Sunday, May. 25, 2003 / 1:49 a.m.

~New Version~

Well, I did it. After five years of using Netscape 4.5 (excluding the few months I spent on the 'new' PC, using 4.79), I finally upgraded my browser. To the same I have/had on the new PC, 4.79. It took hours to download it, hours to clear space on the hard drive for the install, my eyes are killing me, but it worked. And it installed right on top of the old version, imported all bookmarks, settings, email, everything, automatically. I am so impressed. And relieved.

Only one improvement is evident, and it involves use of another web site, but yeah, I can finally do what I couldn't do, what I've been trying to do.

Suddenly this keyboard feels extremely difficult to use. And this is the first typing I've done in hours and hours. I must be tired.

4.79, wow. Surely it would seem like a giant step backward to most people, but most people seem to think nothing of whipping out a credit card to purchase a new PC, and I don't operate like that. I don't owe any money on anything, and I refuse to. Long story.

I ordered a PPV movie tonight, "The Ring", because everything on HBO/Cinemax is either something I've already seen or something I have no intention of seeing, and I didn't drag my ass out to see "Raising Victor Vargas", on account of the downloading, upgrading, file transferring Saturday Night Extravaganza.

But it was creepy, and kind of scary, just as I'd heard/read. Even my man Moby recommended it, said to see it with a friend. I think he's the one who wrote that, in his journal. Right, spooky, then parts were unnecessary, or left me scratching my head, like 'Why they'd put THAT in there?', but I couldn't tell you which parts, not right now. I just know it was really imperfect, which I'd also heard/read.

So basically it was all it was cracked up to be. And I enjoyed the Hans Zimmer orchestral score. Turns out cellos are really good 'scary music' instruments, and we all know violins are, and pianos too. The music fit, which is a good thing, important to me. And the rainy Pacific Northwest was fitting as well. And the video in question, the one that is purported to kill anyone who views it? Very groovy, very surreal, very sort of Bunuel or Dali or something. Derivative, but scary, creepy, yeah. The investigative reporting angle, research thing which followed was the part that was flawed, but overall, interesting. Worth the money that will be added to my cable bill.

My god, I'm worn out from transferring all those .jpgs and such to floppy disks to make room for this new browser that looks just exactly like the old one.

I feel like I want to surf pages just to see if I can see the 'nested tables' I couldn't see before. So much HTML coding is incompatible with Netscape 4.5, it was frustrating, especially in recent months/years to view certain pages. And on the new PC I had IE too, so I could switch back and forth.

Ah well. A productive evening. I suppose.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee