Thursday, Dec. 05, 2002 / 1:35 p.m.

~Oh My Lawd!!~

I know the reactions to the previous entry, I do. That first paragraph had you gasping for air. "Oh my lawd! This woman is writin' about her female time! That's not anything to be discussed in public! How horrible!"

Yeah, yeah, whatever. So at any given time some woman around you is bleeding, but she can't even carry her tampon/pad/pantiliner/sponge/whatever to the bathroom in her hand, she has to hide it. What is up with that?

I'm wanting to quote from a book I read not long ago, The Curse, all about the taboos surrounding menstruation, but it's in the next room and I don't have time to get it, and I disagreed with the author on several key points, so I'm not exactly recommending it, but it was interesting, and she did make the point that it's ridiculous the way it is still a taboo. Still. And most likely always will be, although women now don't have to leave the tribe while they're bleeding. Some advances have been made, not many, but some.

And do my tampons contain dioxins? Will I die of uterine cancer due to their use? Or my use of them? Who knows?

I do remember reading in one of my favorite diaries something about disgust at the mere mention of bleeding monthly, and I suppose I understand, er, I guess, I try, really, but I'm not that shy about my body functions. If I need to blow my nose I may say so, if I have to pee I may say that too, but I usually don't discuss defecation.... although my ex, the one I've been dreaming about recently, used to call me into the bathroom when he had produced a particularly lovely turdal specimen. "Look! You have to see this one!"

Men and their shit. "Yes, yes, very nice, what did you eat yesterday? Really? Well, keep it up! Mighty fine work there, mighty fine."

I have to go back to work. Just a tease, this. Next entry will be about puppies and daisies.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee