Wednesday, Nov. 06, 2002 / 1:18 p.m.

~My Bed Has No 'Right' Side~

I don't know if I'd be so affected by the Election results if it weren't my period. I was devastated. I AM devastated. The Republicans have taken over the world.

I'm guessing Roe v Wade will be overturned now. There were will be a mandatory SUV minimum per household. Clubbing baby harp seals will once again be in vogue. The wealthy will get wealthier, the poor poorer. Expect an increase in people seen pushing shopping carts around, outside stores. And not in parking lots, but on sidewalks, under overpasses, the kind of carts that hold everything a person owns.

Expect a rise in everything horrible and wrong. Increased pollution, teen pregnancies, pilfering of public funds, embezzlement, toupees worn by men who should've at least attempted comb-overs.

I'm scared. I really am. Not that Democrats are that much better, it's all white men in suits after all, but this is frightening.

I can't figure it out. Bill Maher speculated, to Larry King last night, that the American public is just stupid. How else to explain why George the Shrub is the most popular president in years? What the fuck?!, indeed. How? Why?

Expect loss of habitat for all wild animals, expect an increase in acid rain (do you even remember acid rain???!), expect doom and gloom and death and despair, humans writhing in agony amidst tall dancing flames everywhere! Rich white men in suits laughing behind closed doors, crosses burning, women tied to stakes, rapists running wild, black men imprisoned for being black� right, just like now, but even worse.

I can't help it, Roe v Wade being overturned will just be the tip of the iceberg.

Where were the Democrats yesterday? Didn't they vote? Why did I bother? Why do I bother?

We'll probably start bombing Iraq in earnest this weekend. Why wait? Let's just nuke the whole rest of the world, deny entry into this country, build a giant fence around ourselves.

I heard this morning that George the Shrub is overhauling his Office of Homeland Security, building a new one.

Did I say I'm scared? Marches? Demonstrations? Vigils? Who the fuck cares? They don't make the major media, no one is watching, no one is seeing the dissent, no one is hearing the dissent. Michael Moore is trying, but nothing is working. Where WAS everyone yesterday??? What is wrong with you people?

I could hardly be more depressed and miserable.

My heater at home doesn't work, they won't turn it on here at work, it's getting cold tonight. Down to 30something. Listerine said it was that cold on the weekend, but I told her I must've slept through it. Indeed.

I'm out of my league on LiveJournal. They have real writers there. I just write in a diary. I doubt I'll keep it up, maybe a little here and there. It feels like entering a giant cocktail party and I'm horribly underdressed. And invisible. Hmmm, how can I be both? I KNOW I'm underdressed, and if they could see me they'd know it too.

First thing I thought this morning was, "Not again". One of those 'same thing different day' kind of mornings. Menstruation. It saps me. Yesterday I went through so many moods my head was spinning, I couldn't keep up.

And I'm sure if you did a simple Google search you could find the new journal in no time. Only one person actually asked me for my username there. One. That's fine.

Hot, cold, up, down, mostly in despair. This is one of those times when I am SO glad I don't have children. What kind of world are we creating for them? What future will they have??? It looks worse than it ever has. When I hear George the Shrub is the most popular president in years???? Run for the hills, people, run for the hills. We are so doomed.

(Thank god Mark just called so we could commiserate! I suggested we patent a new, soft, reliable coat hanger. And Mark says we should clean up our back alleys. This is a dark day indeed. I think I should go home and put on a black armband.)

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee