Thursday, Jun. 26, 2003 / 1:20 p.m.

~Lesbian Techno in the A.M.~

Ignorant is one thing, but loud and ignorant is another thing entirely. Sometimes I'm truly afraid it will rub off on me, that I'll start saying 'don't' instead of 'doesn't' and 'aks' instead of 'ask', so I bury my head in words, real English words. I try never to lose touch with what the language actually is, then I can play from there.

Reason to consider vegetarianism No. 599: I saw a chicken truck on the highway on my way to work and I raced to pass it, knowing how miserable it can be to drive behind one, to look at those chickens all crammed into their crates, and smell the smell, and have the feathers fly in my windows, and there, there on top of the crates, on top of the truck, there was an escapee, and I don't know how they do that, escape, they must not be put in correctly, but there it was, hanging on by a foot caught in an opening, wings flapping, suffering, just suffering all the way up the Interstate. I covered my eyes, I shielded them, I had to see to drive, but I didn't want to see that. I like eating chicken just fine, but I could live without it.

My objection is to animals as 'food product', to 'factory farming', not necessarily to eating animals. And I was thinking that I don't much see the distinction between snapping a chicken's neck and pulling an apple from a tree. They're both alive one minute, dead the next. If you really don't want to kill anything, don't eat. Oh, what was that movie where that flaky woman was saying she was part of a group of people who only eat food that's already dead? Like fruit fallen from trees, lying on the ground� and she had a name for it� ah well, I forget.

On another note entirely, loved the surfer show last night! Waves are SO beautiful. And watching an expert, in tune with them, ride them, twisting and turning and staying on his board, is like watching a magic trick, or a beautiful sunset, or a gymnast execute a perfect 10.

Heavy, heavy dreams this morning, the kind that leave me exhausted. I awoke from one thinking I'd actually been there, it seemed so 'real'. I was busy, I was here and there, with other people, doing things, talking to people, I was someplace else, and it was tiring to come back from it. Felt like I didn't sleep at all, I simply went to a different reality, and lived there for a while.

I'm wearing my hair like I wore it in college, and when Q saw it, first thing, she was aghast, she loves my hair, she was awed, she said now I really look Chinese - I don't see that, the Chinese thing, maybe she hasn't seen a lot of Chinese people and their hair - but I told her I wore my hair like this throughout college, and that now I see male bikers wearing their hair like this, it's become quite common (but I'd swear I started it, circa 1979). Anyway, my point is, I like saying, '�when I was in college'. Just because I don't have a degree doesn't mean I wasn't there, doesn't mean I don't have credits, doesn't mean I didn't spend three years at three different institutes of higher learning, high or not. Because I did. University, Art School, University. I'm educated, really. It may not seem like it, but yeah.

I just had to suggest to a caller that he might want to let the post office know of his new address. He hadn't even considered it. He's 25. I was submitting change of address cards from the age of 20. I won't judge though, we all have to learn how to live sometime. Hopefully we do, though, learn. It's the ones who can't learn that scare me - what is wrong with them? What's missing? A gene? A cell?

I'm listening to college radio, in the cube, 9:27 a.m. One step away from reading the latest EW. "I need a freak� with curly hair, and when I need this freak I need her to be fair" - this is what I'm listening to. Hmmmm� catchy. Lesbian techno - only on college radio, fuck Clear Channel, why bother? I dig this. Oh, reminds me, PRIDE is this weekend. Someplace I can be even more of a minority than I am every day. Last time I went I think I blended in a bit. But the parade that one year? I couldn't have been more straight, I felt like it was tattooed on my forehead.

I phoned the DJ, he says it was "Electrocute", and that "It's a pretty good album". You know I'm gonna hit KaZaA later to look for it. Oh man, he's playing vinyl! And it's skipping, bad!!!! Too funny! How very 'retro'. Occasionally, during PSAs or really awful songs, I switch to commercial radio and it's SO bad, even the Classic Rock station, I have to switch right back or plop in a CD. It's college or public, nothing else for me. Really. I'm a radio snob. The only other time I'll listen to commercial radio is during a storm, if the electricity is out and all I have is a transistor (although I've got a 'boombox' with FM now) - then I'll listen to AM to hear news reports. It's been years since that happened, lying in bed in the middle of the night, listening to someone saying the tornado was heading my way, only a mile away. Luckily it lost momentum.

Addendum::::::::: It appears the Supreme Court has struck down a ban on 'gay sex', i.e. sodomy (which technically includes anything other than missionary penis/vagina contact position, I believe) in regard to a Texas case in which two men were set up, the police storming in to find them engaged in an act of anal intercourse, i.e. consensual pleasure. Both were fined $200 and spent the night in jail. Can you imagine? In 1998, not 1798. It's about time the ridiculousness of government monitoring of adults' sexual activity came to an end. And on the eve of PRIDE� makes me wish I was a gay man. I predict much fornication this weekend! Whee!!!! Even more than usual, in mass anal celebration. People really do need control over their own orifices, I've always thought. I can't wait to see how Dan Rather reads this story on the news tonight�

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee