Tuesday, Dec. 17, 2002 / 8:36 p.m.

~On Territorial Imperative, Or Brushing the Surface Of~

I do so enjoy my Site Meter. The searches that bring people to my diary are very entertaining, oft times disturbing, yet they always elicit at least a sigh or an eye roll from me. Except the ones that are purposeful, and I can tell. No, you don't fool me. How can you?

Hey, now, that's not a challenge, though you think it is. Oh fuck me, I need to shut up.

I'm feeling much better, thank you. I read something on Cainer's site last night about the moon being almost full and people being a bit tense and crazy, though right now, during this 'special time', blah, blah, blah, they ought to be loving and caring, etc., and yada yada.

I was at Wal Mart after work, picking up some more of that infamous 'cold remedy that we all know is for shit now that we've done a real scientific study using college students who have bad colds', echinacea, and just basic stuff, toilet paper, the like, and people were everywhere! I couldn't get past at one point, in a crammed aisle in the electronics section (why are those aisles in particular so damned tight?!), and I said 'Excuse me', but this one woman refused to move.

I immediately thought it was racial, and why do I assume shit like that? I thought, oh fine, she hates white people, if I were black she'd move. What is wrong with me?

I've experienced too much of it, that's what's wrong with me. Everyone just seemed really pushy, really not aware of any territorial imperative, and that's a little pet peeve of mine, yes, another one!

Here is where I could launch into some stereotyping, of major proportions, talking about different cultures and their needs, or lack of needs, for personal space, and in the long run, I'm being sensitive, because it's not stereotyping at all. I took college Sociology and Anthropology, I've studied different cultures, I've traveled, it's documented. What's 'way too close' to you is just right to someone else. Depends.

Aaarrrrrghhhh. I'm tired of being so sensitive. Of almost crying because I see little kids fall on their faces while shopping with their fathers. I need to remove myself.

Which is what I've done. I'm home, I've eaten, I'm going to watch "24" in just a bit. I'm relaxed, I have on my flannel pants and a big t-shirt, no underwear, no socks, no constrictions, it feels great. Cleaning, worrying, relating, it's all going to wait. Tonight is just me, the girls, the TV, the computer for a while..... and blissful sleep. Per chance to dream.

Perchance? One word or two?

Okay, today was weird, and I feel that the longer I stay silent the longer I'll have to. I'm talking about work, but there's nothing more to say than that. I've simply been quiet this week. It's only Tuesday too.....

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee