Saturday, Jun. 29, 2002 / 1:03 a.m.

~Moon in Aquarius, Running Into Old Friends, and First Night of Pride, 2002~

I had good energy. I intended to see "The Lady Eve" (Barbara Stanwyck, Henry Fonda, 1941) at the Museum, taking myself to dinner at the new location of my favorite Thai restaurant in the "mall" across the street.

Home to feed the cats, then not even changing out of my Casual Friday clothes (long sleeve tie dye, button fly 501s, "commando" all day), I grabbed my backpack and headed to the restaurant, where I was immediately ushered outside to the patio, sitting at a table under an umbrella, overlooking a small stand of old hardwood trees, grass, a sculpture appearing to have been created around the same time the building was erected, maybe 1967?? A breeze blew, squirrels cavorted, and I lost my bearings completely.

Where was I? Was this the heart of Midtown? What street am I on? I wrote in my journal, I couldn't stop the desire to document everything, even the man at the next table who'd read an article in the day's Wall Street Journal and proceeded to tell the woman he was with that he wished, oh how he wished, she could have read it too.

I drank Singha beer, I ate Basil Rolls and my favorite Garlic Pepper Tofu, and it was peppery, more than garlicky this time, but the best I've had in a while, and the patio was so lovely, I never wanted to leave.

But I'd entered the "mall", really just an old office high rise, with Sheraton Hotel attached, built years and years ago, shops inside, in a "mall-like" setting, and called my friend Al who lives in the attached condo high rise, left him a message saying I was downstairs and if he wanted to join me for dinner that would be great.

I'd forgotten all about it, but then I was on my second beer, knowing I would most likely skip the movie, and onto the patio he walked. I haven't seen Al in years, maybe two, I don't know. I jumped up and gave him a huge hug and he sat and we talked, he ordered sashimi and he looked so different, and I didn't know how to ask exactly what had happened to him. He was missing teeth. His mouth looked so strange. He was thin, his eyes were big and blue, alive, but he looked like something awful had happened, and all he said was that yes, he had lost weight.

It was so good to see him, and we talked and talked and talked, and then he had to go to a dinner with some friends.

The evening was so beautiful and I was high from my food and my beer, and I only wanted to walk. Lately I love Midtown. It's all gentrified and lovely and new, new, new, surreal in its newness. I hardly recognize it anymore, except for this old building where the Thai restaurant is, but I like it, I'm really wanting to be there, all the time now.

And Pride weekend is just beginning, so there were lots of girls holding hands, boys holding hands, spontaneous kissing on the sidewalks, and people walking, everywhere. I put on my headphones and listened to The Smiths, walked to the Park. And with a jaunty gait I walked deep into the Park, saw people setting up tents for the weekend, people everywhere, kids rolling down hills, couples, mostly gay and lesbian, and it was dark and breezy and perfect, The Smiths were perfect - I came upon a concert though, a local, Michelle Malone performing, and though I didn't know it was she, I walked closer to see, to hear, because I liked the music.

Booths selling all kinds of food, beer, lots of couples, lots of girls together, and someone spots me, someone's eyes get huge and he comes towards me and it's my friend from the bookstore, from all those years ago, the one I just wrote about a couple days ago, the one I've referred to as the crazy gay Cuban, and here we'll call him Luis. Luis rushed towards me and gave me a huge hug and he was with someone new, someone I'd not met, and we went on and on about how odd it was, how wonderful it was we'd run into each other like this.

After I'd just spent an hour or so talking to Al, who'd I'd not seen in years. After recently meeting up with Mark again, after not seeing him for a year and a half. After hooking back up with Branford after not seeing him for a year or three. All these people coming back into my life, as if they should, as if it's natural, as if we live in a little country town, where everyone knows everyone else's name.

Luis and I catch up, briefly, and he gives me his card, he's helping manage a bookstore now, and we hug and kiss and he is gone, we promise to keep in touch, soon. I stand and listen to Michelle Malone, and I like her, and it's an all girl band, and there are lesbians everywhere, and I'm wondering if I can meet a beautiful girl and we can be lovers, when Luis and his boyfriend are back and we're shouting to hear each other and we're catching up again, "Remember so and so? Oh my god, he's in New York now! He's working for MOMA!", "No!", "Yes!! I'm going to see him!"....."You know Moby? I have a HUGE crush on him! I'm going to see him next month and have sex with him! What size condoms do you think I should bring?"

And it goes on and on.

And there is the guy from the Greens Party, and he remembers me, I think, and Luis knows him, and Luis' boyfriend is taking pictures of us, and Michelle Malone and her all girl band are rocking! And lesbians are holding each other and dancing and it's girls night at Pride 2002, and Luis got a new apartment, right up the street from the Park, where he used to live all those years ago, and I remember that Halloween that we went to that gay bar up the street and I ran into that guy I knew in high school, "You're gay now? Wow!"

My horoscope said this would happen. Moon in Aquarius, social, social, social. Win friends, influence people, and we're looking for Andrea, because we worked with her too, and she should be there, she is Michelle's pal, but we don't see her, so we hang out behind the stage, and we talk to Michelle, and suddenly I'm thinking this is what it could be like to meet Moby, just hang out backstage long enough.

But Luis knows Michelle and introduces me, and she's beautiful. She's not wearing a bra, but a tight little t-shirt, and her breasts are so small, her nipples erect under her shirt, and her skin is so perfect, her nose so beautiful and Luis had asked me if I'd ever consider having a woman for a lover, and I say, "Oh of course.", but I haven't met the right one yet. And we know I love men, but I hate them too.

Michelle shakes my hand, one of those girly handshakes, just barely touching me, but she is so nice, so unassuming, and sweet. We don't wait to find Andrea, but we walk up the street to a restaurant where a friend of Luis' boyfriend works, and Luis buys us Bloody Marys, and we talk.

Luis walks me back to my car and he tells me about this boyfriend of his, how stormy their relationship is, and I am so worried for him. I want him to be happy. It seems like none of my men friends are happy. They go from relationship to relationship, or have none at all and want one, but they are not finding what they want. He is so glad to see me though, and I'd thought he didn't want to see me again.....

It feels good to reconnect like this, but strange at the same time. And to think I might have been sitting in the Museum auditorium watching that old black and white movie instead of walking through the Park. What a strange night.

This is all not even mentioning that Moby responded in his journal to something I wrote on his message boards! I posted a thread asking people if Moby's music makes them horny, and he decided to respond to various board questions, saying that, "As Moby, no, I do not find that my music makes me horny", or something quite almost exactly like that. I was really excited to see he'd responded like that, and surprised as hell. People on the boards alerted me to it, said, "Hey, Moby wrote about all you crazy horny people in his journal!".....

And I talked all about him to Luis and his boyfriend, explaining why I am in love with Moby, why I want to have sex with him. It was crazy fun.

I'm exhausted now. It's been a really long day, but I wanted to write some of this now, so this is it.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee