Sunday, Jul. 20, 2003 / 6:21 p.m.

~A Little Musical Interlude, and a Bit About My Day, So Far~

Nothing like eating hot food on a hot day, cooking pasta in a big pot of boiling water, heating up the kitchen, yeah!, she says sarcastically.

So, I got my mail, I put 2 quarts oil in my car's engine (did you read that, I was low at least 2 quarts!, and usually I drive around with like no oil, like NO oil), went to Pet Smart for quat food (thank you again for the $2 off coupon, Ms Caroline!!!), a container in which to put said quat food, and Ms Caroline-recommended wool mouse thing for stupid cats to play with. With which for stupid cats to, aw, forget it.

And then, as if that wasn't enough, on a Sunday even!, I went to Publix and bought ingredients for my Bolognese sauce, had two Russian (are they Russian?) cashiers trying to sell me a loaf of garlic bread, "For a penny!", came home, chopped onion and celery and carrot and made said Bolognese sauce, and boiled pasta, and played bits and pieces of some of my favorite music so I could answer the following questions, with preface preceding. Herewith then, and alas and alack, and good god y'all, I need a shower!

Okay, the preface is this, I hate these things as much as I love them. I hate the limitations, I love challenging myself. No, I won't literally 'die' without any of these songs or voices or bands, and no, I don't really thank 'god' for anyone, because I don't believe in 'god', but this is a smattering of the music I have in possession, on CD mostly, where the questions asked specifically about CDs, understanding that I own around 600 to 800 vinyl record albums in addition to my CDs and cassettes. I have a lot of music, and this is by no means an accurate representation, just a smattering, as I say, just what I've come up with in my own head, and giving a quick listen to some samples, in the days since I saw the questions answered in someone's blog. And, there are more, MANY more, that could be added to each of these lists.

All of that said, here goes nothing!!

10 CDs You Own:

1. "The Quintessential Billie Holiday, Vol. 8 (1939-1940)
2. "Stick Around For Joy" - The Sugarcubes
3. "Dig Your Own Hole" - The Chemical Brothers
4. "Head" - The Monkees
5. "Let It Be" - The Replacements
6. "What's Going On" - Marvin Gaye
7. "16 Biggest Hits" - Johnny Cash
8. "Music From and Inspired By The Motion Picture Dead Man Walking"
9. "Red" - Black Uhuru
10. "Cookin' With the Miles Davis Quintet"

9 Bands You've Seen Live:

1. Devo
2. Pink Floyd
3. Cibo Matto w/ Sean Lennon
4. Dead Can Dance
5. Outkast
6. Rolling Stones
7. Gang of Four
8. Pylon
9. Grateful Dead

8 Songs You'd Die Without:

1. Loudon Wainwright III's "Dreaming"
2. Jeff Buckley's "Mojo Pin"
3. Simon & Garfunkel's "For Emily, Whenever I May Find Her"
4. Led Zeppelin's "Going to California"
5. Miles Davis' "So What"
6. Elton John's "Madman Across the Water"
7. The Beatles' "Help!"
8. Nick Drake's "Pink Moon"

7 of Your Favorite Lines in Songs:

1. "Sweetness, I was only joking when I said I'd like to mash every tooth in your head" - The Smiths' "Bigmouth Strikes Again"
2. "When we do the mystery dance, the right to life is left to chance, Love's the beast we feed upon, lovers leave yet life goes on" - Timbuk 3's "Pass It On"
3. "A-Bomb woke me up, the only thing alarming was the noise" - Swimming Pool Q's' "The A-Bomb Woke Me Up"
4. "I'm gonna find me a horse, just about this big, and ride him all along the border line, with a pair of heavy duty, zircon encrusted tweezers in my hand, every other wrangler would say I was mighty grand" - Frank Zappa's "Montana"
5. "If all the hippies cut off all their hair, I don't care, I don't care, dig, 'cos I got my own world to live through, and I ain't gonna copy you" - Jimi Hendrix' "If 6 Was 9"
6. "Emancipate yourself from mental slavery, none but ourself can free our mind" - Bob Marley's "Redemption Song"
7. "But our conversation turns to kowtow, we kiss the past's ass all night long" - Loudon Wainwright III's "Old Friend"

6 CDs You Wish You Owned:

Since I buy CDs I want, and I have such a huge collection of music already, there is nothing I am 'wishing' for. If I wish for it, I buy it, online, cheap, sometimes used. Therefore, I have taken the liberty of adding a category:

6 Songs That Make You Get Up and Dance:

1. Deee-Lite's "Groove is in the Heart"
2. Grateful Dead's "Throwing Stones"
3. Moby's "Morning Dove"
4. Dirty Vegas' "The Brazilian"
5. James Brown's "Get Up Offa That Thing"
6. Moby's "Patients"

5 Songs That Make You Sad:

1. Moby's "Why Does My Heart Feel So Bad?"
2. Marvin Gaye's "Inner City Blues (Make Me Wanna Holler)"
3. Meshell Ndegeocello's "Bitter"
4. John Lennon's "Imagine"
5. Kate Bush's "Love and Anger"

4 Songs That Make You Happy

1. Grateful Dead's "Cumberland Blues"
2. Louis Armstrong singing "A Kiss to Build a Dream On"
3. Simon & Garfunkel's "Mrs Robinson"
4. James Brown's "Get Up (I Feel Like Being a Sex Machine, Pt 1)"

3 Bands/Songs You're Embarassed To Say You Like:

1. MC Hammer's "U Can't Touch This"
2. Los Del Rio's "Macarena"
3. Madonna's "Vogue"

2 Voices You'd Die Without:

1. Jeff Buckley
2. Billie Holiday

1 Band You Thank god For:

1. The Beatles

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee