Friday, Oct. 17, 2003 / 8:02 p.m.

~Chock Full of Diary Goodness!~

So, remember when I wrote about the Doritos Guacamole Flavored Tortilla Chips, and how amazing it would be to make up some guac from scratch and use those chips to dip? Ahhhh, I did so last night, and it was an interesting experience. I had the tomatoes all chilled, the avocados too, two of each, chopped them just chunky like I like, threw in a green onion, also chopped, a clove of garlic, likewise, juice of a freshly squeezed lime, some salt, some freshly ground pepper, a chopped Hungarian wax pepper for heat, plus a generous amount of fresh cilantro, also chopped but none too finely. It was amazing and I could not WAIT to taste it for seasoning, took a huge bite and bit into my cheeck, opening up a rather large hole, causing tremendous pain and a temporary gusher of blood.

Lovely.

I had to eat the whole bowl, with the aforementioned chips, out of one side of my mouth, and you just know the injured side was begging. No, no, you need time to heal... But it smells so good! Yeah, it was pretty amazing, despite my injury. The chips' flavor was lost in the rush, of course, but the flavor was intense, and the pepper a bit much, but I didn't want to hang on to those remaining bits, so I threw them in. In retrospect, I could've saved them for something today, had less heat and more flavor, but it was good, I'm good, and my mouth is okay.

I hate it when that happens though, what is it with cheeks and teeth anyway? Why must the two meet in such a painful fashion?, and is it simply that in my anxious and ravenous haste I chomped too forcefully? Man, my molars are sharp, that's all I've got to say. Or are they 'side' teeth? What are those called?

Oh, oh, oh, after some 8 years of staying away from the dentist, and the doctor, and the vet, I'm going to the dentist on Nov 4th. Yay, I guess. I made the appointment last week, called the one I always went to, the one I decided I didn't want to go back to, mainly because I was thinking they must still have my voluminous years' worth of visits file. I'm still not sure they do, the Receptionist kept saying, "I don't know, I'll have to go look". Okay, so what did you find? Do you have the X-rays taken when I was 17? I wanna see!

I was fed up with the salivary gland issue, the lower lip thing, thinking I have a tumor at least as big as Roger Ebert's (how is he anyway?), worrying as I am wont to do, and I need a cleaning, despite my daily flossing.

Hey, I did a 'Friday Five' thingie (kinda cross-posted, but let me share it here):

1. Name five things in your refrigerator.

Sliced smoked Gouda, fresh Shiitake mushrooms, a half dozen pack of organic free-range eggs, Hans' All Natural Chicken Bratwurst (made with organically raised chickens), German Garlic Brie - yeah, I went shopping couple days ago.

2. Name five things in your freezer.

Ice cubes made with water from my Pur Water Filter, organic corn, organic blueberry waffles, some really old English Muffins, pork loin chops.

3. Name five things under your kitchen sink.

Goo Gone, and garbage bags, furniture polish, Murphy's Oil Soap, florist's vases from long gone bouquets.

4. Name five things around your computer.

Miniature Buzz Lightyear ("To infinity and beyond!"), a little happy Buddha, a Byzantine folding wooden icon (Mary holding Jesus on one side, Joe on the other), a photo of me holding my friend Hermione's little girl Lilly, the day after she was born (major ticking clock that day), my Sydney Omarr's Day by Day Astrological Guide For Aries (love the daily horoscopes, too much fun).

5. Name five things in your medicine cabinet.

Really old toothpaste for cats, toothpaste for people, St Ives Invigorating Apricot Scrub (I need to use it more often), Kiss My Face natural lavender deodorant, Flintstones Band-Aids (am I too brand conscious?!).

Other than all of that, um, well, er, it was a good day, I really perked up, in spite of hating my coworkers in a PMS-fueled rage all week, keeping to myself all isolated and everything, and I socialized with Q and Jane, although I still think Jane has major animosity toward me and I don't know why. I hinted about the Greek Fest, mentioned how I could eat buckets of Tzatziki sauce, how I ate lamb and the Greek Flamenco guitarist was so good I bought his CD, and there were black people there, she could've gone, really, but she sort of nodded and looked away from me, and really didn't even hear me, I don't think.

Q was wired as hell, wore a new blousy blouse, the kind the kids are wearing lately, all patchy and different colors-y, big sleeves, mostly burgundy, and I called her 'hippie girl' finally, and we laughed a lot. Friday is always good, really, how can it be bad?

I haven't written much about TV lately, not really, but I have some thoughts about "Survivor - Pearl Islands" . I love Rupert, he's great, but know what? He's all that's great this time around. It's boring, the challenges are the same old crap, and there is little time spent on the interactions within the tribes. I'm thinking it will get better, it always does with less people, but overall, the people are just boring, and I want details. I want to know where their privy is, are they shitting or are they all constipated from the rice? Where are they bathing? Is there fresh water? And don't you think the makeup person does them over GOOD before each tribal council? They always look so clean and perfect there.

I liked "Survivor - Africa", hands down. All these others are just melding into one island episode. Can't distinguish anymore.

And the gratuitous glorification of the women? And the six-pack abs'd men? Fuck that. They get a shower, they can all shower, but who do they show using it??? The hot chick. And they all ate blended raw squids and octopi, and clams and guts and crap, and they show the other hot chick puking it up, bending over, all butt up in the air with little short shorts, etc. (Jesus, who in hell gets off on watching nearly naked women puke?, is this some kind of fetish?), whilst Rupert talks strategy with her, covering her puke with sand as it comes out.

Wha?????????????????????

Ah well, "Miss Match" in about 40, I like that show, missed it last week on account of the Greek Fest, and forgetting to tape it.

And I need to cook up some corn and tomato linguini, but I think I'll use cappelini, and I'm going to throw in some green onions, the beautiful shiitakes I bought, and some cilantro. I need to find the energy though...

I feel like there should be more, like I should cover politics, talk about the US soldiers who died in Iraq today (ho hum, that's EVERY day!), or the Demonstration, or post some links, or something (Check out my other little diary, Activism.Diaryland.com, and feel free to add it to your buddy list for future updates, or add some updates if you can abide the rules, which were written by our dearly departed [from Diaryland only, we hope] Kassia), but I sort of want to call it a day here.

Wait, there is more: I got major news, my friend Hermione, out West, is pregnant! It's been five years since she last foaled, okay, since the squirt was born, and I hated to think of her being an only child, my little girl, and Hermione is an only child, and Hermione's mom too, so I wanted a broken chain there, and Hermione and her husband said, nah, we've created perfection in the squirt, we cannot do any better, we're afraid to try, nope, won't do it, even when I cajoled and prodded when they last visited (in May?), but now, yes, it's true, another one is on the way, and I am so happy for them!!!!

And, my cousin finally wrote to me today, just as I was thinking of her in a particularly prescient and unknowingly psychic moment, the one who is the daughter of my uncle who 'passed' in May. She wants to stay in touch, and she keeps telling me I can visit her in her glorious Bavarian Alpine German home. Ahhhhhh....... Okay!

That's it for now, Jesus, that's plenty!

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee