Friday, Apr. 05, 2002 / 1:58 p.m.

~My Emissions Are No Worse Than Yours~

I think I got about 12 hours sleep, and I must have needed it. I awoke with a sore throat, which has since become not so sore, my neck hurts, and I feel groggy, or logy I think. I'm blaming it on the pollen. Every year I think it affects me, though I've not been diagnosed with any known allergies, except to full does of anti-toxins, but that was when I was a child.

I'm keeping the windows and the porch closed until the heaviest of the pollen is gone, or has fallen, or whatever. They say now it's the pine. And jesus, pine is EVERYWHERE! It's Georgia, we're nothing but pine! Thing to do is wait until the new leaves and needles are all comfortably on the trees, the blossoms a memory, and then the air should be okay, but by then it will be in the 90s, so what are you gonna do?

I just got email from my brother. First time in about a year, I'm guessing, and he usually sends me some "Happy Birthday" message, nothing more, so that's what I expected it to be, but it was some account of something stupid some lawyer did, some man who insured his cigars against fire damage, then smoked them, tried to get insurance money, eventually did, then was sued for arson and insurance fraud, or something. My brother emailed this to several people, I'd guess, I was not the main recipient, but the others were "bcc", including moi, so I don't know. I just don't know why or when he decides to communicate with me. What was the point?

He is married to a lawyer, not a practicing one, but nonetheless, he seems intrigued by lawyer jokes and stories of their idiocy. Hmmmm. I sincerely thought, since tomorrow is my birthday, that it was a birthday wish of some sort, and the header was "Where's your sense....", until I saw "...of humor", and still, I had thought it was a personal email. Why is he the brother I ended up with? Why, of all the family I once had, did it all boil down to him? (these last two sentences are questions, literally, but I initially forgot to close them with question marks, indicating they were rhetorical, I'd guess).

Anyway, I'm killing time. I don't feel very well, it could be more than pollen, it could be an impending cold virus - I have forsaken all echinacea use of late, so I'm susceptible - but I need to be out and about, accomplishing things, crossing things off my list of things to do. First, and foremost, is the auto tag business, which just sucks that it has to be associated with one's birthday. What is up with that? Hey, it's my birthday, yea!, time to get my auto tag renewed! Yea!!! Whose crappy idea was that? Why not make it Labor Day or something?

So, since they mailed my renewal form late, not the usual 30 days prior, and it's hell to get an emissions inspection, which goes hand in hand, so I've put it off, today's the day. Or I pay a fine later. I worry. Will my vehicle pass? Will this be the year they say, "Hey, lady, you need a new carburetor and fuel pump, this thing's a piece of crap and you're spoiling the environment", as I look at the brown haze on the horizon......? I'm always afraid I won't pass, and one year I learned that one must drive around a good bit before getting the test.

I need to go drive around, so I need to combine other errands, then get the test, then head to the Tag Office, submit the Test Results and get the new Tag, which is really just a little sticker.

And did you know that one year someone came along and cut my tag, my plate, just that little right hand corner which contained my brand new renewal sticker? I reported it to the police and everything, got a replacement, and they said, "Oh, yeah, people do that, all the time, you DO live in the city, you know?", and I said, "Huh?". I was 24 or so, and I DID live in the city then, in a potentially really bad neighborhood. Hmmmm.

You should see my roses, sitting on the porch, all huge and white, you'd just want to cup them in your hands, hold them, maybe offer a little squeeze.

Alright, enough fucking off, I'll go shower now, get dressed in tshirt and jeans.... ahhhhhh.... tshirt and jeans.... such a luxury these days, and head on out, see how much I get done, and I want to go to the hockey game later too. My horoscope freaked me out, said that I'd been looking forward to taking this day off to relax, but that I'd have too much to do, and familial obligations! Freaked me out, how did "they" know I was taking today off? And what familial obligations? My brother only sent me a joke kind of email, nothing more, if he invites me to anything, I'll say I have plans.... because I do, with me.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee