Saturday, Apr. 05, 2003 / 12:43 p.m.

~Laundry List~

Temptation is to go out and buy a new computer. And then sign on for DSL through my phone company. I hate that I can't just click on all the links at Antiwar.com and read. Grrrr.... it's killing me. It must've taken three minutes just to load their main page, another two to three to load the editorial by the guy who says we must continue to protest, but never really says what good it will do.

There's a march/vigil at 5:00 today. I saw the time and said, Oh, sure, whew, a march I can actually GO to! 5:00 is great! But now I'm thinking logistics, where do I park, how far will I have to walk to get back to my car, or to get there from my car? I can handle the rain, especially since it's no longer raining, but it really needs to rain, a LOT, to clear all the pollen away, at least until the next batch falls.

But then I really have to go get my emissions test. Blech! I'm so afraid my poor 19 year old car will not pass. And then what? It's off to a mechanic I go. And then I won't have my tag, but then again it won't matter unless I get pulled over, which I haven't since I was about 19, but then again, I have to pay a late fee for my tag if I'm past my birthday, but then again, I will be past my birthday when I make it to the tax office on Monday on my lunch break anyway. Assuming I get my emissions certificate, and etc., etc., etc.

Point is I have to go drive around for a while to clear the exhaust. Thinking out loud here, on the keyboard, thinking on the keyboard.

I love to watch Norm sleep. I was watching her a minute ago, the old girl, and I said, "Hey, are you asleep?", no answer, "You asleep?", no answer, "Psssst! You asleep?!", and she said, "What?! I'm trying to sleep!!", and she stretched and yawned a few times, and I checked out her teeth and thought they look pretty good considering she's only had them cleaned once in her life, and the anesthetic took like two days to wear off and I said, I'll never do that again.

Glad has never had hers cleaned.

Am I a bad 'cat owner'? I hate to think of them as objects I own.

Right. Emissions. Cat food at Pet Smart, look at the cute men with their cute dogs at Pet Smart, impulsively buy cat toys at Pet Smart. Drive around looking at wet flowers and puddles of pollen on the side of the road. Emissions at the Mexican guy's place, the place in the Mexican trailer park, I can do that. What if he's not open today? Why do I care if he's Mexican? He spoke enough English last time. Of course he also kept reverting to Spanish, which was funny, because I understood him, and because he didn't realize he was doing it, or that I understood.

Or Texaco? There's that one, in the old part of the little Suburban hamlet on whose outskirts I live. And I wanted to go see "City of God", but dammit if it isn't gone already. Fuck. Maybe "Talk to Her"? Is there time to do that and then go march and vigilize? Oh, I could get the cat food and drive around, get the inspection, then go see movie, then march, then vigilize, then get Thai food, then come home and watch the "Iron Chef" battle between the Iron Chefs....

Which reminds me, "A Cook's Tour" last night was one I hadn't seen. And of course I never finished the book. Ever since I became permanently 5 or 6 issues behind in my EW 'scrip I've started books and set them down out of guilt. But yeah, he was in Australia, and he did this whole "Mad Max" takeoff, with the dog and the car and everything. Bourdain is so fucking cool. He apologized to his wife, Nancy, when he ate the kangaroo in the outback.

Speaking of attractive men who I'd prefer were single, did you hear that Scott Foley and Jennifer Garner are splitting up? Do you think she is on the verge of stealing Ben Affleck away from Jennifer Lopez? They're both Jennifers, maybe he forgot who was whom? Garner's got those broad shoulders and that bizarre bone structure. She's all angles and Lopez is all curves. Hmmm...

Good god I'm killing time. It all started because I realized I'd really shut out the whole WAR thing. I'd gone into overdrive, was obsessed with being 'informed', but this computer just can't hack it. Okay, how's this? Shower, don't wash hair, save that for later, or not, cat food, bookstore for computer books, no, that will take too long, okay, cat food, drive, drive, emissions, oh, gas first, then the rest. Then "Talk To Her", then march, vigilize, Thai, "Iron Chef"??

I'm now proofreading and logging off. No, really.

P.S. I love 'control + z'.

P.P.S. Look at the Iraq Body Count!!! Wow! I actually went and looked at their stats the other day, yesterday, at work (on the T1 connection), and it's horrible, I mean, why isn't the TV media showing us the death??!!!!???!!!

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee