" wouldn't be on if Grace weren't involved. There would never be a show, "Will and Jack", and we all know it. Even Ellen's show bombed once it became more about gay Ellen, than funny Ellen. Even though we all knew she was gay all along. At least she has movies and standup. And her standup shows rule! She makes me laugh more than any other comedian.

Which reminds me, I'm looking forward to Bill Maher's new standup special - I'm really curious to hear his new material.

I've got nothing right now. I'm not sure why I'm writing. My fingernails are too long so it kind of hurts the way I'm having to hit the keys, and this keyboard at work is old and 'sticky', the keys require a lot of pressure, like a manual typewriter, almost, and I'm tired, and cranky, and borderline low. I guess I just couldn't see reading EW this early in the morning, so I chose to write instead. Bad idea. And maybe listening to Jeff Buckley singing "Hallelujah" is not such a good idea either. Wasn't this song in "Shrek"? And wasn't that when Lilly, at her first movie ever in a theatre, said, "This is sad", and I thought, How does she know what sad is, at 2 years old, and how can she tell, is it Shrek's expression, or the song?

They're showing John Waters films there tomorrow night, where we saw "Shrek", where I saw "The Wizard of Oz" Monday night, the Fabulous Fox Theatre, but I'm not sure I want to see "Polyester". Ah well, I'll move along now.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee