Sunday, Jun. 29, 2003 / 6:07 p.m.

~Movies I'll Watch Again and Again~

Okay, I didn't discover this, but I'm sharing it because it's so very perfectly wonderful: visit Google.com, type in "weapons of mass destruction" and click on "I'm feeling lucky", and enjoy! I said I'd spread it around, and although very few people read this, which is what I always wanted and now have, for those few, yeah, try it, it's really great. Promise.

I used to post to a movie message board, through Entertainment Weekly, surprise, surprise, and one time I started a thread called something like, "What movies will you watch again and again?", which received a good amount of posts, started by me, of course, and a few off my list. This is related to television, mostly, as in you are flipping through the amazing array of channels now available, or looking at your onscreen digital cable movie guide, which is what I do every night, and on weekends, hoping something amazing will be on, something you've been meaning to see, but haven't yet, and you see instead that "Jaws" is on TBS for the 500 gazillionth time, and so you watch it, again. Or "Rosemary's Baby", or "The Godfather".

Or like today, "Easy Rider", and I'm not watching, but it's on. No, I'm in here, there is no TV in here, well, there is, but it's not hooked up, it's the TV that started making that horrible high pitch whine, in addition to turning green every so often, so it now just sits atop the filing cabinet. But it's there, "Easy Rider", and if I want, I can run in and catch that horrible final scene, that classic final scene, the one that sort of sums up the sixties, if you choose to look at it that way, and especially if you were stoned the first time you saw it.

It's like "I Love Lucy", and the second time I had sex, in a hotel room, I had to turn the TV on, to feel comfortable, because, well, I won't go into any of it, not more than I have, but I needed to be comfortable, and it was on, pure comfort TV. How can you not feel comfortable when Lucy is on screen, in all her black and white glory, being wacky as always, with that big shock of curls atop her head? And she's on some TV, somewhere in the world, probably at every moment of every day. She lives on, forever.

So, certain movies I've seen over and over again, and will continue to turn on if I see them listed in the schedule, or I'm flipping mindlessly and I catch a minute or two, trying to guess what movie it is in the least amount of time possible... flip, Bette Davis... wait a sec, oh, "All About Eve". Flip, Charleton Heston, "Ben Hur", Michael Douglas, "The Game"! Easy peasy.

Last night I watched something I'd not seen before, and it was on ABC, network, so there were commercials during which I could get up and do things, pee, cook, etc.

*Just got up because it sounded like pouring rain, went to look out, and it IS pouring rain, and the scene with Jack Nicholson getting stoned for the first time, around the campfire with Peter Fonda and Dennis Hopper is on. Classic. I'm telling you, anyone, classic.

Anyway, it was "The 6th Day" last night, an 'entertaining, yet derivative science fiction story about cloning humans in the future, after it's been outlawed', and it was, entertaining, and derivative. I had to suspend my disbelief within the first few minutes. How could an EMT possibly tell the 6th vertabra had been destroyed without an Xray?

Good old Ahnuld. I like his funny Austrian accent, I like his determined acting style. It was pure fun.

I've not left my apartment since Friday. And it feels good. I washed an immense amount of dishes today. I cooked Italian sausage last night, with zucchini and yellow squash, red bell pepper, green onions (yes, it was colorful) and my favorite, shiitake mushrooms. Ah, it was SO very good.

And I met someone new online, a journal writer who is young, but very old in some ways, wise, learned, educated, and he blew me away a bit with his writing, and his humor, and his survival. I'm so intrigued, really.

Now, it's pouring, really raining hard, and I'm glad, makes it okay that I'm still inside. But I need to go watch it, because I love to watch the rain. And it might be nice to see the jail scene in "Easy Rider" too. Jack Nicholson was really handsome back in 1969 - oh, they're still around the campfire, he's wasted, his first time, he let the joint go out - isn't this where they bring in that song, "Don't bogart that joint, my frieeeeennnndd, pass it overrrrr, to me????"... yes, here it is now. "Easy Rider", one movie I'll watch again and again.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee