Saturday, Aug. 16, 2003 / 9:10 p.m.

~My New Toy~

I slept really late, after staying up really late (creating a personal profile on Salon.com, amongst other things), and decided not to get online, not to log on to my PC, at all, until really late, at least, but after puttering around the apt, doing a few things that needed doing, cleaning a bit, sitting down to eat, I gave in, under the guise of 'just checking my email', and 'just reading a few diaries, or blogs', but here I am, several hours later, and post-"Big Brother 4" (which mysteriously disappeared about 5 minutes in, gone, just blank, for maybe 10 minutes!).

I've been having fun with a very cool blog feature, available for free trial, or subscription, called AudBlog. Of course, after my initial trial, I subscribed immediately. Too fun not to, really, and not too expensive, just $9 for first three months, I think - 12 four-minute posts? Email said 13, and for $9 it should be 36, three months, so I'm a bit confused, but... what it's all about is creating an audio recording for your blog, and so far it's only available for LiveJournal and some others. You dial a number (long distance, so it costs more than it appears), record your message, the trial being one minute, and when you're satisfied with your recording, save it and it posts to your blog! Just like that. People can then click on it and give a listen.

You could talk, recite poetry, sing, or play music. My trial message was stupid really, just like an answering machine message, but then someone suggested I play one of my 78 records, so I recorded "La Vie En Rose".

Other than that? Not much, really. Major accomplishment was finally attaching the shower caddy to a hook over the showerhead, as it will not stay on the showerhead pipe, and I've been using duct tape to keep it fixed, for months - it's been there the whole six years I've lived here, but it juts out because the shower stall/bathtub is a fiberglass insert, and it's not flush with the wall. Inconvenient, and it's always fallen, but now I attached a hook just over the showerhead, in the wall, and the shower caddy hangs from it - so exciting, I know, but it was one of those things that needed doing and I never did it, until now. So, done.

And I read some of yesterday's newspaper, which I bought for the cover story on the blackout.

And I just watched "Big Brother 4", minus about ten minutes when the CBS feed blacked out. My first thought was they'd had a rolling blackout in the New York station, but NBC and ABC were fine. Maybe it was local? They should replay it later, but there was no scrolling announcement to indicate that's the case. I'm pissed, but it's like crying over the proverbially spilled milk. It's gone, no worries. I know what happened, I just don't get to see it - and in that vein, they're now showing last Thursday's "Amazing Race", instead of the scheduled "Hack". Hmmm...

I want to make more recordings. And I wonder if it will ever be made available to Diaryland users...

(On a sad note, Caroline and her husband lost another of their animals, a beautiful cat named Sasha, and I am so sorry for their loss, but I know I can't say the right thing to them. I hope they're recovering as well as can be expected from the experience. I know when Norm and Glad go I'll be a wreck, I'll be suicidal, but because I can't put myself there until it happens, I'm afraid I shut myself off a bit when it comes to the loss others experience when their animals die - I can't let myself experience the empathy, it would kill me. Life is too short for the animals we love, and when they leave we are left to miss them. It's horrible and so very sad, and I am so very sorry.)

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee