2002-01-02 / 9:36 p.m.

~Let it Snow, Let it Snow, Let it Snow~

It's been snowing all day. They said it wouldn't start until lunchtime, but they were wrong. At work, I stood up over and over to look out the back emergency exit doors, the glass doors, and opened the blinds covering all the floor to ceiling windows. The other side of the suite had all the blinds open too, when I passed it was like a big wall of windows, snow falling softly outside. We all paused as we passed, all day.

It never amounted to much though, driving home at lunch was no big deal, but it was beautiful to look at, lumps of white powder in the bushes, on the tree branches, on the rooftops, flakes big and fluffy, then small, like pellets, blowing sideways at times, other times falling straight down.

Work was hell, very stressful, lots of phone calls, lots of address updates, everyone wanting to assure the arrival of the all-important W-2 Form. One woman called it a "W-40, you know, the tax packet". I said, "Hmmmm....the IRS sends out the tax booklet, the 1040...do you mean the W-2?", as if I hadn't known, just playing a bit to liven things up. She said, "Oh yeah, that's it!".

Lots of documents to process. Lots of everything. And snow to distract me, snow to make me daydream.

D. was out. Her son having more tubes put in his ears. How many tubes can you have? Is this a daycare thing? The kid is plopped in daycare at day one, catches one virus after another, has no immune system developed because he wasn't fed mother's milk long enough, mom grew tired of pumping, one ear infection follows another, tubes, etc. Is that how it is? The Manager (M)'s son is also going through the same thing. I don't get it. But, poor kid!

And Rasta talked on the phone, personal calls, the ENTIRE day, yes, no kidding, the ENTIRE day! He talks to Laverne, she sitting two cubes ahead of him, her head down, pretending she is working. I can tell they're talking to each other because of the way they laugh, the way their speech rises and falls, I can tell. Lulu has confirmed it, said it's none of our business, and I had once said, "I'm sorry, it's just too...intimate, the way they talk all day, on the phone, cubicle to cubicle, taking lunches together. She's married, for chrissakes!". And he turns his phone off, so he can't get calls from the 800 line, while we all take extra calls. I'm beginning to resent him, a LOT. He is sliding by, and he needs to go.

The last time I looked out the window things had changed, the snow was falling harder, it had accumulated in huge drifts on all the cars in the parking lot, the lot is bright with snow, it's sticking to the pavement now, it's a white parking lot now. People stood in a group and someone took their picture. The darkness illuminated by all the snow reflecting the lamplight.

The Thrashers are playing Dallas, and I need to finish watching, I'm missing it to type this. Heatley and Kovalchuk, our two number ones, our two #1s, our two top guys, kids, top draft picks, have been named "Co-Rookies of the Month"!!! They are amazing, truly.

I enrolled Gladys in the Thrashers Kids' Club the inaugural season, and she gets things in the mail, addressed to her, from the Thrashers. It's so funny! Today she got a flat envelope filled with stuff, as if she'd just joined, again, and I think they make a lot of mistakes like that, her initial enrollment arrived twice! This time, it's a poster, some stickers, a cool fridge magnet, a merchandise discount card, etc....I opened it down on the floor in front of her, "Look, Gladys, it's for YOU!", and she got excited for a minute. She smelled everything.

I never realized, after living here for almost 5 years, in this apartment, that after I used up the entire outside surface of the refrigerator, well, the two sides available, top to bottom, for fridge magnets, that I could use the dishwasher too! Why? Why did I not notice that it's a giant hunk of metal too? So, now the Thrashers magnetic schedule is there, along with the photo frame magnet Gladys got today. Joy.

I'm going to look out the window again....the snow has slacked off quite a bit, there are tire tracks on the white parking lot, the Thrashers are winning, 1-0.

I had fun creating my new design last night. It took hours, and the time flew! I'd make changes, check it out in my browser, re-do the code in Windows Notepad, look at it in the browser again, put it in Diaryland, make more changes, etc., etc., and every time I looked at the clock in my task bar another hour had gone by! WOW. I'm still not through with it. I need to learn more about cells and tables, and I need to change the link colors, I think. I looked at it from work today and the links sort of blended in to the background color of the table too much.....and the picture at the bottom should link to something.

Basically, I've saved TONS of .gif and .jpg files over the past few years. I see something I like, I save it (copyright infringement, so sue me), and I thought it would be fun to use stuff. Plus, as you may know, I like the kitties.....

Anyway, snow is big down here, it's the South after all, this is a very big thing. This is not the most snow I've seen in my 34 years of living here, but it's fun for now. Maybe we can go in late tomorrow (oh, we could have left early tonight, but I chose to stay).

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee