Sunday, Mar. 31, 2002 / 7:06 p.m.

~Movies On Saturday Night, and Today, So Far~

Last night I watched "Don't Look Now", starring Donald Sutherland and Julie Christie as parents of a child who dies in a drowning accident. They spend time living in Venice as Sutherland works on restoring an old church, and while there meet an odd pair of sisters with psychic abilities. Christie hooks up with them, and the one sister, blind, tells her about her dead daughter, that she is happy and laughing where she is, and that her husband, Sutherland, is in imminent danger and should leave Venice.

Meanwhile, Sutherland has premonitions of his own, and one is quite spooky and frightening, especially since he doesn't even know it's a premonition. This is a Nicolas Roeg directed film (from a story by Daphne Du Maurier), and typically I don't like his style. He was fond of jump cuts, slow motion replays, bizarre camera angles, sort of raw, unerotic sex scenes, etc. But, and I'd seen "Don't Look Now" (does it come with an exclamation mark at the end? !) before, not entirely, but mostly, it's increasingly creepy, increasingly frightening, and as I watched last night, I said, numerous times, to N and G, "I'm scared!". I think I was.

There are numerous chases down empty Venice streets, all lining the omnipresent canals. Empty. Shot on location, in Winter, but EMPTY, all the streets. You can hear all the echoes of footsteps and shouts, grunts, etc. Very creepy. And the ending! Oh my God! Really, I recommend this movie.

Plus, if you're into it, you get to see Julie Christie and Donald Sutherland very naked. Like very. Like one wrong move and you'd see right up Christie's vagina (how did they do that?). Very creative camera work in an extended scene of lovemaking. And, like I said, very creepy, wild ending, scary!!!!!

Then, after, I watched "Key Largo". I think it was in shooting this movie that Humphrey Bogart and Lauren Bacall met. I could be wrong. But she is very young and outrageously beautiful, of course, and he is tough and handsome and, well, it's 1948, so the language is cool, the black and white cinematography is cool, and Edward G. Robinson is in it, and he was always cool! I'd seen this movie before too, but had to watch it again. (My favorite 1948 'lingo': "See", as in, "Now listen here, see, you're gonna do what I tell ya, see?", and "Sister", as in "Now listen here, sister, you're gonna do what I tell ya, see?")

Bogart gets stuck in this hotel, off-season, owned by the father of one of the soldiers under his command in the Army. They were in the war together, he and this guy, and the guy died, and he comes to check on the widow, Bacall, and the father of the guy, taking care of this hotel in Key Largo. But this band of gangsters is holed up there and this hurricane whips through, and they're all held hostage, until the storm passes and Bogart saves the day and gets the girl, etc. And Claire Trevor plays the mobster's moll, Robinson's bitch, but she's become an alcoholic so he no longer wants her. She's excellent, won an Oscar for her role. Good, good movie.

"Treasure of the Sierra Madre" was on afterwards, this on Public Television, but I passed out, exhausted from my big day on the 'net. And my period.

Oh yeah, here's the monthly menstrual report, start scrolling now, Roadiepig. I awoke early in the morning with intense cramping and wanted to take some Kava, or something, but not on a mostly empty stomach. So, I lay there, in pain, all the way from my lower abdomen to my lower back, all the way through me. Gladys and I spooned and I was thinking that would help, she acting as a live hot water bottle, but it didn't. I finally fell back to sleep and got up around 3:00 this afternoon! And my hip joints were killing me. Combination of my mattress and ageing, I guess. And hormones.

Yuck. I figured today, and I don't know why it took me so long to come up with it, but I've been menstruating for 30 years. THIRTY years. That's long enough, don't you think? The women at work were talking about it on Friday, about menopause, and Kathy admitted she's had a hysterectomy. I think maybe Penelope has too, but I missed her admission if it was there. And Laverne didn't understand that having a hysterectomy sends you right into menopause. I thought, DUH! But she didn't get it. I was trying to tell them that I'd prefer menopause to this, now, but they warned me it's no better.

Great.

All I know is it sure doesn't look like I'm ever procreating, so this is just a waste for me, all this egg releasing, shedding, blah, bleeding, suffering, blah, blah. And even if I met the perfect person tomorrow, we got married and lived happily ever after, I'm not totally sure I CAN conceive, and I don't really believe that adding more people to this horrible world is a good idea. I'd rather adopt some refugee child. That would be the best thing to do.

Anyway.......

I made Tuna Helper tonight, and it's pretty good, really. Try the Creamy Broccoli. Add some broccoli to it, fresh or frozen, I used frozen, and some spicy seasonings, I used Tony Chachere's Cajun Seasoning, and black olives if you have them, I didn't, and it's damned fulfilling. Really.

Oh, I watched "Amazing Race" on tape from Wednesday, today, and it's really good, always. I was thinking, of all the Reality shows out there, this is the one for which I would consider applying, if I had a best friend to go with. Definitely. It just looks so fun, so challenging, and you get to see the WORLD! Places you'd never otherwise go. Namibia?! Capetown?! Come on! Rio de Janeiro?!!! Yeah, with the right person, definitely, I'd sign up in a heartbeat.

I'm going to go lie down again. The cramps aren't as bad right now, but earlier, wow, I was thinking I'd be in big trouble if there were something I HAD to be doing, like functioning. If I'd had to function, other than lie on the sofa, and I can't believe I got up and "prepared" that Tuna Helper, but if I'd had to work in an Emergency Room, or run a country or something..... forget it!

Oh, almost forgot, I met some guy on Yahoo Messenger last night, and he was asking me if I was "ready for Easter" and I told him I don't celebrate Easter, and he says, "Oh, I'm sorry", and I say, "Don't be, but it is a religious, Christian holiday and not everyone is religious, nor Christian" and he asks if I'm an Atheist, and I say, "Agnostic" and he says he is too. Then, he asks me if I was "born agnostic", and I quickly deleted him from my contact list, then he sends one more message, after I'd not responded because I could not believe the idiocy of the question. One may be baptized a Catholic, as I was, but no one is BORN any religion at all. Religions are learned. So, he sends this other message, before I put him on permanent "igorne", "Or did you choose it?"..........

(Wait, some people are born into religions, like Jews, right? Can one be born Agnostic? Was he right?? Clearly, I'm giving this too much thought.)

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee