Monday, Aug. 18, 2003 / 6:27 p.m.

~On Nepotism, and Reality TV~

Well, I think Signmyguestbook.com is down. I got email that someone had signed my guestbook, early today, but I still can't access it. So, um, thanks, or you're welcome, or whatever, but I can't see what you wrote.

Right before Jane and I logged off and gathered our things today, leaving work, I said, "It feels like there wasn't even a weekend. It feels like one long continuous..." and couldn't think of the appropriate word.

Our Supervisor held her "I'm back and I'm super bad" meeting today, finally. She referred to her mysterious three month absence as "My... vacation". Must be nice, that's all I gotta say, must be nice.

Fulfilled a craving at lunch, McD's Quarter Pounder With Cheese, and Fries. I know, not only did I just have the same thing, maybe last week, but it's McD's and they're all wrong, and Corporate and Evil, and their beef comes from cows that suffer before they're killed, and the bad Karma I incurred is a million fold, but know what? It was SO good!

I considered stopping in the Farmers Market after work, got in my hot, no, wait, HOTTTTTT, car, and said, "No fucking way am I going anywhere but straight home, no fucking way, really, it's hotter than it ought to be, and forget it, no, it's no France, no, I'm not dead, but I am not into sweating and suffering right now, I'll scrounge in the cabinets some more, I can drag this out a bit more."

No, I didn't really say all that, but I thought it.

You should've seen the air today, and isn't that horrible that I can even write that sentence? "See" the air? Oh, it was ugly. Ah, I remember when the air was clean, when the highways were only four lanes, at most, when the area where I live now was almost raw forest. Those were the days. How much longer before the Earth really is uninhabitable? Hmmm... I wonder.

I have a great idea for an AudBlog entry! I can't wait. It requires feline participation, hopefully unwittingly. If Norm cooperates, and is not swayed from her usual caterwauling nocturnal ritual when she hears me on the phone, we are set. With a capital SET. Oh boy, can't wait.

I have this new health thing going on. The thing with the leg/groin never went away, it's permanent, I can't bend my leg, but I live with it. The lump on the underside of my arm went away, it was an adverse reation to the salicylic acid in the Compound W, which did get rid of the little 'skin tag' thing, by the way. I know so many people worried, sent cards and letters. Okay, only one seemed to care at all, but she knows the outcome already.

So, this new thing is this, and it makes me think of poor Roger Ebert and his salivary gland tumor currently undergoing radiation treatments, my lower lip, on the inside, is not producing saliva. I'm not sure it's supposed to, but whatever normally keeps it lubed, is not doing its job. I have to stick my tongue in there for a lick every so often because it feels like it's sticking to my teeth. Strangest sensation. Something is amiss, but it's not crucial, it's not enough to truly worry about, just a thing, a thing that's happening, a happenin' thing.

Um, what else? When detailing the details yesterday of my recent most peculiar diet, I omitted the spinach salad and the fruit salad. I mix it up, try to throw in some healthy stuff. And, for anyone who cares, popcorn is way healthy. It's damned good for you. So there. Try some popcorn, then a spinach salad, with sprouts, grape tomatoes, mushrooms, any good vinaigrette, and then some mixed chopped fruit, and even the smoked oysters are good, really, they contain some something or other that is most beneficial. I just wish they weren't all ooky looking, and green instead of the brown they should be. Too much seaweed in their diets? (All of these food items can be purchased already prepared!)

Today was long, really long, and it just kept going, and then we had this ridiculous, "I'm BACK!!!" meeting, and well, it left a bad taste in our mouths, I'm sure. We were told not to mention Kukla's name when we're being 'talked to'. Like, don't say, "Well Kukla does it all the time, how come Kukla gets to do it and I don't?", meaning that because Kukla is the Manager (M)'s sister she can indeed do just about anything she wants. We were told today, in no uncertain terms, that we are all under the same guidelines for management, BAH!, and that Kukla's name shall not be mentioned in any sort of comparative fashion, ever, EVER again, or we shall be WRITTEN UP, which sounds so childish, don't even get me started on that. Write me up? What is this, fucking high school? You gonna paddle me too? (No, I was never paddled in my high school, but it happened, and I was aghast when I heard of it, vowed to protest all the way to the Supreme Court if they ever tried it with me.)

I said to Jane, after the fact, "Our Manager (M) will NEVER fire Kukla. Never. Period. Kukla is her sister, one does not fire one's sister." We all know this, there is resentment toward Kukla. And I'm glad. Chick's Karma is way bad. Way.

Okay, here is the (tentative) plan, wash dishes so there is room in the kitchen to operate, to function, to prepare, not to cook, but to prepare, and then mix some albacore tuna with some olive oil, maybe a little garlic vinegar, some lemon herb seasoning, some capers, some mayo, just a dollop, no, a smidgen, and pepper, whatever, and whatever is in my fridge that seems good, spread it on some toasted whole wheat and have at it.

I'm hungry.

Then, we have "For Love Or Money Deux", and it had better be the finale because I'm really sick of this Erin woman, she grates on my nerves. I hate this show, basically, it's really bad, but once I start, it's hard to stop watching a continuing reality show. I mean I cut myself off of "Paradise Hotel" after the first night, I'm not that desperate, but you know what I mean. Must find out how the Erin and the boys thing plays out.

Oh, oh, oh, there's going to be a new "Temptation Island"!!!!! I am so excited.

Suddenly I'm reminded I'm really not into the "BB4" live feed this year, and the free trial must be up soon - must remember to cancel.

"The Restaurant", speaking of reality shows, was good last night, and now that it's getting good, I find next week is the last show! What is up with THAT? Season finale, my ass. What is a season, like four shows? What a fucking ripoff. But yeah, my man Tony Bourdain dropped by for some vittles, and he said some food was good, but one dish he said, "This blows!"!!! I love him. If he weren't married, I'd seek to marry him, or at least stalk him or something. (Er, just kidding, Tone, just kidding) I think really I would just like to eat dinner with him, sort of all night, like go from restaurant to restaurant, maybe one course at one place, another at another, and so on.

Yeah, yeah, Rocco seems to love his mama, and that's nice, and he has grand aspirations, but the dude is a prick, plain and simple, and I can't see anyone really being loyal to him for long. Last night's show was good, good, good stuff. I think they could show it every Sunday night at 10:00, in perpetuity, and I'd watch. I think.

Signing off.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee