Saturday, Jun. 22, 2002 / 5:14 p.m.

~New Layout~

How many have I had? Maybe 4 or 5? I'm not sure, but it was time for another one. I had this idea to use an Edward Gorey drawing, and I wanted one of his cat drawings, but after looking around today online I found this one and, well, it was sort of perfect, I think. It's from a book called The Curious Sofa, which I am now dying to see!

I'm not through tweaking, so don't be surprised if it looks still different the next time you visit. And I must say, I did like the previous layout. I was just tired of it.

I finally realized that my font wasn't as I wanted it because I forgot to include the word "face" in my font code. Now that's fixed, and it's smaller, because I find that the smaller fonts make the writing seem more serious and important. (!) Now I feel I must live up to that. Hmmmm....

Also, I've tried to make the table border appear black, but even though I've inserted a border color tag, it is not showing up, at least not on this PC. Anyone have any ideas? Remember, I'm using Netscape, an old Netscape.

Also, is there any way to make the older1.html page different from the older.html page? Anyone? I have another of the Gashlycrumb Tinies I'd like to use there, it's Maud being swept out to sea...... If not, I may simply change images from time to time. I've always loved Edward Gorey! I had a tiny wall calendar in my cubicle last year, and it was the Gashlycrumb Tinies - I loved changing the months!!! I have a copy of The World of Edward Gorey, autographed (bookplate anyway), that I purchased from some catalog a while ago, before he died, of course.......

I was reading an article about him at Salon.com, and I found out he was born the same year as my father, 1925, in Chicago, also as my father. Everyone thought he was British, but no. I was surprised as well. What a fascinating man, and an amazing artist.

So, despite all copyright laws, I've used his drawings, available for download at sundry places on the 'net, and now I have this layout. Enjoy! I'll keep tweaking. (comments and constructive criticism are welcome, but if you know me at all, I won't pay any attention unless it's nice, or I think it's a good idea - but how do I make the table border black???)

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee