Friday, Dec. 27, 2002 / 6:37 p.m.

~My First Commentary Soundtrack, Three Hours Long~

This morning I dreamed I saw Mick Jagger, in 1968. It was 1968, I'd gone back in time, or I was seeing him back in time, sitting on the sidewalk with people milling all about in our little Bohemian neighborhood (in reality we do have one). He was so beautiful, wrinkle-free (not that wrinkles are ugly, but he was youthful Mick), and I went right up to him, began whispering in his ear about my time travel experience, that I was from the future, and I told him how in 2002 he'd still be touring with the Stones, for their 40th Anniversary Tour, the "Forty Licks" Tour. He laughed.

I then decided to tempt fate, reverse or otherwise, and tell him he'd father many children, most of whom would have the same mother, one Jerri Hall, a tall blonde Texas beauty.

I think he thought I was craaaaazzzy.

Yesterday morning I dreamed I was at Moby's house (though in reality he lives in an apartment), while he was away (was I stalking?). He came home and I gave him a 40 oz beer, thought it was too much though and poured a bit for myself. We somehow ended up in the kitchen, lying on the floor, and he reached over and laid his arm across my stomach, pulling me close to him. My first thought was, Hey, he does like me after all. My second was, He needs to be with a woman, any woman, every night. I'm merely filling a space.

But I awoke with the former thought firmly implanted in my memory, sort of shoving out the latter. I also had one of his songs from "18" stuck in my head, "Signs of Love", so I took the CD to work and listened to it first thing, whilst paying my bills.

I have a mental image of a real-life event, Moby watching Stephanie, Dawn and me walk away from him, post-parking lot autographing, post-posing for photos, watching us as we walked slowly back up to Stephanie's car, laughing, me telling them how I'd rubbed Moby's back� then him coming over to us later, at least an hour, just to chat. Me, convinced he remembered me because of my big lizard tattoo, me, convinced he came back because he recognized me, because of some unexplainable interest.

Me, obsessed, just slightly, then, and even still, now.

So he shows up in my dreams, I have no conscious control over that.

Moving right along� I've read all about the popular new movie format, the DVDs the kids are buying, and the commentary soundtracks available thereon, but I've yet to actually view one, or listen to one. Still, I'm in the entertainment loop, so to speak, thanks to my subscription to Entertainment Weekly, or the reading thereof. Anyway, and therefore.

Howsumever, as my Pop used to say, last night on IFC they ran a little program called 'Talking During the Movie', which I so happened upon quite by accident whilst expecting a regular showing of "The Unbearable Lightness of Being". First, I saw it was coming on, made sure I'd finished cooking my scrambled eggs with cream cheese, and eating them (scrambled eggs with cream cheese are quite the bomb, I recommend), post-"Felicity", then I saw a text announcement letting me know this was the commentary track issued with the original Criterion release, blah, blah, blah, and THEN some guy was talking all over the place, lots of "Aaahhhh"s and "Uhhhhh"s thrown in for good measure.

I wasn't sure I could handle it, but it was fookin' fascinating. No kidding. The man in question was the director, one Philip Kaufman (apologies for misspellings, not anywhere near the IMDB as of this writing), director of "Henry and June", amongst other films, and not only did he direct "The Unbearable�", but he co-wrote the screenplay. The other screenwriter, a French gentleman, was also on the commentary track, along with Lena Olin, and the editor of the film.

Of course there was no hearing of the dialogue, but then there didn't seem to be that much dialogue. I hadn't thought I could stand just listening to this old fart talk, or any of the three old farts talking, and the lovely Lena of course, but they were so interesting. The editor worked on "The Conversation" too, and he alluded to it over and over (must've won an Oscar or something), talking about how important it is for the editor not to be involved in the shooting of the film AT ALL, not to even visit the set, but to know the screenplay, the material, probably even read the book too, and then put the film together using the best of the footage available.

He talked about the classic film version of "Joan of Arc", how the original print was destroyed in a fire, and the editor and director had to piece the film together from all the outtakes which had survived just fine. Not that I've seen that film, but what a great story! Amazing how that works.

I never thought I could enjoy a film without hearing it, just watching it whilst listening to the key players, director, writers, editor, actress discuss it. Fascinating, I can't say it enough. I think I'd like to see it now just on its own, knowing what to look for, knowing which scene Saul Zaentz (the famous producer) is in, etc. (I'd also like to read the book, which I own, which I began reading around the time the movie version was released, most likely with the intent of reading the book, THEN seeing the movie, which is typical, for me - lots of commas there)

Three hours spent listening to these people talk. Norman and Gladysn probably had no idea what was going on, hearing these same few voices just talking on the TV. No time on the computer at all, not even logging on, a really nice change.

And I got to go shopping after work, parking spaces available only feet from the door at Publix. Was able to get UNSCENTED cat litter, and another big jug of the good tasting water, the 2.5 gallon size jug.

And, and, and, and� big, huge, humongous news, well, for hockey fans, or Thrashers fans� Background: Thrashers suck. Thrashers are in their fourth season, still sucking. Good players, young good players, new players every season, 'building a franchise', yada, yada, yada, but they suck. Rookie of the year, number one draft picks, how can this be???

What have I been saying, all this time? Gee, maybe it's the coach???? I know I've always said how handsome I think he is, but is it the best thing to always be pairing the two rookies? Now that one's out with an injury, the other can't score. Maybe it's on account of you NEVER pair them with anyone else? Am I wrong? Do you, Coach? I said, let him go, let's get a new coach, he's had three and a half seasons, this just isn't working, and so what do they do??? They canned him. Yesterday.

That's it for my hockey news.

Sandy has invited me to dinner, movie, champagne and midnight kiss (optional - damned straight, Skippy!) on New Year's Eve. I plan to decline, but I'm taking my time. I'll be in heavy duty menstrual mode, and I never feel good when that's the case. I don't want to make those kinds of plans with him anyway, it's too much, it's got 'romance' written all over it and I don't feel that way about him�

Tentative plans with him tonight, but other plans too, and I feel like doing nothing more than going home and being with the girls. People won't be happy with me if I do that. Do I please people, or do I please me? Hmmmm�

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee