Sunday, Sept. 29, 2002 / 3:35 p.m.

~My Most Exciting Life~

I think I haven't felt like writing here. Strange. I simply 'haven't felt like it'.

My god, but I have slept this weekend. And I realize I've been doing this every weekend, the sleeping thing. Am I really that tired during the week that I feel some bizarre need to make up for it by sleeping 16 hours at a time? What the hell? I'm not depressed. I'm just.... tired.

Friday night I was watching "Happenstance", and trying to like it, but it just wasn't doing a whole lot for me. Several stories being played out, and I deduced they would intertwine at some point, but when I'm lying on the sofa after a long week, and I've had a bite to eat, or not, and there's a cat on my stomach, or not, well, and there's this not so engaging French movie on the TV, well again, I fell asleep. Before 10:00. I calculate it was at 9:40 that I turned my head and consciously decided to lose consciousness.

I awoke all through the night, sleeping with the Sundance channel on, to the sounds of Japanese films. And I thought, well, it must be Japanese film night, or something. Loud Japanese people, shooting, black and white, color, sex, women groaning with sex, nudity, giggling, more shooting, more yelling. Japanese, all night long.

I got up and washed my face and went to bed, didn't even floss (horrors!) at maybe 4:00 a.m. And then I slept really late. I figured I got around 16 hours of sleep combined. Jesus!

But, I followed my plans, I went to see "The Last Kiss" ("L'ultimo Bacio"), in town, at the matinee showing. It wasn't as good as I wanted it to be. It was about five young men, friends, all approaching life altering events, or trying to stop life altering events from occurring, all trying not to 'grow up'. Except for one, I guess, there is one who gets married at the beginning, and he is happy. The main character has just found out his girlfriend is pregnant and he is panicking, has an affair with an 18 year old to make him feel young again.

How do I spell a spit? I spit on him for toying with the emotions of a young girl. Pfffftttt!!! Maybe it's me, but the whole story seemed awfully misogynistic. Women were portrayed as harpies, destroyers of freedom, temptresses. The men were all very attractive though, and despite the story it was entertaining to watch them flit about, all panicking about this or that, the one with the different woman in his bed every night (and long dreadlocks!), the other with the wife and six month old baby (who tells his wife they no longer love each other - doesn't SHE get a say?), the one who can't let go of his ex-girlfriend. And my favorite part is that they all have these matching dagger tattoos that are never mentioned, and three of them go for piercings one day.

Okay, it was cute, but I hate seeing women portrayed as weak, not being able to survive without men, and as harpie bitches trying to ruin the lives of their mates. Horrible. In Italian it's okay though. It's forgiveable because it's another culture, I guess.

And, I went to the Farmer's Market, but there was nothing there. NO zucchini at all!!! Everything looked SO picked over, no shiitakes, lots of veggies just not there. Was it all purchased during the day? Yikes.

But I got a few things and came home and cooked up a steak and some diced potatoes with bacon and onions and garlic, some 'shrooms, and stuffed myself. And lay on the sofa to watch something else ("My Favorite Wife", Cary Grant, etc.) and fell asleep again, quite on purpose, and woke to documentaries on PBS this time. Something about overachieving immigrant kids and the scores they get on their SATs. I finally got up and went to bed around 6:00. And slept late. Again.

N and G took up so much room on the bed I was forced to the other side. Sometimes two cats seem like twenty.

That's it, really, my little weekend. Oh, and the panicking because my car was overheating on the way in to town yesterday, so I stopped and put some water in the radiator. It needs a flush and fill, I know, but the last time I paid someone to do that it leaked all the hell over and I was out in the parking lot cleaning it up for fear some dog would happen along and lap it up and die! This happened for days until they admitted the cap was broken and they replaced it (it was the seal underneath, they had broken it when they closed it). Every time I take my car in for anything, I swear, something gets fucked up. I always have to take it back, so I hesitate, I put it off as long as I can. Fucking mechanics. Right up there with doctors on my shit list.

I now plan to watch the "Guiding Light"s on tape, and I believe one didn't tape, one out of five is not bad, but I need to give in and retire this VCR, it's old enough (19 years??), been put through enough torture. Its temperamental behavior of late is a sign, and I need to take it as such. But again, I wait.

So exciting, my life. So very.

Oh wait, one more thing, Friday night, I think it was Friday night, I downloaded a new, free, email program.... Incredimail. It's a bit strange to use so far, it doesn't keep a count of how many emails are stored in each folder, but it has all these funky options like backgrounds for emails (which only makes the files huge and irritates the recipients I'm sure) and varied mail 'notifiers', like a cat or a dog, or a butler or a mailbox, or whatever. It's fun for now. We'll see if I keep it. I've only been using Netscape Communicator for like 4.5 years, so this is a big deal. ! I tried using Eudora for about a day, but I couldn't handle the change and I deleted it.

Again, exciting, huh?

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee