Sunday, Jul. 14, 2002 / 11:38 a.m.

~My New Toy, and Possibilities~

It's early, just after 11:30 in the morning. Yet here I am, already, online, because I can't stay away from this thing. It's like some fantastic new toy with infinite possibilities.

I've learned I love to figure things out. I must've known this before. I told Mark I want to take a class in computers, I want to learn more, and he said he never pictured me as a Computer Tech, but I didn't mean I want it for my new career, I mean I want to learn. I simply want to LEARN everything my brain can handle.

I changed my Window color, it's maybe a little too dark, but I am typing in it now, sort of a slate blue. I changed my overall font to Tahoma, as it is my favorite, I think, and the size to 120%, so I can see. I will concede I need a new monitor, and I saw that Half.com had a flat screen for $279, a Gateway....... so I know they can be had for relatively cheap. Soon.

I also changed the setting from 16 bit to True Color, whatever all that means, and it temporarily made things brighter, or so it seemed, but now I'm not so sure.

I'm on AOL right now, mainly so I could run in and see if Hermione wrote back to me. She did. Brusque. Quick. A dashed off note. I'm disappointed, but that is how she is. It's all about her, always. She can send something out to her email friends, as she did, a huge cry for help, we can all respond, separately, together, and she can know we care, and let us all go. Yeah, yeah, thanks, oops, gotta go.....

Makes me wonder why I bother, but I felt I needed to, and I had my own personal story, I told her about the computer, and wanted to ask about the venue where Moby will be playing because she has been there and I have not.

Besides, with AOL I can see diaries better. I guess this browser is IE? I thought AOL got a contract with Netscape. I could be wrong. I downloaded the Netscape Communicator 4.79 so I could...er... Communicate. For the email. But maybe this is 6?

Last night I watched "Men In Black", which was really funny, not the movie, although parts of it were funny, but just the fact that it was on. I was telling Mark that whenever I talk about certain movies, and how I'd like to see them, or how I love them and have seen them over and over, they magically appear on television.

I once told a guy I'd just started seeing how much I loved Jane Fonda, and in particular how much I loved her in "Barbarella", and he said it was one of his all-time favorite movies! Major points in my book. Oh yeah, I loved this guy immediately. But, next night there it was! On one of Turner's channels. And I used to wonder if Ted had specific programming capabilities when it came to his wife's (wife, at the time) films.....

So, yesterday when Mark and I were on our 'desultory' marathon phone conversation, I mentioned I want to see "Men In Black", especially before I see the new one, "Men In Black 2" (I'm guessing at that title), and lo and behold, I sat after "Big Brother 3" to check the schedule and there it was! So, I watched. On commercials I came in here to do this or that on the computer, but it was a very clever movie, I loved the lead actors (was that really Tommy Lee Jones speaking Spanish in the beginning?, it sounded dubbed), and the special effects were astounding. Fun!

Nothing good was on after, so I started on my weekly "Guiding Light"s and the "Senor Moby's House of Music" I had on tape, but I got really sleepy around 1:30 and made a conscious decision to sleep on the sofa, with TV on. Awoke to some woman screaming in Spanish, over and over, some movie called "Bread and Water"?, "Bread and Roses"? And Gladys waking me every few minutes.

For some reason she hates it when I sleep on the sofa. Maybe she thinks I've died. Maybe she wants me to get up and go to bed. I have no idea, but it irks me to no end, me yelling at her, "Stop it!", because she simply paws at things to make sounds, to make enough noise to wake me, it's very strange.

I finally got up around 6:30 and went to bed, and all was well.

Yesterday we got a lot of rain, falling straight down rain, no wind, no storm, no lightning, except for that one little bit..... just a hard driving rain. I loved it. It came and went, and during one of the harder portions I looked out the window to see a young boy, maybe 14?, throwing a basketball into the trashcan by the mailboxes, his friend standing by the trashcan to retrieve it for him and throw it back.

This boy stood in the pouring rain, throwing that basketball toward the trashcan which was under the roof's eaves, just missing, the rain soaking him, nothing but pants and shoes on, his black skin glowing and wet, pulling up his pants as they became heavy with water, and he finally made the target, the 'basket', and kept throwing, but it rained harder and harder, I looked away for a bit and turned to see them both gone. I loved that moment though.

I've already washed dishes today. Made coffee. I have tentative plans to go to the Farmer's Market to get fresh food, maybe Tabouli ingredients, and I want to do my file transferring at some point soon, then there's the bathroom and kitchen which need cleaning.....

And it's early, for me, on a Sunday. Possibilities. I like that. All is well, so far.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee