Thursday, Apr. 18, 2002 / 11:42 a.m.

~Mental Preparation Written Down in Words~

I really don�t want to write about work anymore, but it�s hard. Lulu insists on being heard. She stands in her cubicle, talks to the group, she can�t come in here and not do that. Today�s topic is some Singles Convention she�s attending, with her husband. Apparently it�s with the church, of course, and it�s to encourage Singles to take care of themselves before seeking a partner, and for Marrieds to work on themselves if they never took the time before they got married. A whole discussion has to come out of this and suddenly everyone has to talk about marriage, how many times they�ve been married, why they got married, and Lulu has to be loudest, now quoting Bishop T.D. Jakes.

Help me. Please.

It�s 9:13 a.m., cubicle time.

Is anyone else enjoying Bobby Burgess� adventures in Hawaii as much as I am? When he posted his cell phone number I was SO tempted to call him and tell him. But I haven�t yet. I may still, but not yet. I am so envious of his experience, and his writing ability. He amazes me.

Last night was an Interweb-free night. I was so exhausted by the end of the day, so "flu-sy" feeling, so obviously physically affected by everything that�s been happening here lately, so obviously feeling the effects of stress on my body, and a poor diet, of course, including the one night last weekend when I didn�t take my vitamins because I hadn�t eaten� So, I took some echinacea, for the first time since I quit it cold turkey. I�m feeling better, kind of, but still fairly run down.

I didn�t do as the night before, staying up to see Cher on Letterman (a repeat of a show I�d missed), then starting to watch one of my favorite movies ever, "Brimstone and Treacle" � have you seen this movie???!!! Sting stars, yes, Sting, as a con man who inserts himself into the lives of a middle-aged ("later" middle aged?) couple and their incapacitated daughter. He moves in with them, convincing the wife/mother that he is an Angel, and the husband/father believes he is the Devil. All "brimstone" and "treacle", hence the title. Oh, but it�s so good, funky camera angles, great music, by Sting and the Police, or members thereof (well, they�re only 3, so it�s at least composed by two of them), and a juicy story with a surprise at the end! Good, good movie, see it now.

Oh, but I fell asleep, night before last, couldn�t stay awake though I wanted to watch it once again. And consequently I was tired again yesterday. So much so that I had a bad case of "I can�t"s last night. I need to wash the dishes, but "I can�t", I just can�t. I need to do some laundry so I have clean clothes to take/wear to D.C., but "I can�t". I really should just read a couple diaries, I don�t want to fall behind, but "I can�t". So, I got in bed after I ate my salmon Caesar salad (yum � no, I didn�t make it, I went back to the Whole Foods/Farmers Market after work) and watched "GL" on tape (OMIGOD, they killed off a major character! She must not have renewed her contract, and how did I not know this was going to happen??!!). In bed by 9:00. Not "under the covers" in bed, but in bed nonetheless.

And I watched "Amazing Race" after the first half of "Forbidden Planet" (what a funky soundtrack in that movie!), and fell asleep, me, asleep at 10:15 p.m., with the TV off. That�s remarkable. Everything left to do today because I kept saying "I can�t" last night. And I really couldn�t, I just couldn�t. I almost called in sick this morning. I just feel crappy, like my life blood has been sucked from my veins. It feels weird. And (I just took a phone call and I completely lost my train of thought).

Oh, right, well, I�m okay, I�m just really tired, I know it�s stress, stress is really hard on a person, or an animal, on anything. I know it�s what killed my mother, I have no doubt at all. I�ll tell you how I know this some time. But anyway, so I dreamed that I was booking a flight to France, via Los Angeles and San Francisco, and I�d flown to Los Angeles and surprised my ex-boyfriend from all those years ago, Steve, the one I wrote about last May or June or whenever, right here in my diary, when we reconnected� So, I surprised him, appeared, and we were sitting in his trailer, yeah, I think it was a trailer, and all he had was a bed and a TV, and we were lying around watching TV and he said it wasn�t enough. He was disgruntled and I made him tell me why, he said something like, "I just can�t sit here with my �mate� and watch TV, I need more", so I said Fine, let�s go, let�s go to Hollywood Blvd, I�ve never been here, let�s play tourists.

But then I had to get to San Francisco and I was checking on getting a connecting flight to France and it turned out I already had the ticket.

The whole point is that this is clearly an after-effect of watching "The Amazing Race" last night. Because so much of what the "contestants" must do is book flights and make them. Be on time, be first, hurry, "Race", if you will. Funny, funny dream.

Sleep at 10:00, wake at 5:00, yeah, 5:00, to a lone bird singing. And it was so hard to go back to sleep, but I did, and I made it here, to the cube, where I sit and type and listen to all around me, and it fires up and dies down, they talk, they�re silent, I�ve had one phone call in half an hour. I�m trying to decide when to do things, and in what order. I do want some sort of "automatic feeder" for the cats, for if I put down all the food I�d normally give them in two nights and one day they will eat it at once and throw up. It�s happened before. They are not "free feeders". But I don�t think Pet Smart has exactly what I want, and I have to go there anyway to be sure. I have to get gas and put more oil in my engine. I want to go buy a little spiral notebook to take to write in, and a new Walkman, mine is on its last legs. I want one that plays CDs, not tapes. Wal Mart for those things.

I need to wash dishes so I don�t come home to a mess on Sunday morning, and laundry so I have clean clothes to wear, to take with me, I need to watch the Weather Channel or check online somewhere for this weekend�s weather in D.C. � I think the weather is going to change, become much cooler, on the whole East Coast.

That�s it. Aside from throwing my trail mix into a Ziploc bag, filling my water bottle, and packing my pack, leaving out the food for the girls, putting the timer on the lamp in the living room. I think I�m set, mentally. Oh yeah, cash from the ATM. And isn�t it fun to read someone else�s list of things to do? Hey, I�m not the only one who does it. Like Rainstripe, I think it just helps the more one writes it all down. So, I�m writing it here, I�ve written it on a purple piece of paper with lines on it, I keep it in my pocket during the day, I add things I want to remember not to forget.

I�d better process my two documents now. Then, I guess I�ll read my Entertainment Weekly, since I�m so far behind. This job feels like such a waste of time, but I am being paid to be here�

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee