Monday, Jan. 21, 2002 / 7:29 p.m.

~MLK Memorial Detour~

Here's something ironic, well, interesting maybe, at least I thought so�traffic is being diverted from the little road outside the office complex today. They are widening the road, er, have been widening the road for months now (actually, they've been moving everything around, utility poles, underground pipes, wires, stuff like that, in preparation for widening the road), and today they have it closed completely. Figuring, I suppose, that the Post Office on the same street will not lose business because today it is closed. I suppose. But, my point, and I do have one, is that traffic is diverted onto�MLK Memorial Highway. Funny, huh? I just noticed it on my way back to work after lunch, and I had to tell someone, but there is no one here I can talk to�anymore�so I'm writing it, and I'll upload this to my diary later, so it's almost like I told someone. Almost. (I told Sabrina too - allow me to summarize her reaction, "Huh.")

I never noticed that the name of that road is MLK Memorial Highway. To me it's always just been the North Loop. I don't travel on it often, in fact I seldom travel on it. I felt, today, just now, that I was memorializing Dr. King in my own way, driving on one of the many memorial highways named for him. What a ridiculous thing, imagine having people drive on a road named after you. What a fine legacy.

I would rather have danced in the MLK Memorial Ballroom, or strolled through the MLK Memorial Park, or jumped in the MLK Memorial Fountain, or crossed a river-spanning MLK Memorial Bridge, maybe one of those bouncy kind like they have at Six Flags, the kind with the sign that says, "Do not jump on bridge", so you jump up and down and laugh. Do these memorials even exist? Is it all roads? What about an MLK Memorial Statue? Oh, we have a really cool sculpture of him in Atlanta, it's a profile cast in bronze, I think, a flat piece of metal with the outline of King exposed, cut out of the metal, hard to describe, but it's very cool�and it's to the side of the road just at the start of the Jimmy Carter Freedom Parkway. Make of that what you will.

Maybe a visit to the MLK Center For Non-Violent Social Change, or is it Justice?, would be in order. Not a drive on a highway, a parkway, not a detour due to a road closing. I'm tired.

I was just finishing updating an address, for one Tomaris Green, and I totally hung up on him. It was very funny, I mean it was accidental, no lie (I like that expression, "No LIE!"), I thought he was through talking, it's so hard to tell sometimes, they just get quiet, some people, then the line goes dead. Oh, okay, goodbye then, see ya, thanks for calling, etc. But I heard him saying something else as I hung up. Oopsy, laugh, tee hee, ha, ha, guffaw. Okay, it was funny, but you had to be there, here.

I think I should get back to my magazine now. Writing every little thought that pops in my head can be tiresome, and boring. Or not�

Later: I was reading the January 4 issue of EW earlier (it's about three hours since I wrote the above blather), and I had my Walkman on...listening to "The Doors" movie soundtrack, and it suddenly hit me, I was reading the 'In Memoriam, 2001' articles while listening to Morrison singing "The End". I was thinking about how all these people died, I mean, literally, HOW they died, not just reading about their lives, but the fact that they all grew old, most of them, and died of cancer and heart attacks, Jack Lemmon, Carroll O'Connor, Perry Como (Altzheimer's for him), etc. So, I was thinking, that's how they ended, that's his end, that's her end, and I realized the song I was listening to, as if I hadn't previously even heard it.

I've just been salivating whilst reading the takeout menu for my favorite Thai restaurant, imagining the familiar flavors of the food I plan to order, pick up, and of course eat. I was debating, thinking of the long drive, but then I thought this will be a perfect day for it, seeing as how most people are off work and there shouldn't be much traffic. Shouldn't be. The weather is good too, should be smooth sailing, er, driving. In fact, the weather at lunch was so spectacularly beautiful I had a mad desire to go out and play, to cavort, to be in nature. But instead I went home, ate a chicken salad sandwich, uploaded a diary entry and played with Norman's tail. Fluffy, fluffy girl. I told her if I had my own tail I wouldn't be reduced to playing with hers.

Man, some amazing people died last year�I know everybody has to go sometime, but jeez. Chet Atkins, John Lee Hooker, Ken Kesey, George Harrison, Douglas Adams, Lorenzo Music (Carlton, the Doorman, from "Rhoda"), Dale Evans, gone. On to the next plane. Or wherever. "This is the end�beautiful friend, the end."

I am so hungry, and I don't know why - must've been just reading that menu. I'm going to try something new this time, at least I don't think I've tried it yet, and I don't have good luck veering from my usual order, but I want to try the Fresh Ginger Beef. We shall see. Otherwise, it's going to be the usual: Basil Rolls, Chicken Coconut Milk Soup, Nam Sod and Tofu Garlic Pepper. Total comfort food.

This is officially all I am going to write, from here, musings from the cube, signing off, 5:23 p.m., EST.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee